We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Stay Here Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Santa Monica Pier Pkg
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would Definitely Stay Here Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree Guest Suites in Santa Monica June 10-15th after winning a bid on Priceline for $160/night.
The hotel is right off the I-10 and was very easy to get to.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, same as the fitness centre & pool.
The outdoor pool and hot tub were great. We soaked in the hot tub every day!
The room was a suite with a king bed and was perfect. The walls were a bit thin though and we were woken up by the child next door at 6:30 AM!!
The hotel is a very short walk, maybe 10 minutes to the Promenade and Pier. Yes it is on the other side of the interstate but it is also a lot cheaper than some of the other hotels as well. The 10 minute walk didn't bother us at all!
This hotel has mandatory valet parking at $28/day with no option to self park. We didn't explore the parking elsewhere as the valet was so handy.
All of the staff at this hotel are very friendly. Everyone makes an effort to say hello to you as you walk through.
The internet was free and the speed of it seemed fine to us.
We would definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    732
    183
    73
    28
See reviews for
716
380
52
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

A modern and clean hotel with staff that are warm, friendly and helpful. Easy walk to 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Pier and even Venice Beach; although getting there by hiring a bike from the many vendors on the beach is a fun way to go. We chose to eat breakfast and dinner in the hotel each day of our four day stay for the convenience in the first instance but also because of the quality of service and the meal. One evening the restaurant manager provided us with free dessert because our main meal was late. We hadn't complained and still argue our meal wasn't at all late; but he insisted the main meal was unacceptably delayed. On another evening, returning late from Disneyland, only the bar was open and the barman arranged an inroom meal delivered to the bar for our convenience (he could see we needed the drink!). Would head straight back to this hotel if staying in Santa Monica again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Doubletree is a beautiful, comfortable hotel. My only reason for other than full points is that it is slightly (a couple of blocks) outside the center of Santa Monica, although we easily walked to restaurants.
The lobby is modern and elegant. Breakfast was not free with our deal, but we enjoyed a cup of coffee from the lobby coffee counter, and stored oj and pastry from the grocery store in the refrigerator in our room.
Exercise room is very good, with multiple treadmills and also free weights, and opens onto a beautiful outdoor patio with nice relaxing areas around the pool and good view of Santa Monica bay.
The executive suite was fantastic, with a large round table and a large living area - great for entertaining guests; the exec suite also featured a really large bathroom with separate shower and tub. Regular suites were fine, with separate bedroom and a pullout sofa in the living area - a great deal for families or older kids.
Cleanliness, comfort, views, exercise room, pool, and lobby all excellent.

Room Tip: Executive suite on ocean side is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here on the last 2 nights of a 21 day driving vacation. Should have stayed longer. Hotel staff first class, valet parking staff first rate. Suites brilliant. Breakfast excellent choice and value. Warm chocolate cookies on check in (yummy) Cannot fault this establishment. Great location for exploring Santa Monica both ocean side and shopping mall.

Room Tip: Opt for room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Location is poor, wrong side of the freeway makes for a long, dull and weird walk to 3rd Street or the pier. The hotel is getting tired, with peeling paint and a few unusual smells (which might have been other guests attempting to cook ethnic cuisine) it's sadly a long way past it's best although the pool is nice and the staff are friendly and helpful. The bed was quite comfortable as well.

I'm sure one can do better in Santa Monica, but I'm not sure where.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

stayed here with kids. location could be better-a little closer to the beach and/or 3rd street promenade would be preferred. however, the service in the hotel was absolutely super. the warm welcome (usual cookies etc), always present valet, knowledgable concierge, etc. Breakfast was good too. large and clean rooms and adequate gym. the most notable aspect was the service which was flawless specially in the reception, concierge and breakfast room.though Doubletree's are fairly cookie cutter hotels they are differentiated by their service-as an example stayed at the one in San Diego which was no where near this in anything.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our Seattle family descended on Los Angeles for my nephew's USC graduation. Part of the family stayed in Santa Monica, in hopes of getting in some "Beach sun." Poor weather prevented tanning, but family did gather at our suite at times and it was a large enough to create our own bar, serve snacks and visit before going to dinner etc......The hotel is a short taxi ride to 3rd Street Promenade (or walking distance@ 5-6 blocks), to several wonderful restaraunts, walking distance to the beach, about a mile to the nearest Van's (Safeway in Seattle) which has a nice liquor and wine supply, and the hotel has great freeway access. I was proud to have guests in our room because we had a partial ocean view and a lovely gaze to the Pacific, lined in the distance with Palm Trees. One late afternoon we layed by the pool on thick blue-striped Beach Towels, comfy lounges and if time had allowed we would have joined others on the tread mill, which is located in a room next to the pool.
What I feel, was most notable about this hotel was its personalization and its service. The front desk called to "make sure" our request was fulfilled. We were always greeted by name. Parking was $26 (?) or so per day, but the valet service was quick and friendly. We tipped both the valet and maid but any and every request we had was more than fulfilled and remembered. I'd stay there again, without reservation (no pun intended).
What could have been improved upon was their lunch restaraunt. We gathered for lunch there one afternoon, there was a wait on the food, a slight wait on the drinks and, I had less expensive lunch bills in the fancier restaraunts, drinks included. Nevertheless, the food was good.

Room Tip: I booked through Magellan Luxury vacations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSbHGeneralManager, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Melandonde,
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the entire hotel team and also address the timeliness of your lunch service in our restaurant. I am pleased that our hotel met your family's needs and hope you will be able to return soon and enjoy more of our wonderful Santa Monica beach and sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#7 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.