We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #9 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Happy Holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

On weekdays this is a busy business hotel and conference center close to the Santa Monica Convention Center. On weekends it is a centrally located, friendly, convenient and relatively inexpensive place to stay just three blocks from Santa Monica Place and Promenade and three (long) blocks to the beach. There is no self parking. Every car is handled by the efficient and courteous valet service. The daily charge is $28 with unlimited in and out. The rooms are incredibly spacious. I believe all rooms are suites with bedroom (ours had a small balcony served by patio door), mini bar/refer/microwave, big bathroom and very big living room/pull out couch with a window on the atrium. The hotel has been remodeled and upgraded. Very nice use of wood, marble and elegant carpeting. It has a central atrium and each floor is served by a bank of three glass enclosed elevators. Our room had a small balcony with a tiny ocean view and a more expansive view of downtown and the Santa Monica Mountains to the west. But, our room was on busy 4th Street above the Santa Monica Freeway so with the patio door open, it was loud. Door closed everything was quiet. The staff was wonderful. Enthusiastic, energetic, fun.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk. Some rooms are on busy 4th St or overlook the Santa Monica Freeway. Others, at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    548
    140
    58
    23
See reviews for
514
282
42
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our room was spacious and clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We were able to walk to the Santa Monica Promenade and enjoy the restaurants and shopping there.I recommend staying here if you want to be in Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room. Ours was a corner room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Always very accommodating, restaurant 1st class, service impeccable and reasonable. If you wanted a meal delivered to your room the cost was basically the same-with a little tip added of course. Only down side was a too far away from the action of the pier and shops. Was never game to walk home after dark, will stay closer to the ocean next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This as a pleasant place to say in Santa Monica.

Because it is not right on the pier, you need to walk a few blocks which as easy, and great for the exercise!

The pool and spa were perfect temps and the kids were able to enjoy a few dips even when it was slightly chilly out.

As for the hotel, we were on the 7th floor and it was very quiet ... No complaints.
As for the beds....we comfortable!
As for the view... It's 4 blocks from the ocean.... No real view.
As for the Internet.... The Wi-Fi was horrible. For a conference hotel if there is one thing that desperately needs an upgrade.... This is it. Video conferencing is impossible.

My daughter could have eaten every cookie they made, and yes,.... They are that good!

All in all.... It was a great stay.

Room Tip: I believe the higher up the better. Elevators are fast. Worth it to request a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as the last stop on our three and a half week honeymoon. We had decided to stay at Santa Monica as I had been to LA before and it was my favourite spot I visited in LA. It was so nice to stay in a hotel suite and have a bit of room after so much travelling around and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in!

It's about a 10 minute walk to the pier but all of the shops and action are well within easy walking distance.

The hotel has a good gym and nice pool and spa bath as well. Also, the bar is really nice and the service is excellent.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we will definitely return here if we find ourselves in LA again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This suites-style hotel is located in a fairly central location, but it is not on the beach. The entrance to the famous Pier is about a 10 minute walk. A route through parking lots, bypassing construction and the Rand Corp., is a somewhat shorter way to the beach near Shutter's Hotel. The Doubletree is at the west end of Interstate 10, near the Civic Auditorium.

The rooms (bedroom and living room) were fairly basic, but clean and functional, with two TVs, a minifridge, etc. The gap under the door between the bathroom and bedroom was unnecessarily large, thus failing to keep in light, odors, etc. There is a spacious lobby area. We didn't have a car, but were told that valet parking was expensive. Breakfast was also expensive, and really not up to expectations for a somewhat upscale hotel (only two types of not-very-tasty fruit in the buffet, few food choices other than the basics, though there is an omelette preparer). Our group was served lunches, which were OK but again could have been better (the tirimisu was awful). Housekeeping, front desk, and bell services were fine. There is an outdoor pool on the "roof" of a lower floor. Waffled between rating it 3 or 4, but ended up 4.

Room Tip: Many rooms look out into the open central area of the hotel. We stayed in one of the wings, looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to visit my daughter who lives in Santa Monica. This hotel was close to her apartment as well as to the Beach, and the 3rd street Promenade. Our suite was a corner unit and had a nice layout with a seperate Bedroom and living area. There was also a office niche, which was great as I had to work while traveling and was able to leave my laptop out with it getting in the way. The maid service was excellent and the only problem we experienced was that our coffee maker did not work. This really was not a problem as we went down to the restaurant each morning for our breakfast. The pool & hot tub were on the third floor roof area and were clean with an abundance of lounge chairs and plenty of towels. We were there for 8 days and I never had a problem sleeping as the bed was very plush, comfortable and clean! The valet parking staff were very fast and attentive anytime we wanted to take our car out. The warm cookies were also a nice treat!

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of a hallway in the corner, which means we did not have an interior window l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.