We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Honors Points
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Close to the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

It's 3 blocks to walk the pier which was nice. The staff was nice. The only bad thing about the room was the toilet is very noisy when you flush it so it will wake others up during the night. I suggest you avoid the pool on Saturdays (all day) as the use it for swimming lessons and they hog the entire pool no consideration for hotel guests at all they throw their floats by you, walk into you, and just plain don't care if you are swimming yourself (apparently there is no city pool for this??). The restaurant is ok, only ate breakfast a few times and each time the table was dirty and even some of the cups and silverware were covered with old food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear kristie p,
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our DoubleTree Suites by Hilton in Santa Monica. While we certainly appreciate the positive rating you gave the hotel, we also want to apologize for the disappointments you expressed at the pool and restaurant. Our team is highly committed to providing our guests with the best possible hotel experience and we are taking corrective action in both of these areas of concern.
Thank you again for bringing these items to our attention. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the not-too-distant future.
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    631
    153
    62
    23
See reviews for
590
336
47
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A great find. Convenient to the Pier and Promenade without being in the middle of it. an easy walk. ALso convenient to LA. We stayed 4 nights (we were happy enough to add a night and cancel another hotel we were planning on going to). Staff was outstanding-- from valets to front desk to housekeeping. Very friendly and accommodating--- surprisingly so. Price was very reasonable compared to other places in the area. Large room with two queen (or close to it) beds and separate room with pull-out made the space plenty for our family of 4. We stayed on a higher level floor and heard no street noise at all. Much better than expected- especially for the price. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: higher floor was great. we faced the ball fields but were high enough to still have a decent view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed for a business trip to Santa Monica. Good sized suites, free internet connection and decent restaurant. Walking distance to the beach. Good value. Street noise the only real problem, but that died down overnight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear MostlyBusinessTravel,
We are so pleased to have you as a return guest at our DoubleTree Suites by Hilton in Santa Monica and appreciate your online review. Even when traveling for business, it is good to know that you enjoy the extra space of our suites, complimentary wi-fi and close proximity to the beach. We look forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Been there for 1 week with family:
Room divided into bedroom and living isn't bigger than a standard room
They give you a cookie on arrival, but no bottles of water.
Average room service during weekends.

Pros:
-location on 4th street
-micro kitchen corner

Cons:
-Complimentary wifi slow/unusable most of the time
-no self parking, need to use the public parking in front of the hotel, expensive valet parking fees 28$/day
-swimming pool on 3rd floor is freezing when there's wind, no wind protection

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear vallors,
Thank you for posting your review of our DoubleTree Suites by Hilton in Santa Monica. As a Senior Reviewer, your feedback is especially helpful to us in identifying and addressing areas in which we can improve. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's convenient location in Santa Monica and "suite" floorplan that includes a wet bar, microwave and refrigerator. However, we sincerely apologize that the parking arrangements and complimentary wi-fi were not to your satisfaction. Parking is indeed limited in Santa Monica this close to the coast so we offer fast and professional valet service to all of our guests for a fee. We are also following up on the wi-fi issue you reported in order to ensure that it is fully addressed.
We hope you will choose our hotel again when returning to the Santa Monica area and look forward to providing personal service to you and your family in the future.
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We chose to book our stay at the Doubletree in Santa Monica primarily because it was considerably less expensive than most of the other hotels, and it turned out to be a great choice. The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of anything you would want to do in Santa Monica, and the rooms are very spacious with updated decor, and well maintained. We had a two room suite with a separate makeup vanity (very convenient to have when someone else is using the bathroom) and a wet bar. We were fortunate enough to have a room with a view of the ocean and the ferris wheel on the pier. You do have an option to valet your car for $28.00/day (plus tip), but there is a public parking lot literally across the street for max $12.00 per 24 hours. The hotel staff initally encouraged the valet option, but were very open to giving me directions to the public lot across the street (you have to drive around the block to get the entrance due to one-way exit out of the parking lot). We will definitely stay here again when we visit Santa Monica.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Close to main attractions and in easy walking distance. The staff, restaurant, room service were excellent. The suite had bedroom and separate lounge so was very spacious and comfortable. Also the internet access was fast and faultless.

Room Tip: 8th floor west side looks toward the ocean and this level is high enough to look over the opposite b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in May - everything was perfect, we were 3 people in a 2-room suite. No complaints, all was fine. The suite overlooked the beach, albeit the view was 3 blocks away. The beds were comfortable and everything was comfortable and very clean. Make sure to ask for a suite at the end of the corridors, away from the atrium, as we noticed the rooms there probably had a lot of noise. Our highest praise during our visit goes to the reception staff - during our check-in process, the bellman dropped one of our bags heavily on the floor and broke a bottle that was in the bag, staining all the clothes in it. With no argument, the staff laundered, pressed and returned all the clothes back to us the next day, free of charge. THAT was much appreciated, so kudos to them.

Room Tip: Choose a suite away from the hotel atrium, if you want a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.