We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, close.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, close.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - found the grounds to be a little old but still, very clean & in a quiet location on Santa Monica Blvd. Staff at reception were extremely helpful, offering advise & organising transportation for us when needed. Would recommend this for a cheaper option as it is a 5 minute bus ride to the pier/3rd St however we enjoyed the daily commute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Bpxo,
Thank you for your honest opinion of our property. Our maintenance and housekeeping are constantly working on improving our grounds, and we do appreciate you noticing how clean everything is.
Our friendly staff takes pride in helping out guests whenever possible, so I’m glad you found them to be most helpful.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property, and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    156
    63
    10
    18
See reviews for
109
92
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is at the junction between 26th street and Santa Monica boulevard which makes easy access for the beach (1st Street) and shopping (3rd Street) in Santa Monica. It took us about 25 mins to walk to the beach and only 5 mins on the bus (1$ each).

There's bars and places to eat in the near vicinity of the hotel but there's obviously more selection the closer you are to the beach and there's no issue with walking around at night or taking a bus (they run until just after midnight), I felt quite safe in the Santa Monica area.

The hotel: budget hotel but very clean and comfortable, large rooms with bath and shower, large mirrors, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, microwave, fridge and coffee machine, flat screen TV and free Wifi. Breakfast varied and to suit most tastes, can dine alfresco too. Staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating, we negotiated a 15 % discount on the rate and they then upgraded our room for no extra charge when we came to check in. Staff had plenty of helpful advice concerning cheapest way to get around and to/from the airport, plenty of information concerning sightseeing too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Nhfc,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear you found our hotel to be sufficient and the staff helpful. All the staff here works very hard to provide our guests with excellent service.
We look forward to having you back with us next time you visit Santa Monica.

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ended up here because we had to move out of an awful Venice Beach "hotel." The staff at the Comfort Inn are warm and friendly. They put us in a very large suite with a separate bedroom. It was a great set up for a family with two kids. The bathroom is quite small - you have to shimmy around the door to get to get to the potty. This isn't a hotel to hang out in, but if you're traveling to Santa Monica or other beach towns, it is in a good location to get to everything. Perfect for sleeping - very quiet, and the included breakfast is a bonus when you've got hungry kids.

Room Tip: We were in room 720 - no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Debbie B,
Thank you for taking time to review our property. I am so glad you liked your large family room, but I do apologize for the small bathroom. I appreciate your comments on the warm and friendly staff, and I’ll be sure to let everyone know of your compliments.
Please come back and stay with us on your next trip to Santa Monica!
Kind regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in a double double with a sofa bed, and there was plenty of "living" space. Unfortunately, the bathroom was not as big, and it was a challenge sharing it with 5 people. The hot breakfast was consistent with what I've experienced at other Comfort Inns, but the dining area was tiny. The guests were all bumping into each other trying to get breakfast, and the hotel relies on outdoor tables to seat everyone. Not good if the weather's wet or chilly. Also, the tables are right outside the first floor rooms, so I have to imagine the guests in those rooms experienced a lot of noise. We could hear the alarms from the waffle makers in our room (which was right above the breakfast room). And it's not really "near" the pier, definitely have to drive down there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Kelly M,
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but disappointed to learn you were unsatisfied with the small breakfast area and location. Unfortunately, our property is very limited in space and we are forced to work with the area available; however, we will definitely take this into consideration in the future if another area becomes available. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will consider us if you return to the Santa Monica area in the future.
Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I searched around a lot because Santa Monica, and the entire L.A. area is not cheap when it comes to hotel rooms that you would want to stay in. I finally selected this location because it had the one thing that I strongly look for in hotels -- room with a King and a Queen, the ideal bed configuration for a family of 3. The cost was comparable to other hotels that I considered at $152 for the first night, then $170 for the next two nights going into the weekend. Parking is free, something worth factoring in as it is not in many other L.A. area locations.

The property was a bit old, but the room was clean. Tile in the bathroom had a few chips, but other than that it was very functional. The beds were pretty good -- not the best I have ever slept on, but far from the worst. I like a firm bed, and these were pretty good -- give them an 8 out of 10.

It is about 30 blocks from the Ocean but the area of town appeared to be OK. Nothing "scary" just apartments behind the property. Straight drive down Santa Monica Blvd to the beach and just a couple of blocks over to the Santa Monica Pier.

Room Tip: King and a Queen in the same room -- the most ideal configuration for a family of 3 traveling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MD101ofColo,
Thank you for taking the time to write an exceptional review about your stay. We are pleased to know that you find our location adequate to your needs. I will follow up with the necessary staff to make sure all room conditions are improved for future guests, and thank you for bringing these items to my attention.
Again, I want to thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you back at Comfort Inn the next time you visit Santa Monica area.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took my 35 year old niece for a 1 week dream trip to L.A. Hit all the major attractions including the Oscars. This hotel was perfect. Great breakfast to start off every busy day. Friendly staff and clean rooms. I'm a smoker so we had a smoking room on the second floor in the front of the hotel that had 2 windows that opened wide for contestant fresh air.
A tip about Tips: Having worked in a hotel I like to tell all travelers if you chose to tip your maid please do so by handing it to her/him. Tips left in rooms for staff often do not make it to the one it was intended for.
Would highly recommend this hotel especially for a smoker as hotel rooms for smokers are becoming extinct.

Room Tip: Smokers: Room on the second floor that has to windows that open wide for constant fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Debbie B,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay on your recent trip to L.A. We really pride ourselves in guest service and room cleanliness, so we truly appreciate your compliments!
I hope you will stay with us again soon when you are in the area. Thank you for your wonderful review!
Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Comfort Inn hotel was quite convenient to access the beach and the city, you can relax over lunch and watch the movie trailers down on the beach, if lucky you could see some action and also stroll on to coney Island, walking everywhere was just fantastic, although people in California never walk anywhere, so we looked odd, but I'm from Europe and that is what we do over here, Marina Del Ray is just a short distance away also the area is safe.

Room Tip: a room next to the restaurant is ideal, it is on a higher floor so it's much quieter and you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Giovanna186525,
Located just two miles from the Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade, Comfort Inn is indeed a great location and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Address: 2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Santa Monica 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.