We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I thought this room was a good value. I found the staff to be very helpful. It had everything we needed. It was a little further than we expected from the pier but was an easy drive. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
November 14, 2012

Dear Eileen_J555,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We strive in maintaining good value and excellent customer service. Our staff looks forward to serving you on your next visit to Santa Monica!

Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    139
    60
    9
    16
See reviews for
99
83
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great value for price and location. The staff was absolutely excellent, especially Guillermena in housekeeping who did a consistently excellent job. I spent 3 weeks there for work. There is an in-room safe, basic breakfast, free parking. Only one slow computer in lobby for guest access. Dated bed linens could use a replacement. Smoking rooms available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
November 14, 2012

Dear Irene C,

Many thanks for your wonderful compliments, especially about the housekeeper, Guillermina. We also appreciate your feedback on the bed linens, and are in the process of changing all linens to meet Choice’s new standards at the beginning of 2013.
Thank you for your extended stay, and please give us a call if you ever return to the area. We would love to have you as a guest in the future!

Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Moderately priced; comfortable, clean spacious rooms. Very nice atrium to sit in and enjoy the evening. Bus, taxi, or car to the beach is necessary unless you are in great shape for walking. Felt very safe, even at night. Staff was excellent. Front desk very helpful. Strongly recommend asking them to call their car service for extended trips, such as LAX or Universal Studios for a flat rate rather than tax. Breakfast is sufficient but very crowded area. We ended up just getting coffee there and walking to McD or for donuts. Several restaurants in easy walking distance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
November 14, 2012

Dear LAYoung,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your review. Our guests' satisfaction is our main priority, and I'm delighted that you had a positive stay. We take pride in our customer service and are very happy to hear it was helpful to you. Our hotel is in a very safe area, and the night staff does an excellent job in maintaining that safety for our guests.
We look forward to your return to Comfort Inn the next time you visit the area.

Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on the basis that it was cheap compared to the hotels on the front. It was a 3.5km walk to the Pier which we walked once to the pier and back, then caught a bus and taxis instead after that. It was very hot during the day and didn't feel all that safe to walk in the dark. There isn't much nearby for food choices either. The room itself was tidy and clean. Serviced daily. The air conditioning very loud and cuts in and out often. Breakfast included was the standard Comfort Inn of some hot eggs and sausages, waffles, pastries, fruit, yoghurt etc so that was good.
Would rather stay closer in or in the Venice Beach area next time to be nearer to shops and beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
November 14, 2012

Dear Celsiwelsi,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Although we are near the Pier, it is still two miles away. I’m happy to hear you utilized the taxi service and local buses, they are very convenient. Our area is very safe, but it is always wise to be extra cautious, especially after dark. As for food choices, we have quite a few picks within five minutes of our hotel. Although, the majority of restaurants are down at the Third Street Promenade, which is 25 city blocks away.
Please be assured that your comments about the room have been addressed. We strive in guest satisfaction and would love to have you back as a guest the next time you are in the area.

Regards,
Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Comfort Inn at 2815 Santa Monica Blvd was a good base of operations. It is not at or near the beach . It is however, a short bus ride or car ride to the Santa Monica pier. For my wife and I, the price was only $0.50 each for a bus ride to Ocean Blvd. This alleviated driving in traffic and $10 parking. At Ocean Blvd, you can visit the beach, people watch or dine in an infinite number of restaurants. Thrid Street Promenade offers dining and free street entertainment also. The Comfort Inn was a good location coming from Hwy 1 north. We took a tour of LA and the tour line picked up at this hotel which was also a reason for choosing this location. The hotel itself provided us with clean rooms and a hot breakfast. The lobby staff was very helpful providing information on freeway directions and assisting with bus stop information. In a hotel, I look for cleanliness and security at a reasonable price. The Comfort Inn at 2815 Santa Monica Blvd provided us with these requests while being a good location for the other reasons mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
November 14, 2012

Dear Tourist1948,

Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate the time you took leave such a great review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our services, because we take pride in giving excellent customer service and cleanliness, as well as hotel security and reasonably priced rooms.
We would love to have you back the next time you visit Santa Monica!

Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As part of our visit to LA decided we must send some time at the beach and see the end of route 66. This hotel was ideal for both, and an extra bonus was the shopping experience in the city. Something we would recommend

The hotel provided us with a great base and the standard of service was ideal from everyone. We arrived around 10.00 in the morning and a room was found for us to use so we could just go off to the beach.

Santa Monica was the first beach we had visited on the pacific coast and can say it lived up to our expectations , and all in California should be proud of what they have, it is certainly better than I have seen in other parts of the world we have visited

Room Tip: We were located on level two and it was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel room was very clean and roomy for single person. Location was not ideal if you wanted to be close to the beach. Too far to walk and without a car, it was a 20/25 min bus ride. Some trips were standing, as the bus is only $1 to beach. Public transport was good but timely. The ad I saw had "Near Santa Monica Pier" in the name. Be aware not so true. Continental breakfast good which was up to 10am which meant a sleep-in. I had a room on 2nd level overlooking the courtyard below. I did get a bit of noise from breakfast crowd below. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Only big issue I had was there was no room to store my luggage after checking out until 8pm at night. My bags were put in the corner of the foyer for all to see. The guy on reception said there would always be someone there to keep an eye on them. Not ideal, but I didn't have a choice.

Room Tip: No views to speak of so a ground floor room would have been just as good as a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCA430, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
November 14, 2012

Dear Jigsaw09,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate all the feedback and are so glad that you found our service sufficient. I apologize for not having a proper storage room for your luggage after checkout. Unfortunately, our office is very small and a storage room is not feasible.
Please be aware that we now offer a hot breakfast buffet, which includes sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, and a variety of other items. It is good to know that our extended hours for breakfast are appreciated.
Thanks again for visiting us, and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Jennifer Calderon
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Address: 2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Santa Monica 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.