We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross and boring” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Santa Monica to your Saves list
Days Inn Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3007 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gross and boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

People were okay but this place is ugly and just feels kinda dirty. Literally had a hole in the wall. THE INTERNET DOES NOT WORK AT ALL AT THIS PLACE.They didnt believe me when I called front desk .... they said it must be my computer. I stay at hotels all the time seriously its not me. The tub drain clogged up they sent someone up to "Fix" it. Yeah it was the same. They refused to change my room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    70
    42
    31
See reviews for
48
66
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My stay here was ok. Evverything was average for an average hotel. The only problem I had was with a worker at the front desk. I wouldn't even say it was a problem, but I never encountered anyone so rude. His name was Raschid and he wouldn't go out of his way for anyone. In all my years of traveling I never ran in to an employee as rude as him. I told him Dale Carnegie's course HOW TO MAKE FRIENDS AND INFLUENCE PEOPLE would be great for him..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Location is good with regular $1 bus ride -about three miles to the sea front. Also on same route you pass the city library with free internet. Hotel is grossly over priced . The free breakfast is very limited. I saw staff repacking slices of bread possibly to reuse the next day for breakfast toast. Reception staff are not friendly . Parking is free. We paid double what the hotel is worth. I suggest as Santa Monica is extortionate stay further inland and use the excellent and regular city buses.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I've stayed here a bunch of times, and I can put up with the not-very-good breakfast in return for the great location (convenient to the beach and Westwood, LAX, Santa Monica) and reasonable price.
Tonight though, being a bit stinky, I decided to take a nice hot shower, but it was not to be. The water temperature didn't get above about 88 or 89 degrees, I'd wager (I don't have a thermometer with me, but I have been swimming in heated pools since I was a tot, and this felt like about high eighties...). I called down to the front desk, and the night manager informed me that the owner had been up earlier to fix it and had, in fact, announced that it was fixed. I replied that there was a good possibility that this fix was not as good as might be hoped. We're booked here tomorrow night, so, I'll edit this review (if I can) or, write another then, updating with what happens.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was insanely expensive for the location and quality. I'm just annoyed that I paid nearly $200 for a crappy room with a terrible breakfast. I called before coming and was quoted a rate $20 LESS than I was charged (all before tax). It was ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
612 helpful votes 612 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

I didn't really like this place that much. It was probably very nice when it first opened in the 1980s, but it needs a facelift. The bed was OK, but the furniture in my room was starting to fall apart. There was a mini-fridge, but no iron or microwave oven in the room. For $109 a night, I would expect those things. Hallways are only in fair condition, and make the whole property seem a bit old and not maintained. The "workout facilities" consist of a few pieces of cardio equipment near the elevator landings on the 3rd and 4th floors, plus a few other weight machines on the 4th floor. You won't get a full-body workout here, but I guess it's better than nothing. There is a pay internet station in the lobby, and free wireless if you brought your laptop. Free parking in underground garage. It's a wood-frame building, so you can easily hear people walking in the room above. Price is too much for what this place is. It's really only a baby-step above a typical Motel 6. It's far from the beach, but you can walk to a few different restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Hotel is very outdated and in need of refurbishment. However, maids did keep room quite clean. Sheets were clean and beds comfortable. Shower worked well.
Not well sound proofed- could often hear conversations in other rooms.
Breakfast was ok- enough to fill us up for the morning. All served on plastic/paper cups and plates though so felt a bit like a youth hostel.
Overall, we were disappointed when we arrived but used to the hotel at the end of the visit. We were pleased to have not spent a lot of money on the hotel as we did not spend much time there. Ok as a cheap base to explore LA.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Santa Monica

Address: 3007 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90404
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.