We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far away from the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #9 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Too far away from the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice hotel good spacious rooms breakfast was good as it was included. My only regret is that it was a bit of a walk to the shopping area and even further to the pier and ocean. The water pressure in the shower was good

Room Tip: We had a high floor overlooking a baseball field and a freeway with the door closed we couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you letting us know about the water pressure, our Engineering Team has addressed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    549
    140
    57
    23
See reviews for
519
284
42
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a clean very well run hotel and the staff cannot be faulted in any way whatsoever as they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Unfortunately, we arrived after an 11hr flight only to be taken to an upgraded room (as my husband is a diamond member) that smelt of smoke - the smell was so bad that the porter was almost knocked back. In the end we had to settle for an average room but at least it didn't smell, I must say I couldn't. see the difference in rooms purely location as we had traffic noise in the second room as it was next to the road. The bed was quite comfortable.
There is a Starbucks which makes a decent Frapuccino, latte and hot chocolate. The restaurant is okay for a small bite to eat although their breakfasts are quite good.
The ambience of the hotel was good and people were enjoying there stay there as far as we could see. Once again, the hotel has very good staff and we only encountered staff that went about of their way to help us which is a great credit to the Doubletree Santa Monica.
If we returned, we may stay again for a few nights in a NON SMOKING deluxe room. This was in no way the fault of the reception or porter staff as they were very annoyed people had been smoking to that extent in a non smoking hotel but unfortunately because of being taken to such a smoke filled room I have only awarded 3 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with as little traffic noise as possible, not next to freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
All of our rooms are non-smoking; it appears, most unfortunately, that our housekeeping team was not able to overcome the infraction – please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here one night while touring around Los Angeles. The hotel is very well appointed and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Very quiet. We parked in the lot across the street to save ourselves from paying the high parking fee. The hotel is a little off of the beaten path but we walked down to the pier and along the beach strip and back. I wouldn't want to do the walk late at night. We could see the beach from our room ... if you looked very carefully through the parking garage across the street. Breakfast in the morning was very good with a great selection. Very busy!

Room Tip: Park in lot across the street to save Valet parking fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for using our property as a base for your tour of Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed at the hotel recently for 3 nights. We were very pleased will all aspects of the stay. It was within close walking distance to great shopping, eateries and the pier. Walking around the area at night, we felt safe. We had breakfast included in our tariff and can highly recommend this as great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Sounds like our "Bed & Breakfast" was the ideal plan for you and your daughter's stay -- we have a lot of compliments on this package and would like to thank you for your endorsement of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in May. The suites were great and the bed extremely comfortable. The little kitchenette area had a fridge, microwave, sink and coffee maker. It was within easy walking distance of 3rd st Promenade and tne pier, but the restaurants on Main St were a little further away. We only ate in the hotel restaurant once. When we did, we found the portions huge and I found that once I had eaten my appetiser, I barely had room for my main course. We ordered breakfast a couple of times using room service and while it was excellent, it usually worked out better value for us to walk to the creperie on the corner of 3rd St Promenade.
The pool area is quite small but was never overcrowded when we used it.
The hotel has a laundry service but also a coin operated launderette. I found this handy and got a load of washing done in an hour which is useful if you don't want to pack too much.
They also have a business centre with computers and printer etc which we didn't use but might come in useful for some.
Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
From the pool to the business center, it appears that you touched all points of our property -- glad that we could accommodate all of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a really great hotel. The suites are perfect for those with small children, allowing uninterrupted nap time/grown up time. The rooms themselves and very clean and well kept. The location of the hotel is also ideal because it is within walking disance of pretty much anything you could want to see in Santa Monica. The best part about this hotel, though, is the staff. They were always very responsive, polite, and helpful, to the point where I really took notice. Can't recommend this one highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Outstanding; very encouraged that you found the best part of your stay was our staff. We firmly believe that they are truly our hidden amenity . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A good, clean and comfortable hotel. Not very personal like most big hotels. They charge you more than 30 USD for parking but don't inform you that it's a big car park on the other side of the road that cost 5 USD a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are pleased that you found our property clean and comfortable for all of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Amex, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.