We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good option close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Santa Monica Pier Pkg
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A very good option close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I think the most important thing to say is that the this hotel is:
- literally by the highway and no, you don't hear the traffic when in your room
- 3 blocks from the beach
- 4 blocks from the Promenade
We got a King Bed Deluxe and it was perfect for us (couple). They even had a living room with an extra TV.
Staff was great and kept a couple of packages sent to us before we checked in.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you taking the time to recognize our staff and to comment on the quiteness of your suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    732
    184
    74
    28
See reviews for
719
381
52
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

All I can say is $760 unauthorized credit card fee , when questioned about it no one from the doubletree establishment could give me any reason why this unauthorized charge was put on my card . Despite asking a manager to investigate and contact me, I never heard from a manager. I had to contact my bank and get the hotel staff to fax my bank to cancel the unauthorized amount. Then they put another unauthorized amount onto my credit card of approx $35 the very next day and again could provide no reason why. Then tried to charge me for three nights parking when only there for two. I feel like if I wasn't so vigilant in checking my credit card in Internet banking I would of been the victim of fraud. Terrible service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the billing errors you encountered; since we did not have a phone number, an email was sent.but unfortunately we did not receive a response. Generally, whenever a credit is issued it takes approximately three business days to process. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel and the staff were top notch. We prepaid for the room so it was a bit less expensive than a typical booking. We were presently surprised by the quality and the service. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel like we were the most important guests. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We appreciate your recognition of our Staff as being top notch; we share all of our guest comments with our Team -- thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were very satisfied with this hotel. Very clean, good beds, and friendly staff.
The room was great with the separate bedroom.
It was a great value compared to hotels that were on the beach, and it was a short walk from the hotel to shopping and beaches.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Your recognition of our amenties is very much appreciated; thank you for taking your time to furnish us with your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Doubletree Suites has a ton of amazing features to it. Doubletree is a fabulous hotel, Starting from the lobby, to the hotel rooms. Well I live in New England, and me and my family of 5 took a 5 day trip to Santa Monica, and stayed here. First we arrive. We get swarmed by people, opening our car doors and taking our bags on the bell hop. In the lobby we get 5 warm chocolate chip cookies for us to enjoy! They took our car and parked it for us. Wow! We thought! Those elevators are fun to ride! The pool is open 6am to 10pm. It is a fabulous pool! Doubletree was a fabulous expirience for my family and I, and if we EVER GO TO SANTA MONICA AGAIN, OUR CHOICE WILL BE DOUBLETREE SUITES! Thank you Doubletree. I hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: The Presidental High Floor City View, and Executive suites are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We really appreciate the fact that whenever your travels bring you to Santa Monica, we will be your destination hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

One of the best "deals" in the Santa Monica area, not cheap, but not as expensive as the other good hotels.... PLUS huge rooms with seperate living area!
Restaurant is ok, but I suggest eating out.
Friendly staff, ok pool area and gym
Tons of shops, restaurants and bars in walking distance
about 10 walk to the beach

Room Tip: Presidential suite is absolutely huge, you can get lost in there...... regular suites are fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a fly-drive holiday.

In all, we stayed at eight hotels on our trip. Before we set off for the USA, we telephoned each hotel to ask for two rooms close together and for the room I shared with my sister to have twin beds. We were unable to obtain a helpful response over the telephone. When we arrived at the hotel, no effort was made to place us near to each other. In fact, it would have been difficult to locate our two rooms further apart! Further, both rooms had king beds, although I was able to sleep on the sofa bed.

The receptionist who we dealt with had an uncomfortably patronising manner. The unhelpfulness of reception staff was consistent throughout our stay - e.g. they did not know if they could cash travellers cheques or where the nearest bank was.

On the positive side, the suite-style rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The hotel restaurant was also good.

Housekeeping issues in the common areas required a little attention e.g. the bulbs showing the direction that the lifts were travelling needed replacement. The pool tiles also needed cleaning.

The concierge staff were very helpful. Room service was also quick and reasonably priced.

There is a launderette at the hotel which, although too small with one washer and one dryer, was incredibly useful at the mid-point of our road trip. It was also popular with other guests.

The hotel is located conveniently close to the freeway and about a block from the sea. There is no self-parking but concierge parking is available at a cost.

The hotel seems popular for conferences.

All in all, this hotel is fine for a base for a quick stay in Santa Monica and LA. A little more customer care from the front desk would have led to a higher rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
#13 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.