We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location to visit beach and Hollywood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Santa Monica to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Croydon, Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ideal location to visit beach and Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Located on the Santa Monica boulevard about two miles from the beach and very easy to get into the main visitor attractions if Hollywood. This was a good base for getting around LA. plenty if parking. Rooms on 3 levels with elevators good sized rooms with safes in rooms. Breakfasts were good with a reasonable selection for the price. There was a pool which looked ok but didn't see anyone use it. No real criticisms of this hotel as a sight seeing base but more for holiday makers would not recommend for business customers quite noisy at times.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunseeker5112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sunseeker5112,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our property and everything we have to offer. We're looking forward to providing you the same pleasant experience on your next visit to Santa Monica.

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not knowing Santa Monica very well, I chose this hotel for my group of 11 because of the chain's reputation and the complimentary breakfast. This hotel is not near the pier, which was one of our destinations, but there was a city bus stop at the very next corner that took us where we wanted to go (and only $1 each way!). This hotel is a bit on the old side, with weak shower spray that switched between hot and cold, and the hallways were noisy, but the linens were very clean and comfortable, the bathroom amenities nice, and the staff was extraordinarily friendly. They watched over a package that was delivered for me earlier, and gave great information about the bus system. Check-in and check-out were a real breeze, even with five rooms. The breakfast room was a bit small, but there were tables outside in the narrow courtyard where we could dine. Breakfast was yogurt, fresh fruit, bread and muffins, hardboiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, cereal, juice, and hot beverages, enough to get a good start on the day. I thought the disposable tableware was a bit of a waste, but the staff kept the dining room stocked and clean. We didn't use the smallish pool, but the free Wi-Fi and parking were much appreciated. I thought the cost for one night was a bit high for the location and level of hotel, but other places nearby were more expensive. The helpfulness of the staff would have me stay there again. The staff earns an extra star.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard side, as it's usually quieter and away from the street and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sharon A,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give us a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear about your pleasant experience with the front desk staff. It is also great to hear our location worked well for your group and that the buses were convenient in getting you to the beach area.

The hotel is a bit on the older side, but we work very hard in keeping everything up to date. We have recently updated all our bathrooms and are in the process of replacing all mattresses and comforters.

Thank you again for your review and please give us a call on your next trip to our area!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinedale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Walked in to lobby, and a kind young lady (Jennifer -- a manager?) was helping some Australian tourists with transportation to Universal Studios. She went way above and beyond for these tourists. Very impressive service.

In my online reservation, I had requested a back room. Jennifer was very deliberate in accommodating that request for us. :) Hubby and I liked the room: we heard zero noise through the walls (on Labor Day weekend, no less), the room was clean, and everything worked.

Loved that the room had a small refrigerator! (....even though we couldn't find the temperature control, and the temp was not very cold.). Hey, it kept our food fairly cold so nothing went bad. Bathroom (our room was a single room with a king bed -- not a suite) was huge and clean, for the most part. (Found about 6 little black curly hairs on bathroom floor, but I just picked them up with tissue and threw away.). Liked the shower head and temp/water pressure controls! Beautiful granite countertop, and a mirror ran the full length of the long counter. Bathroom appeared to be newly renovated.

Comfy king bed with 4-5 fabulous down and/or feather pillows. Not the cheap-o foam pillows that are hard as a rock. This hotel provided the bed with a sheet topped by a blanket and the thin bedspread. In my travels, I've noticed some comparable hotels do NOT provide blankets, so I really liked that this location provided a blanket. I can tend to get cold with just a sheet and the typical thin bedspread.

Especially liked the wonderful hot breakfast and the pretty sitting areas in the courtyards -- green turf, brightly colored patio umbrellas, and potted plants/trees. Hubby and I had a leisurely breakfast sitting in this area. The pool area is extremely clean, the lobby is clean and tidy, and our underground parking space was well lit and appeared safe.

We walked a few blocks to a Thai place called Pot and Pan for dinner. Pretty good pad Thai and pad see ew. Great Thai iced tea! Other eateries are only 1-2 blocks (or more) away, and a CVS pharmacy is about one block away. Hubby and I walked back to hotel from dinner in the dark. Felt perfectly safe.

Overall, the four stars are for friendly service, great value, comfort, safety, location (near-ish the beach and eateries are close), and general cleanliness. I overlooked the few water stains on the green turf lining walkways, I overlooked the little hairs in bathroom, and I overlooked the plainness of the room decor as well as the teeny elevator whose buttons seemed slow to respond. All those seem minor in relation to the aforementioned factors I deem more important.

Hubby and I will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a back room near parking area -- away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgooze3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Never heard of a "family room" before and wish all hotels offered this at such an affordable price, especially in an expensive area like Santa Monica, CA! In one bedroom, we had 2 queens and a TV, and the combination living room/bedroom had a king and another TV. Think there may have been room for a rollaway had you needed one which we did not need, and there was also a fridge, microwave, and nice pool. Then you throw in free parking right outside your door and no street noise and wonderfully comfortable beds with nice decor and cleanliness. The free breakfast room had inside and outside dining tables. Eggs, Bacon, sweet breads and cereals of all kinds, yogurts, fresh fruit, all good, were some of the free breakfast choices. Close to Hollywood, Universal Studios, only 2 miles from beach, a $1 bus almost outside the door are examples of the great location. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Very quiet in back by parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear jeeje,

I am glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us and that you enjoyed our large family room. Thank you so much for your kind review, it is really appreciated. We're looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations next time you are in town!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this motel for 2 nights. We booked and received a suite with a king bed in one bedroom and one queen and pull out sofa in the living area. The room was very large with a kitchen, however truth be told, I found it rather "tired" looking. This is a pretty small property and to me did not seem to be a typical Comfort Inn Hotel. We did not use any of the facilities nor did we have any interactions with the staff. of note, there is a AAA right across the street from the hotel. I have to say that I probably would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PFlynn006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear PFlynn006,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize if you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are constantly working to improve our property, such as the new bedding we have begun to replace and will finish by the end of this year. Please come back and give us another try, because we are sure you will love the improvements we are making. Feel free to contact me directly at jen_comfortinn@yahoo.com if you need further assistance.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and chose it because it was one of the cheaper options in the Santa Monica area. It was about a 2 mile walk to the beach or $1 for a bus and $10 for a taxi. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
We were impressed with the breakfast and there was a nice pool with small seating area.
The only thing we weren't happy with was that when we booked our room via hotels.com it said it had a balcony but it turned out that the balcony wasn't part of the room but was actually the walkway between the hotel rooms!
I'd recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your great review. We're so happy we could provide a comfortable accommodation for you and your family.
I do apologize for the incorrect information given to you by hotels.com. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention because I will be looking into this so that future guests will not be misinformed. We do have "public balconies", but it is important for the guest to know they will not get personal balconies.
Thank you again and I invite you back again so we can provide you the same pleasant experience as this time around.

Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place was fine to stay in. Good pool. Very good breakfast for a motel - there were eggs and bacon!

Front of hotel rooms are uber noisy - beware. Definitely ask for rooms at the back (car park end).

Getting to Santa Monica central is very easy on bus route 1 for a dollar. There is literally about nowhere to eat round here so be prepared to travel a bit. We fell over a restaurant called Truxton about 8 blocks down on the right hand side - well worth the walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - Super noisy road at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our breakfast items and swimming pool. I do apologize for the street noise on the rooms close to the street. We always try our best to accommodate guests requests for quiet rooms, and I thank you for warning other guests about this possible noise if they should get a room near the front.
We look forward to having you stay with us next time you visit this area!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica
#30 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#21 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Address: 2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing