We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked a weekend stay at this Doubletree so we can explore Santa Monica and surrounding areas as part of a two week California vacation. Well, we ended up staying 5 nights because the hotel was so nice and everything around L.A. was a short distance away. The staff was some of the friendliest I've experienced in the hotel business. We called the front desk a couple of times for minor repairs and both times they responded quickly and efficiently. The restaurant downstairs was good and again the staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was truly a suite with a door separating the living room and bedroom. This was great because our 3 year old could go to sleep and we can stay up watching tv or talking without disturbing him. Our only complaint was with the location. The hotel is right next to a highway entrance and many times getting out of the driveway into traffic was a challenge because there was a long line of cars waiting to enter the highway. Walking out was also a bit of a challenge because there's no walkway out of the hotel. You have to walk on the same driveway where cars go out. Walking to the pier or 3rd street promenade was a short 10 minute walk. If I went back, I would probably stay here again. For the money, it's a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We appreciate you recognizing our staff as some of the "friendliest I've experienced in the hotel business".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    618
    153
    62
    23
See reviews for
581
332
47
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holte, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visited Hilton Double Tree, Santa Monica - CAL, in late June 2012. Two parents and three kids aged 13, 10 and 8. Staff was very friendly and service-minded in a nice straight forward way. Also towards kids. Rooms were spacious, clean and well-equipped. Traffic noise from nearby Santa Monica Freeway was no problem. Meals in the restaurant were a pleasure. Especially the breakfast can be recommended. The fitness room was inviting and with direct exit to the outdoor hotel pool at 1st floor. The whole atmosphere on the hotel is friendly and professional. Just a place to enjoy as a good base for exploring Santa Monica and its surroundings! You reach the beach after 5 minutes walking!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It appears that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that our property has to offer; please consider us again if your travels should ever bring you back to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived very early on a flight from NZ and managed to get into our room a little early, reception staff very helpful. Room was fine, very clean and comfortable, very good blackout blinds and even though we were near the elevator there was no noise. Air con a bit noisy but couldn't hear it in the bedroom. Nice swimming pool and hot tub, not somewhere you would want to hang out but nice for a swim in the evening.

Breakfast was a pretty standard Hilton set up, served until 11am which was great as we were getting up late with jet lag, staff were very good.

Wireless Internet was very good and also free so that was a bonus

Location was great very close to the beach and pier and only about a 5-10 minute walk to all the shops.

We did book a room with a partial sea view, wasn't much more than a standard room but would probably pass on this next time as you are a few blocks form the sea so not much to see and with the sea mist we couldn't see much anyway.

Only thing I didn't like was the valet parking very expensive at $32 a night, didn't realise that you can park across the road for $5 a day

Room Tip: Don't bother with the partial sea view rooms not worth the extra money just walk down the road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank for mentioning the 'bonus" that we do not charge for internet; it was a business decision we made to accommodate our guests and it has been received very favorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was friendly. I left a necklace in the hotel. I called the hotel 4 days later and was pleased to hear it was found. It has sentimental value and I am so very thankful to get it back.

The room was very clean and comfortable. I love the location to the beach and shoppping.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Very pleased that your necklace found its way back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A one night trip on the way home. Arrived late in the evening and staff were pleasant and helpful, allowing me to check in and get straight to my large, rear of hotel, room which faced the expressway so no view but very quiet. Had a great bed, slept like a log and then had a great buffet breakfast including perfectly poached eggs on request of the chef.
Well located via short 10 minute stroll to the beach, Peir and shops, I spent the morning taking in the beautiful Santa Monica lifestyle. Car arranged by the concierge for my departure was early but the staff allowed me sufficient time with no hurry to check out and depart.
Slightly tired decor in the rooms and hotel is my only lightly downside comment. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Rear to Beach room - no view but spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
“All in all a great stay”; please come back and visit us again when you can stay for more than a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was really nice. Staff very helpful and good location in Santa Monica close to Pier and Promenade. We would have proffered somewhere quieter but this was our choice not the hotels problem. Good stop over location.

Room Tip: Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Nice to read that you found our staff “helpful” – we consider them our secret amenity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with friends for 6 nights - I picked it due to central Santa Monica location, the fact it had a pool, sauna and was walking distance to beach and shops. Overall it lived up to all expectations - nice rooms with views of sea or Santa Monica mountains. Suite rooms with lounge and either King or Twin beds, bathrooms have either a shower or bath so request if you have a preference. As always sign up to reward programme for additional extras (higher level rooms) and reward points. I liked the free Wifi all over Hotel and no charge. Decor in hotel and rooms is a little dated but still in reasonable order.
Note:
I would park in Civic centre opposite at $5 a day rather than Hotel valet price of $30 per day - maybe they could offer a discount for HHonors card holders.
One thing I would change:
But it's a small point. I didn't like was the window from the lounge part of your room suite into the communal hall - this could be half frosted glass rather than clear to give a bit if privacy so you don't need to draw the curtains when watching the massive TV.
Overall:
I would recommend this hotel as a great value for money option with lots of facilities in good location. (Assuming you don't want beach front location with a price to match).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thrilled that we lived up to your expectations; thank you for your endorsement and recommendation – please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.