We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only five minutes to the heart of Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #7 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only five minutes to the heart of Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here in January, I was traveling with my two teenage sons. We had a room which had two double beds, and a small living room with a sofa bed. The room was perfect for us, and very clean throughout. We wondered over to the Santa Monica pier & shops, which was a five minute walk.
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad to hear you found our suite size ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    488
    128
    53
    20
See reviews for
461
256
37
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights in Nov 2012. It was the last leg of our Vegas, San Francisco, LA vacation. As usual for a Hillton hotel, everything was clean, comfortable and bright with excellent service by all. Lovely pool with bar service. We would surely stay here again. Loved everthing about LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Encouraged to read that we lived up to your level of expectation from a Hilton property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife had a meeting in Santa Monica CA for the Society of Actuaries in January and when I looked up the website for the hotel I was very impressed and looked forward to the stay. In reality this is not an "All Suite" hotel as the room we were given was not a suite and was actually a very Tiny room. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was very clean and in excellent repair but lacked a comfortable place to sit. The one chair at the desk was really only suited to sitting upright at the desk. Definetely a lack of floor space so we were lucky that we arrived with only carry-ons as large suitcases would have been problamatic to maneuver around. Foyer and main floor were very attractive and sevice was friendly and helpful. Location is acceptable to most attractions but would question if any room had a good ocean view.

Room Tip: make sure it's a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Sorry you did not receive a room with an Ocean view; next time, please call us direct at the property to assist with your suite option(s).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for two night's, hotel is walking distance from the Santa Monica Pier, and the 3rd street promanade. All the rooms are suites so that's a plus, staff were great, parking is all valet about $22.00 per night, it's LA so it's expected, no complaint's. All pro's no con's, great hotel I highly recommened it. Front desk staff gave my 4 year old daughter crayons and a Sponge Bob coloring book upon on check in, which she really enjoy and not to mention the wonderful warm cookies :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I have shared with our Team here you very positive review; thank you very much. Also, we hope that your daughter continues to enjoy the coloring book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Came here for a fellas excursion for my frat brothers birthday. We have nothing but positive things to say:

*Great location in Santa Monica- restaurants, stores in walking distance
*Room is nice and clean
*front desk workers were quite helpful, except one Asian looking female (she was dismissive)
*Valet workers were the most humble, efficient, and pleasant staff
*This hotel works because the you get more bang for your buck in terms of spacing.

I would recommend this hotel for young professionals on a group trip who want so kick it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for recommending our property as a great value proposition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch,New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights enroute from New Zealand to England. The location was excellent with the beach, pier and shops only a short walk away, but far enough away to ensure quietness at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and staff welcoming and helpful. Rooms were lovely and quiet and with good blackout drapes for those overwhelmed by jet lag moments. The restaurant offered a dinner buffet - this had a very small selection but what was there was superb with the steak being one of the best I have ever eaten - especially for the price. The location is fantastic to just relax and explore on foot. Perfect if you are just looking for some relaxation and time zone adjustment rather than the 'big' manic theme part attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Heartened to read you found our location excellence along with the quietness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission KS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this property about five years ago and it was ok, not great. In the meantime the rooms have received a freshening and the service has tightened up. The rooms are in the old Embassy Suites format (if you are familiar with that). Valet-only service here for parking was easy peasy. Room service was up to standards and exceeded on out-of-timeframe requests (much appreciated! oatmeal is great anytime!). All extra amenity requests were accommodated within minutes. Staff was friendly but not overbearing. Housekeeping was spot on-the room was perfectly clean and the bed was comfortable. I am hhonors and have stayed at many Doubletrees and this is now one of my favorites. Location is close to a lot -if it is warm and you are a walker there is a lot within range. If not a walker, there is a ton within a 5 minute drive. While this is not a 4-star hotel, it is definitely at the high level of a Doubletree and does not have the 4-star price. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Please do not make it five years again between visits; in the meantime, we will continue to improve upon our offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.