We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Santa Monica to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great staff, average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not knowing Santa Monica very well, I chose this hotel for my group of 11 because of the chain's reputation and the complimentary breakfast. This hotel is not near the pier, which was one of our destinations, but there was a city bus stop at the very next corner that took us where we wanted to go (and only $1 each way!). This hotel is a bit on the old side, with weak shower spray that switched between hot and cold, and the hallways were noisy, but the linens were very clean and comfortable, the bathroom amenities nice, and the staff was extraordinarily friendly. They watched over a package that was delivered for me earlier, and gave great information about the bus system. Check-in and check-out were a real breeze, even with five rooms. The breakfast room was a bit small, but there were tables outside in the narrow courtyard where we could dine. Breakfast was yogurt, fresh fruit, bread and muffins, hardboiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, cereal, juice, and hot beverages, enough to get a good start on the day. I thought the disposable tableware was a bit of a waste, but the staff kept the dining room stocked and clean. We didn't use the smallish pool, but the free Wi-Fi and parking were much appreciated. I thought the cost for one night was a bit high for the location and level of hotel, but other places nearby were more expensive. The helpfulness of the staff would have me stay there again. The staff earns an extra star.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard side, as it's usually quieter and away from the street and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sharon A,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give us a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear about your pleasant experience with the front desk staff. It is also great to hear our location worked well for your group and that the buses were convenient in getting you to the beach area.

The hotel is a bit on the older side, but we work very hard in keeping everything up to date. We have recently updated all our bathrooms and are in the process of replacing all mattresses and comforters.

Thank you again for your review and please give us a call on your next trip to our area!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    165
    63
    10
    19
See reviews for
115
98
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinedale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Walked in to lobby, and a kind young lady (Jennifer -- a manager?) was helping some Australian tourists with transportation to Universal Studios. She went way above and beyond for these tourists. Very impressive service.

In my online reservation, I had requested a back room. Jennifer was very deliberate in accommodating that request for us. :) Hubby and I liked the room: we heard zero noise through the walls (on Labor Day weekend, no less), the room was clean, and everything worked.

Loved that the room had a small refrigerator! (....even though we couldn't find the temperature control, and the temp was not very cold.). Hey, it kept our food fairly cold so nothing went bad. Bathroom (our room was a single room with a king bed -- not a suite) was huge and clean, for the most part. (Found about 6 little black curly hairs on bathroom floor, but I just picked them up with tissue and threw away.). Liked the shower head and temp/water pressure controls! Beautiful granite countertop, and a mirror ran the full length of the long counter. Bathroom appeared to be newly renovated.

Comfy king bed with 4-5 fabulous down and/or feather pillows. Not the cheap-o foam pillows that are hard as a rock. This hotel provided the bed with a sheet topped by a blanket and the thin bedspread. In my travels, I've noticed some comparable hotels do NOT provide blankets, so I really liked that this location provided a blanket. I can tend to get cold with just a sheet and the typical thin bedspread.

Especially liked the wonderful hot breakfast and the pretty sitting areas in the courtyards -- green turf, brightly colored patio umbrellas, and potted plants/trees. Hubby and I had a leisurely breakfast sitting in this area. The pool area is extremely clean, the lobby is clean and tidy, and our underground parking space was well lit and appeared safe.

We walked a few blocks to a Thai place called Pot and Pan for dinner. Pretty good pad Thai and pad see ew. Great Thai iced tea! Other eateries are only 1-2 blocks (or more) away, and a CVS pharmacy is about one block away. Hubby and I walked back to hotel from dinner in the dark. Felt perfectly safe.

Overall, the four stars are for friendly service, great value, comfort, safety, location (near-ish the beach and eateries are close), and general cleanliness. I overlooked the few water stains on the green turf lining walkways, I overlooked the little hairs in bathroom, and I overlooked the plainness of the room decor as well as the teeny elevator whose buttons seemed slow to respond. All those seem minor in relation to the aforementioned factors I deem more important.

Hubby and I will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a back room near parking area -- away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear lgooze3,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the wonderful review! We're so happy we could provide a comfortable and quiet room for you, as requested. All the staff works very hard to keep everything clean and comfortable, and it is nice to know it's not going unnoticed. We recently renovated all our guest bathrooms, so thank you very much for taking notice of this as well!

We also welcome any comments regarding things we can improve. It is important for guests to let us know, that way we can better our property for all future guests. I have taken note of these items you mentioned and will be sure to let the appropriate departments know about them.

Again, thank you so much and we welcome you back on your next trip to Santa Monica!

Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Never heard of a "family room" before and wish all hotels offered this at such an affordable price, especially in an expensive area like Santa Monica, CA! In one bedroom, we had 2 queens and a TV, and the combination living room/bedroom had a king and another TV. Think there may have been room for a rollaway had you needed one which we did not need, and there was also a fridge, microwave, and nice pool. Then you throw in free parking right outside your door and no street noise and wonderfully comfortable beds with nice decor and cleanliness. The free breakfast room had inside and outside dining tables. Eggs, Bacon, sweet breads and cereals of all kinds, yogurts, fresh fruit, all good, were some of the free breakfast choices. Close to Hollywood, Universal Studios, only 2 miles from beach, a $1 bus almost outside the door are examples of the great location. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Very quiet in back by parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear jeeje,

I am glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us and that you enjoyed our large family room. Thank you so much for your kind review, it is really appreciated. We're looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations next time you are in town!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this motel for 2 nights. We booked and received a suite with a king bed in one bedroom and one queen and pull out sofa in the living area. The room was very large with a kitchen, however truth be told, I found it rather "tired" looking. This is a pretty small property and to me did not seem to be a typical Comfort Inn Hotel. We did not use any of the facilities nor did we have any interactions with the staff. of note, there is a AAA right across the street from the hotel. I have to say that I probably would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear PFlynn006,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize if you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are constantly working to improve our property, such as the new bedding we have begun to replace and will finish by the end of this year. Please come back and give us another try, because we are sure you will love the improvements we are making. Feel free to contact me directly at jen_comfortinn@yahoo.com if you need further assistance.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and chose it because it was one of the cheaper options in the Santa Monica area. It was about a 2 mile walk to the beach or $1 for a bus and $10 for a taxi. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
We were impressed with the breakfast and there was a nice pool with small seating area.
The only thing we weren't happy with was that when we booked our room via hotels.com it said it had a balcony but it turned out that the balcony wasn't part of the room but was actually the walkway between the hotel rooms!
I'd recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your great review. We're so happy we could provide a comfortable accommodation for you and your family.
I do apologize for the incorrect information given to you by hotels.com. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention because I will be looking into this so that future guests will not be misinformed. We do have "public balconies", but it is important for the guest to know they will not get personal balconies.
Thank you again and I invite you back again so we can provide you the same pleasant experience as this time around.

Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place was fine to stay in. Good pool. Very good breakfast for a motel - there were eggs and bacon!

Front of hotel rooms are uber noisy - beware. Definitely ask for rooms at the back (car park end).

Getting to Santa Monica central is very easy on bus route 1 for a dollar. There is literally about nowhere to eat round here so be prepared to travel a bit. We fell over a restaurant called Truxton about 8 blocks down on the right hand side - well worth the walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - Super noisy road at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our breakfast items and swimming pool. I do apologize for the street noise on the rooms close to the street. We always try our best to accommodate guests requests for quiet rooms, and I thank you for warning other guests about this possible noise if they should get a room near the front.
We look forward to having you stay with us next time you visit this area!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Surprisingly pleasant hotel with updated bathroom. Room complete with fridge and microwave. Nice complementary breakfast. Very clean, and very friendly staff. The architecture is dated but it was a very pleasant hotel. We stopped on a whim and were pleased to be accommodated so readily.
We preferred this hotel over our upgraded pyramid suite at the Luxor in Vegas!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Janet,

We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. We recently updated all our bathrooms, and it is nice to know this update is appreciated by our guests. Our staff works very hard to keep the hotel clean and the breakfast fresh.
I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in this area.

Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Address: 2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.