We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Staycation Package
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Having read mixed reviews about this hotel, we weren't sure what to expect. Everything about this property was great, from the location, to the comfortable 2 Queen beds suite, friendly staff. In fact, we extended our stay for three additional nights. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Excellent! We appreciate you extending your stay by three exta days -- that speaks volumes about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    693
    172
    70
    24
See reviews for
654
368
49
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Travelling with a small child is always a challenge. DOubleTree by Hilton in Santa Monica proved to be an excellent choise for our family of three generations. Location close to the beach, services and staff proved to be sufficient and worked very well for us. Can warmly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Delighted to read that our property fit all of your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I chose the Doubletree as a one-night stopover on the way to our vacation on the Central Coast. The hotel was great! Clean, comfortable, well appointed, and easily accessible to the Santa Monica attractions. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
On behalf of our team, thank you for recognizing our staff as being extremely friendly and accommodating. Hopefully, next time, you can spend more than one night with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As with all DoubleTree establishments, we were greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies. Thus, from the start, we knew it was going to be a pleasant stay. The banquet manager, chef, front desk staff, concierge, and sales managers were all phenomenal. No matter how many requests we made, they jumped at the chance to accommodate our group - going well above and beyond to satisfy every single guest. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the fitness center is great and very well equipped especially in comparison to most chain hotels with new equipment, a pool, hot tub, and sauna. In addition, the location is within walking distance of the pier and most local attractions. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to future travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your strong recommendaton; one of the greatest compliments we can receive is that you "would definitely stay here again and recommend it to future travelers". Safe travels to you . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was a good hotel, we got champagne when we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. We hired a car and the staff would put it away for us. I loved everything about Santa Monica, but bear in mind you leave 2 dollars each day for the hotel maid. Tipping is normal in America.
Really recommend this hotel, lovely beds and comfy rooms. Bathrooms big.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Congratulations again on your recent betrothal; hopefully, you will keep us in mind for many of your future anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Everything about this hotel is nice. The elevators and lobby area are stunning. The pool is very nice. The staff are attentive and friendly. Starbucks on hand--nice touch. Unfortunately, the daily rate is high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are delighted that our property met with your approval and that you found our staff to be very positive. Thank you for taking the time to write us about your experiences here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

So I should probably start off by saying that Doubletrees, as a chain, have been disappointing me more-and-more based on recent experiences. That being said, this one is fantastic. The staff are all great. The property itself looks like a repurposed Embassy Suites and I had a partial ocean view that mostly faced the neighboring high school. The gym was fantastic and featured all high quality equipment. Surprisingly, as a HH gold, they still offer a complimentary hot buffet breakfast regardless of your membership preferences. Just shows how far they go to make their customers happy. Not one complaint...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Very encouraged to read that we redeeemed your faith in Doubletree and that you did not have one complaint. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a promising review -- thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.