We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Santa Monica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Bishop CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Santa Monica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great location, we walked to the Promanade and to the beach.
The bed was fabulous. Got great help with directions from the valet on a way to get around traffic. Very helpful.
To say nothing about the fabulous WARM choclate chip walnut cookie YUM!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    540
    135
    57
    23
See reviews for
503
280
42
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am staying at the hotel this week, for a two week job in LA. The rooms and service are fantastic, as are the gym and other amenities. However, as I had been warned in previous reviews here, the internet is pretty shoddy.

This is inexcusable for a hotel that promotes itself to business travellers. Whereever I have been in the hotel, be it the lobby, business center, and my room, at times it has been difficult to load a simple google homepage.

I called the technical department here and they say that I should wait until other guests stop using so much bandwidth!

My words of caution...

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSbHGeneralManager, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Andres M,
We appreciate your feedback on the speed of our internet service at our hotel. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and are currently addressing this issue with our service provider. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dededo, Mariana Islands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel suites were nice and hotel is in a good location. You can catch the local bus just a block away and its easy to get around. I was there for surgery and the hotel was not far from St. John's Medical Center. It only cost $6-$8 to take a taxi to the hospital and only $1 each way on the bus. If you plan on brining a car, the hotel only has valet parking and it's $28 a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My stay at this hotel was amazing. From start to finish it just exceeded all expectations, my room nearly had a clear view of the ocean if only I was a tad higher. The beds are something to die for, could easily say the best I have ever layed on. I will be returning next year again from Australia

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We recently spent five nights at the DoubleTree in Santa Monica. All the rooms are suites, there is free internet access in the rooms and there are 3 available computers for guest use. The pool is nice, a little small and there is a gym with a good selection of exercise machines. We ate from the breakfast buffet which had a great selection of good quality food. It is very well located, 10 minutes to the beach, shops and restaurants. I would not use the hotel parking as the public car park across the road is far cheaper. This is a great hotel for adults, but maybe not for small children as there are a lot of roads to cross on the way to the beach etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites, with 2 tvs and large bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently spent one night at the DoubleTree in Santa Monica as part of our tour of California. The room was nice and handy as a suite. The kids loved the cookies as check in. The pool area was quite nice but a little small. The location is what is great about this hotel. Although it backs up against the highway (which was our view) it was an easy 5-10 min walk to the beach, boardwalk and 3rd Street Promenade. There were plenty of dining choices in the area. Also, we used the ourdoor parking lot across the street which was $10 for 24 hours. Although we never took the car back out once it was parked we spoke to the attendant and they said no problem with in and out. They would make a note on our ticket. The valet parking was quite expensive. It was also a great starting off point to visit the sights of Hollywood and Beverly Hills. It was pretty expensive for one evening but nothing compared to the hotels right on the water only a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10940
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's very nice looking hotel with great staff. Rooms are big with comfortable bed, HD TVs, nice bathroom and balconies. I enjoyed the pool area and the jacuzzi. Good selection of excersise machines and weights. Restaurant food was fantastic both tasted and doneness. I don't know what the deal is with the warm cookie but it shows they try to go the extra mile to kiss your behind. Oh, the atrium gives the place an open, spacious feel too. Only downside was the quality of the internet; it logged me out constantly and I had to restart my computer to log back in. At some point I lost an email I was working on for more than 10 minutes.

Great location. A 10 minute walk from the pier and 3rd Street promenade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Amex, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.