We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff-very helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great staff-very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Always very accommodating, restaurant 1st class, service impeccable and reasonable. If you wanted a meal delivered to your room the cost was basically the same-with a little tip added of course. Only down side was a too far away from the action of the pier and shops. Was never game to walk home after dark, will stay closer to the ocean next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    630
    153
    62
    23
See reviews for
590
336
47
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This as a pleasant place to say in Santa Monica.

Because it is not right on the pier, you need to walk a few blocks which as easy, and great for the exercise!

The pool and spa were perfect temps and the kids were able to enjoy a few dips even when it was slightly chilly out.

As for the hotel, we were on the 7th floor and it was very quiet ... No complaints.
As for the beds....we comfortable!
As for the view... It's 4 blocks from the ocean.... No real view.
As for the Internet.... The Wi-Fi was horrible. For a conference hotel if there is one thing that desperately needs an upgrade.... This is it. Video conferencing is impossible.

My daughter could have eaten every cookie they made, and yes,.... They are that good!

All in all.... It was a great stay.

Room Tip: I believe the higher up the better. Elevators are fast. Worth it to request a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as the last stop on our three and a half week honeymoon. We had decided to stay at Santa Monica as I had been to LA before and it was my favourite spot I visited in LA. It was so nice to stay in a hotel suite and have a bit of room after so much travelling around and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in!

It's about a 10 minute walk to the pier but all of the shops and action are well within easy walking distance.

The hotel has a good gym and nice pool and spa bath as well. Also, the bar is really nice and the service is excellent.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we will definitely return here if we find ourselves in LA again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This suites-style hotel is located in a fairly central location, but it is not on the beach. The entrance to the famous Pier is about a 10 minute walk. A route through parking lots, bypassing construction and the Rand Corp., is a somewhat shorter way to the beach near Shutter's Hotel. The Doubletree is at the west end of Interstate 10, near the Civic Auditorium.

The rooms (bedroom and living room) were fairly basic, but clean and functional, with two TVs, a minifridge, etc. The gap under the door between the bathroom and bedroom was unnecessarily large, thus failing to keep in light, odors, etc. There is a spacious lobby area. We didn't have a car, but were told that valet parking was expensive. Breakfast was also expensive, and really not up to expectations for a somewhat upscale hotel (only two types of not-very-tasty fruit in the buffet, few food choices other than the basics, though there is an omelette preparer). Our group was served lunches, which were OK but again could have been better (the tirimisu was awful). Housekeeping, front desk, and bell services were fine. There is an outdoor pool on the "roof" of a lower floor. Waffled between rating it 3 or 4, but ended up 4.

Room Tip: Many rooms look out into the open central area of the hotel. We stayed in one of the wings, looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to visit my daughter who lives in Santa Monica. This hotel was close to her apartment as well as to the Beach, and the 3rd street Promenade. Our suite was a corner unit and had a nice layout with a seperate Bedroom and living area. There was also a office niche, which was great as I had to work while traveling and was able to leave my laptop out with it getting in the way. The maid service was excellent and the only problem we experienced was that our coffee maker did not work. This really was not a problem as we went down to the restaurant each morning for our breakfast. The pool & hot tub were on the third floor roof area and were clean with an abundance of lounge chairs and plenty of towels. We were there for 8 days and I never had a problem sleeping as the bed was very plush, comfortable and clean! The valet parking staff were very fast and attentive anytime we wanted to take our car out. The warm cookies were also a nice treat!

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of a hallway in the corner, which means we did not have an interior window l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a great time in Santa Monica with my sisters and mother for a great girls weekend away. The location was good...several blocks from the beach and from the 3rd Street Promenade. The staff was very friendly and made our stay there really pleasant. Everyone was extra nice and really helpful and accommodating. The suites were roomy, clean and I had no complaints. We had a really nice time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very comfortable. The restaurant food is even worse than usual hotel food, but service is excellent, responsive. Extremely comfortable suite. Easy walk to the beach and shopping, restaurants. Fitness center is small, but impeccably clean with nice cardio equipment
and very limited free weights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.