We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Santa Monica to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in a double double with a sofa bed, and there was plenty of "living" space. Unfortunately, the bathroom was not as big, and it was a challenge sharing it with 5 people. The hot breakfast was consistent with what I've experienced at other Comfort Inns, but the dining area was tiny. The guests were all bumping into each other trying to get breakfast, and the hotel relies on outdoor tables to seat everyone. Not good if the weather's wet or chilly. Also, the tables are right outside the first floor rooms, so I have to imagine the guests in those rooms experienced a lot of noise. We could hear the alarms from the waffle makers in our room (which was right above the breakfast room). And it's not really "near" the pier, definitely have to drive down there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Kelly M,
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but disappointed to learn you were unsatisfied with the small breakfast area and location. Unfortunately, our property is very limited in space and we are forced to work with the area available; however, we will definitely take this into consideration in the future if another area becomes available. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will consider us if you return to the Santa Monica area in the future.
Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    171
    69
    11
    19
See reviews for
120
103
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I searched around a lot because Santa Monica, and the entire L.A. area is not cheap when it comes to hotel rooms that you would want to stay in. I finally selected this location because it had the one thing that I strongly look for in hotels -- room with a King and a Queen, the ideal bed configuration for a family of 3. The cost was comparable to other hotels that I considered at $152 for the first night, then $170 for the next two nights going into the weekend. Parking is free, something worth factoring in as it is not in many other L.A. area locations.

The property was a bit old, but the room was clean. Tile in the bathroom had a few chips, but other than that it was very functional. The beds were pretty good -- not the best I have ever slept on, but far from the worst. I like a firm bed, and these were pretty good -- give them an 8 out of 10.

It is about 30 blocks from the Ocean but the area of town appeared to be OK. Nothing "scary" just apartments behind the property. Straight drive down Santa Monica Blvd to the beach and just a couple of blocks over to the Santa Monica Pier.

Room Tip: King and a Queen in the same room -- the most ideal configuration for a family of 3 traveling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MD101ofColo,
Thank you for taking the time to write an exceptional review about your stay. We are pleased to know that you find our location adequate to your needs. I will follow up with the necessary staff to make sure all room conditions are improved for future guests, and thank you for bringing these items to my attention.
Again, I want to thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you back at Comfort Inn the next time you visit Santa Monica area.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took my 35 year old niece for a 1 week dream trip to L.A. Hit all the major attractions including the Oscars. This hotel was perfect. Great breakfast to start off every busy day. Friendly staff and clean rooms. I'm a smoker so we had a smoking room on the second floor in the front of the hotel that had 2 windows that opened wide for contestant fresh air.
A tip about Tips: Having worked in a hotel I like to tell all travelers if you chose to tip your maid please do so by handing it to her/him. Tips left in rooms for staff often do not make it to the one it was intended for.
Would highly recommend this hotel especially for a smoker as hotel rooms for smokers are becoming extinct.

Room Tip: Smokers: Room on the second floor that has to windows that open wide for constant fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Debbie B,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay on your recent trip to L.A. We really pride ourselves in guest service and room cleanliness, so we truly appreciate your compliments!
I hope you will stay with us again soon when you are in the area. Thank you for your wonderful review!
Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Comfort Inn hotel was quite convenient to access the beach and the city, you can relax over lunch and watch the movie trailers down on the beach, if lucky you could see some action and also stroll on to coney Island, walking everywhere was just fantastic, although people in California never walk anywhere, so we looked odd, but I'm from Europe and that is what we do over here, Marina Del Ray is just a short distance away also the area is safe.

Room Tip: a room next to the restaurant is ideal, it is on a higher floor so it's much quieter and you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Giovanna186525,
Located just two miles from the Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade, Comfort Inn is indeed a great location and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel for the location. Not within walking distance to the beach, but close enough - took about 5 minutes to drive and there is ample parking by the beach. We rented bikes and went to Venice Beach and checked out the entertainment then rode up through Santa Monica - nice easy ride. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has free parking! Staff is friendly and breakfast just enough to get you through the morning.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor - no noise from the street or folks coming in and out of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear PBpetlover,
It truly delights us to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us while in Santa Monica. It is our privilege to provide our guests with the very best in comforts, and we love to know you were able to appreciate our free parking and free hot breakfast buffet! Thank you for providing feedback of your stay with us at the Comfort Inn Santa Monica, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Would have given a five but it is still under renovation so some areas are not cleaned up yet.We took the advice of others and got a room at the back. Room 234 is at the very end of the walkway facing the parking lot. Very quiet. Staff was wonderful. A young man, who I think was there 24 hours a day, was so pleasant everytime we saw him. The kitchen attendant kept the place spotless and was always cheerful.The food was very good - waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal and other items. We were visiting a relative in nearby Westwood and this was a very easy location to travel to and from her home. Heavy traffic in the evening getting on I-405, but very clear after that interchange. It is a couple of miles to the pier, but that was not an issue. However parking downtown is very expensive. $2.00 for 15 minutes in lots. A little cheaper at meters.We ate at the Dragon Palace - recommended by the young man at the desk (I never got his name). It was very good. Right across the street with great service and great food. The one price special dinners were delicious.
Pool has a chair to assist disabled to enter it.

Room Tip: Room at the rear and end of the hall was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear NCBuckeye10,
Thank you for sharing details about your stay with us. We are glad that you found your accommodations to be so wonderful and seem to have enjoyed your stay overall. Your comments about the pleasant young man at the front desk are being shared with our staff and are much appreciated. I hope the renovations did not disrupt your stay at all, as we try our best to keep all noise and interruptions to a minimum. We thank you for your patience and understanding. I hope you return to our hotel if you’re ever in the area again, so you can experience the new bathroom renovations!
Best,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights because it was the best deal we could get for the quality ...but the Comfort Inn Near the Pier is a bit of a misleading misnomer....the hotel is actually around 26 blocks from the beach area....that said the room was good-sized & fine, linens clean & fresh & great sized bathroom. Good sized fridge. The staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was better than the average Choice Privileges hotels although the breakfast room was small there is a lovely little courtyard area outside to dine al fresco if you like.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear WishIWasSailing,
We appreciate your review of Comfort Inn Santa Monica! It is great to hear you found our staff to be helpful and the rooms clean. Our staff works very hard and takes pride in providing outstanding service to all hotel guests. I do apologize if our name was a bit misleading. We always try our best to explain that our hotel is located two miles from the Santa Monica Pier, and it is unfortunate that you were disappointed regarding this matter. We hope you found our location to be convenient and will return on your next trip to Santa Monica.

King regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Address: 2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.