We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Did the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the start of may with friends. We were overall impressed with everything and had no problems during our stay.
The rooms were spacious, clean and had everything that we needed..which was just a comfortable bed and a shower. There were no problems with noise (except maybe the air con unit) and although the rooms are slightly dated, for the price we were happy enough there.
The location is ok to get to most places by the pier in Santa Monica. You can walk in a short amount of time or catch the bus/taxi from right outside. The staff on reception were very helpful with any questions we had so I cant fault them there.
The pool was nice for a cool down on a hot day. There only ever seemed to be a few people in there at one time so cant complain at all.
There are a couple of places to eat and drink within walking distance if you dont feel like going further down the boulevard but there is obviously more choice down there.
Overall, the hotel did its job well and we had no problems! If you need a comfortable budget hotel in Santa Monica then i recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Scuba-Lip,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location. We strive to keep reasonable prices for the Santa Monica area and truly appreciate your honest feedback of our property and location. Please stay with us again on your next trip to Santa Monica!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    145
    60
    11
    16
See reviews for
99
82
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Only stayed for two nights, the hotel staff are very friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. Our room had the worlds biggest bathroom which was great.
It is around 2 miles to the Pier down Santa Monica Boulevard, however you can get a bus right outside the Motel which is only $1 and takes 5-10mins to the Pier. A taxi back at night is $8.
Breakfast is included and served in a small room at the end of the hotel, there is also a small clean swimming pool.
Overall a good friendly hotel, slightly dated but good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear serpico651,
We are so glad you enjoyed all of our complimentary amenities here at Comfort Inn. Our staff works hard to keep the hotel clean and to provide all guests with helpful information about the area. Please visit us again if you are ever in the area.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff were great at check in suggesting which beaches to go to, what to see, where to park, etc. breakfast was good and the whole place is very clean. We were lucky enough to get a very big corner room which gave us plenty of space. Main downsides are that the hotel is a little dated and it is a little further from the centre of santa Monica than ideal. But the price reflects this so good budget option for the area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jakkster67,

Thank you for the kind review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and your stay altogether. Our staff works hard to help out all guests with area information.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Los Angeles area!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Mississippi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked this hotel for my last night in LA after my business wrapped up. No, the hotel is not even close to the pier as the name suggests, but it's not that far by bus. I checked in and the clerk was very helpful in giving me pointers on how to get down to the beach. I requested and received a room on the top floor. The hotel is not new, but seems to be well kept and it was clean (as I've stated in other reviews, that means more to me than newness). The room was pretty small, but the bathroom area was quite roomy. Part of the room had been repainted recently, so the room smell like paint. It was a bit strong at first, but once aired out, it was fine. I didn't mind because I'm all for improvement.
I caught the bus down to the beach ($1 both ways as opposed to $12 to park the car down there). The bus stop was at the end of the block. I went to the pier and enjoyed the walk and the view. I ate at a nice cafe close the hotel called "Coogies Beach Cafe" (yeah I know the name is funny, but the food was great). I will do a review on it later.
Overall, this was a good hotel to crash in for my short stay in Santa Monica. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear jhg155,

Thank you for the exceptional review of our hotel. We always appreciate the feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you on your next trip to Santa Monica.

Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was more reasonably priced than the hotels on the beach. We had a larger wheelchair accessible room on the ground floor near the pool. There is plenty of kinds of food nearby and it's quite a walk to the waterside but driving closer is hardly an. Option if the traffic jam we saw of people queuing. To get near the pier was any typical indication. The counter staff were great and did everything we would have wanted. They arranged cabs ,were pleasant to chat and checked all was ok. Breakfast is included in a room near the pool basic standard I expect for this chain, scrambled eggs, salty skinless snags, cereals, juice, coffee, waffles.. Mine turned out fine.
Only concern was the air con was as loud as a jumbo jet.. Well it seemed that loud through the night. It's quite near a lot of hospitals which seemed tone a few people staying.

Room Tip: Ground floor was convenient we were not concerned about security in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Moriac,
I am so happy to hear the staff gave great service to you and your family. We really pride ourselves in customer service, so it is great to hear you felt so welcomed. It is also nice to hear you enjoyed your larger room near the pool.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to serve you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - found the grounds to be a little old but still, very clean & in a quiet location on Santa Monica Blvd. Staff at reception were extremely helpful, offering advise & organising transportation for us when needed. Would recommend this for a cheaper option as it is a 5 minute bus ride to the pier/3rd St however we enjoyed the daily commute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Bpxo,
Thank you for your honest opinion of our property. Our maintenance and housekeeping are constantly working on improving our grounds, and we do appreciate you noticing how clean everything is.
Our friendly staff takes pride in helping out guests whenever possible, so I’m glad you found them to be most helpful.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property, and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is at the junction between 26th street and Santa Monica boulevard which makes easy access for the beach (1st Street) and shopping (3rd Street) in Santa Monica. It took us about 25 mins to walk to the beach and only 5 mins on the bus (1$ each).

There's bars and places to eat in the near vicinity of the hotel but there's obviously more selection the closer you are to the beach and there's no issue with walking around at night or taking a bus (they run until just after midnight), I felt quite safe in the Santa Monica area.

The hotel: budget hotel but very clean and comfortable, large rooms with bath and shower, large mirrors, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, microwave, fridge and coffee machine, flat screen TV and free Wifi. Breakfast varied and to suit most tastes, can dine alfresco too. Staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating, we negotiated a 15 % discount on the rate and they then upgraded our room for no extra charge when we came to check in. Staff had plenty of helpful advice concerning cheapest way to get around and to/from the airport, plenty of information concerning sightseeing too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Nhfc,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear you found our hotel to be sufficient and the staff helpful. All the staff here works very hard to provide our guests with excellent service.
We look forward to having you back with us next time you visit Santa Monica.

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Address: 2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Santa Monica 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.