We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop before Hawaii” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Save Saved
You added Huntley Santa Monica Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #11 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stop before Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Love the location! The Penthouse was amazing! Elevators were not working when we arrived & had to take service elevator. Room service needs some improvement. Concierge ladies were very helpful. Richard & his wife have a great car service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Lesley H,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the unexpected challenge with our guest elevators during your stay. I have shared your positive comments with our Concierge team and they were very touched. We look forward welcoming you back and our sincere appreciation Lesley for your business.
Aloha and until we meet again.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    209
    93
    47
    35
See reviews for
106
222
37
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My fiancee and I decided to stay at a local hotel this past weekend and so we checked in to the Huntley. The front desk couldn't have been more helpful. We had a very nice room with all the amenities including a DVD player, luxury bath supplies, and a view of the ocean. We walked to the nearby 3rd St Promenade (very close) and enjoyed the farmers market

. The hotel provided us with bike rentals and we did the beach bike path past Venice Beach. Movie theaters were walking distance. We loved sipping drinks at the Penthouse Bar with its incredible views. Service was very friendly and extremely accommodating all around. We had lunch (outstanding) and enjoyed the atmosphere of the Huntley. A lot of little touches were evident from the lobby to the rooms and I would definitely go back. Really a wonderful experience all around. And nice to avoid the traffic by staying "home"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Bob R,
Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that you had a most memorable stay. The Huntley Santa Monica Beach is ideally located in a quiet neighborhood, yet just a few steps away from the famous 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Pier and Beach. Welcome to our Huntley Family and we look forward to your return! With our sincere appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Was excited about coming to this hotel & although I loved the common areas, I was a little disappointed with the room. I found the bathroom was claustrophobic & the shower lacked water pressure. I asked for a beach view & received a view of the parking lot. Would have ranked it a little higher but for the price I paid I expected more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mark J,
The Huntley Santa Monica Beach is situated in the most ideal location and loved by our many return guests. We are pleased that you also found our location amazing. We hope you will give us another opportunity when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach. Please contact me personally so that I can ensure your room has a much better view as well as a spacious bathroom. We understand this would make a difference when deciding to stay with us again. With our sincere appreciation Mark for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was a lovely hotel with good attentive service. The location was good, whereby one could stroll down to the beach and have a wonderful Ocean Front walk for a whole day :), or go the opposite direction and explore lovely shops and restaurants in 3rd str. Promenade.
The room was clean and quiet, loved the provisions in the bathroom.
We did enjoy our dinners upstairs on the top floor but not for breakfasts. There was not a single dish during the dinners that failed the expectations of our taste-buds. Moreover, I would recommend to stay brave and go ahead with their chef's adventurous specials on the menu.
There was only one little "hiccup" during our stay - their elevators shut down during our stay, but the hotel team managed it quite well altering their staff elevators for guests and so on.

Room Tip: That's a no brainer - rooms on the top floors overlooking the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Vivacita,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We apologize for our guest elevator that was placed out of service due to unexpected repairs. When this happens, we understand the inconvenience it places on our valued guests.
We look forward welcoming you back and our sincere appreciation Vivacita for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our family stayed at the Huntley Hotel for 3 nights in October 2013. Had a room on the 15th floor with a wonderful view to the beach. The room was large with nice very comfortable beds. The bathroom is a little small but well equipped. The restaurant on the top floor is a must, great breakfast, wonderful view and friendly waiters. Elizabeth and Cary from the front desk have been extremly helpful booking restaurants for us. THANK YOU again ! We will definatelystay at the Huntleyagain on our next trip to LA ! Also the hotel is in a great neighbourhood with lots of good and fun restaurants.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Poilano,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We have shared your positive comments with our staff and please be assured that both Elizabeth and Carly have been recognized for service excellence.
We look forward to your return when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach!
With our sincere appreciation for your business,
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had a business meeting at the hotel in October. The rooms were comfortable, especially the beds. I had a suite with an ocean view and it was wonderful. The staff there were very friendly and helpful and the bar was awesome.
Catering/food was excellent and meeting facilities were nice but not awesome. Overall, I recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Great location!

Room Tip: Ocean view can be direct or off to the side. Still a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear basil409,
We appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay. Our staff understands the importance of providing our guests the service they expect and deserve. We also understand what is most important for our guest comfort, is the high quality/comfort of our beds and a excellent shower experience! We look forward to your return and our sincere appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wife and I (you already know she's fabulous) spent the weekend in Santa Monica as we live 45 minutes north in a "bedroom community". While we haven't stayed there previously, we had some great memories of dinners and/or drinks and dancing in The Penthouse so we wanted to check out the hotel as well.
We were lucky to have been upgraded to a suite with a view of the Pacific Ocean on a top floor (15th). I was a bit worried about noise from the restaurant and in fact, could hear it as we got out of the elevator but found it completely disappeared once you moved away from the elevator shaft. The room had nice amenities including an oversized tub with console for make-up outside of the bathroom with included a nice shower for two. The main feature of the room was how the TV (at least 60 inches) swiveled between the bed, tub and sitting areas. My wife keeps saying i should mention the "well designed living space"...whatever that means. I was also pleasantly surprised to see the prices in the mini fridge were very reasonable....$3.00/Pringles and $5/beer (yes, my staples). Unfortunately for my wife, we had game 6 of the Dodgers NLCS on Friday and on Saturday the Notre Dame vs. USC games so I was a bit distracted at times from the deep tub with a cold beer in my hand. But I'm getting off point.

Overall, great stay! The room was spotless and my wife was raving about the towels. We slept like babies and we were steps away from the countless restaurants, shops and beach. We had a fabulous meal at Tar and Roses and brunch at the hotel with a beautiful view of the ocean.

A highlight of the weekend was my wife and I heading up to The Penthouse at 1:00am on Friday and dancing like we used to years ago with a very nice crowd of locals and visitors...albeit a bit younger than us (late 40s).

Would recommend for those looking for an edgier alternative to other established hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear SKelley,
Thank you for staying with us and for your very positive review. We have shared your experience with our staff and it has been an honor to serve you. The Huntley Santa Monica Beach is truly situated in a most convenient location, walking distance from 3rd Street Promenade, restaurants and shops. The famous Santa Monica Pier and beach is also in walking distance. We look forward to your return when you wish to have another weekend get away! Our sincere appreciation Mr. and Mrs. Kelley for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Address: 1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntley Santa Monica Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.