We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights and had a lovely suite on the 5th floor. We arrived at 7am way before the check in time and after 24 hours of travelling we almost cried when they checked us straight in with the bonus if a hot cookie each. Heaven.

Rooms are well designed, spacious and very comfortable. Hotel foyer and pool facilities are lovely and the service is fantastic as you would expect in a good American hotel.

10 mins walk down to beach which is lovely and about half hour walk to Venice beach etc. 20 mins can into Beverly Hills if you fancy. Skip Hollywood we did it and its rubbish. Rodeo drive is gorgeous and great for celeb spotting.

Urth is 10 mins walk and the best for breaks or lunch we went twice.

Shopping mall is 10 mins walk away at the back of Bloomingdales and great for a stroll.

Only negative was the room service. Bad food. Ver salted and didn't get our order right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our Team’s effort to accommodate you with an early check-in. We have a culture of taking care of our guests – glad we exceeded your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    540
    135
    57
    23
See reviews for
503
280
42
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. The bathroom has no fan so if your staying with someone else, be prepared to wait it out or hold your nose to go. It takes a good twenty minutes to air out. The morning continental breakfast is very average with nothing hot but toast, no waffle iron. The bacon in the hot breakfast was really soft and undercooked. I observed them cooking it in the deep fat fryer, unacceptable and greasy.

Room Tip: See if they have a bathroom with a fan. Go out for breakfast. You will be better off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate your recognition of the property being “nice and clean”. Regarding our continental breakfast offerings, perhaps you missed the section that offers baked fresh daily assorted muffins and croissants along with pancakes – next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First time to stay in Santa Monica, and used AA miles to pay. That was no problem but the front desk guy didnt even want to talk about my Honors membership. I wasnt looking for the points but its nice to be acknowledged as such. Place was full so my business wasn't too important to him I guess. Why do hotels love to act as if they are doing you a favor by allowing you to stay when they are booked up ?? I did manage to get free wifi by logging on as a member, but don't tell the guy at the front desk.

Anyway, physically the hotel was fine. 2 room suites, nice bathroom, everything worked, water was hot, bed was comfortable, suite was clean. I hate valet parking but this is LA so you have no choice. They were very nice and friendly, and appreciated the tip. Car was brought around promptly.

No complimentary lobby coffee, even in the morning, so that runs me off. The Hampton Inns could teach these high priced places a thing or too. Its about hospitality, forget the bottom line please.

To me the location is a little out of the way, or at least on the fringe of the action. For the same money or thereabouts you can stay closer to the promenade and Ocean Avenue. The hotel seemed to be popular more for business travelers than tourists so it makes the hotel an expensive option for tightwads like me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Our property is one of the few Doubletrees that offers both HSIA and Wi-Fi complimentary to our guests regardless of any associated membership – please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were quite pleased with everything; the room, location was excellent - walking distance to the Center, and the breakfast. I was really impressed by the entrance not to mention the professionalism of the staff at the reservation desk and in the restaurant. The only problem was the sofa bed - the mattress could have been better.

We have now decided use the Double Tree whenever possible as we were quite disappointed with the Sheraton (which we stayed several times).

If you have to stay in a hotel in Santa Monica and want to be sure the rooms are clean and be close to the Center, don't hesitate stay at the Double Tree Santa Monica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I shared your comments with our staff regarding your observations about how professional they were; very much appreciated -- thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by saying we bought a room here for our honeymoon. The staff although nice are very annoyingly persistent. When we pulled up 3 staff members opened all doors including the trunk (how they did that I don't know) then stood there waiting for us to get out....a friend was just dropping us off after a meal. Then to use the in room phone they charge you a dollar to make any local phone calls. Once you get your room they charge you 28$ a day to park your car it's valet parking only! Then to eat their continental breakfast it's 18.95$ a person to even sit down. On top of all that they put a hold on your account until you checkout. THEN After 3 days the hold is lifted!! I don't recommend this place at all You pay alot of money to stay here just to pay even more money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Sorry that you consider charges for parking, breakfast and in-room phone usage for local calls as hidden; in fact, they are pretty standard hotel practices with prices posted throughout the property and on websites. Unfortunately, the three day hold on your credit card is also a standard practice that banks employ and is not under the property’s control. If you have questions, would encourage you to always contact the Front Desk before checking-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is really well localized, near the Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street Promenade (only downside is that you need to cross over the I-5 which is quite noise), personally I prefer to stay on the other side of I-5 but this is far from being a deal breaker. The suites are spacious and fit 4 adults very well. Staff is extremelly friendly from the vallet service to the doormen to the reception desk, etc Free wi-fi for as many devices as you want! (brilliant!) Parking is expensive as it is in any other hotel in the area Only complain is very few channels on TV, only two channels for kids.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad you found the location of our property convenient; we will take under advisement our kid channel selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here in January, I was traveling with my two teenage sons. We had a room which had two double beds, and a small living room with a sofa bed. The room was perfect for us, and very clean throughout. We wondered over to the Santa Monica pier & shops, which was a five minute walk.
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad to hear you found our suite size ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Amex, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.