We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Save Saved
You added Huntley Santa Monica Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed as part of a California road trip and thought we'd treat ourselves in LA. VEry glad we chose Santa Monica as a base and the Huntley was a good location for exploring. Only 10-15 minutes from the beach and in easy reach of lots of good restaurants and shopping.

Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

Room was a good size, bed very comfortable

Bar on the top floor was good fun altough be prepared for big parties there at the weekend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear benhoeksma,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We are pleased that our staff met your expectations. We look forward welcoming you again, when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica beach! With our deepest appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    229
    100
    50
    34
See reviews for
131
253
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located one block from the ocean and one from 3rd Street Promenade on a quiet street. Beautiful room and large renovated bath with walk in shower. Toiletries were spa-like, not the typical harsh hotel soaps. Room did not have a coffeemaker but they brought one when requested. Was surprised that the 2 coffee/filter packs were not sealed, just open packs laying on the tray. But happy to be able to make coffee in the room. Parking is pricey ($33) but that's LA! Staff, especially the valet, were friendly. Lobby has a funky decor and hallways are dark and drab but not an issue for us. Yes, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Kathi P,
We are pleased that you had a most wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we may continue to improve. Coffee Makers are provided to our guests upon request. We choose not to provide our valued guests with small standard packets of coffee, sugar and creamers. As you have experienced, we provide our guests with fresh coffee grains, sugar and fresh milk/cream. We have just upgraded our bathroom amenities once again, with fine Bugari amenities which our guests truly appreciate. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our outstanding Valet service. Please be advised that our overnight parking rate of $33.00 is the lowest rate of Santa Monica hotels and resorts. We look forward welcoming you again when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach! We sincerely appreciate your business Kathi, and we thank you for staying with us.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here in June for shooting a TV Comercial from Mexico City, and were treat very good specially from Elizabeth at front desk, we really felt like at home after work, great days. We were one week working and since first moment you really feel comfortable, Huntley staff were always helping us. We travelled with a Celebrity from México, she felt very comfortable at his room and was very happy.
We had never stayed in Santa Monica before and decided to stay there because it´s one street from the sea, Promenade, Santa Monica Pier, Venice beach and a lot of stores are very close walking distance, the neighbourhood is great. My clients felt very comfortable at the neighbourhood, they were walking everywhere. Other plus at the hotel was the 18th floor, we were there everynight having dinner and drinking great cocktails, bar is charming and has and excellent view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear RenneSotelo,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased that you had a very enjoyable stay. Thank you also for recognizing Elizabeth at the front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With our deepest appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Last month my wife and I stayed five nights at the Huntley in a king room on the 10th floor. We had never stayed in Santa Monica before and decided to stay there after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

It is one street back from the sea front (Ocean Avenue) and, as a consequence, is more moderately priced than those hotels which look directly onto the sea. Our room had a good view of the sea and was well appointed for the price. A short walk away is the Third Street Promenade (a quite pleasant shopping mall with shops and a few restaurants). The Santa Monica Pier is about a fifteen minute walk away - although don't bother paying it a visit unless you are into tacky tourist rubbish. The hotel is situated on a quiet tree lined street and there was no traffic noise.


Having read other reviews on Trip Advisor we were ready for the darker than usual reception area and did not find that a problem. The darker than usual theme is followed through into the hallways leading to our room but we were told that the hallways are being renovated and the dark theme is being replaced.

The other major plusses of the hotel (apart from the price and its location) was the 18th floor rooftop restaurant and bar and a particularly charming and helpful guest relations lady by the name of Elizabeth. Tip, you will have to ask where the guest relations is because there is no such thing as a sign where she and her colleagues are located.

Firstly, Elizabeth was not only helpful in answering questions and fixing any minor issues but also made a sensible suggestion of hiring some bikes from the hotel and riding a few kilometres along the beach bike track to Venice Beach. (It is a hard call which is more tacky - the Santa Monica Pier or the area around the foreshore of Venice Beach - but the bike ride experience was well worth it - even if some of the beach goers almost insisted on dicing with getting injured by walking along the bike path even though their walk path was clearly signed.)

Secondly, the 18th floor roof top restaurant and bar is a real bonus. The area has great views, north and south, towards the ocean and back towards the downtown area of Los Angeles. It is well worth paying a visit. The service is excellent.

I only have one negative to report about The Huntley and that is that they wanted to charge for Wi-Fi. In this day and age and given that it probably likes to regard itself as a four star hotel giving guests a high standard of accommodation and services - such a policy is almost insulting. We did not end up having to pay this charge (long story) but in our 5 weeks in the USA from staying at Washington DC, Boston, New York and Las Vegas - this was the only hotel which wanted to charge us.

Would we say here again ? - definitely and hopefully they would have changed their policy about charging for Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear PeterandAnne,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We appreciate your feedback so that we may continue to improve. We have shared your positive comments to our staff and to Elizabeth our Director of Guest Services. We look forward welcoming you back Peter and Anne. With our deepest appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here in June after being married in Vegas and were treat absolutely amazing especially from Elizabeth on concierge! She got us a booth table in the penthouse restaurant! Our room was upgraded to ocean view and when we arrived in it they had champagne on ice with chocolate strawberries! All staff unbelievably friendly and service second to none! We may not have seen any celebrities but we were certainly treat like one! Thank you staff at the Huntley and especially elizabeth for making our honeymoon unforgettable!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Donna C,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased that your stay was a memorable one. We have shared your nice comments with Elizabeth Wilson-Hoyles; Director of Guest Services and we thank you for taking the time to recognize our hard working staff. We look forward welcoming you again, when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach. We sincerely appreciate your business Donna.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We should have known something was up when the front desk gave us an ocean view room on the top floor. Didn't they know we had the special wedding group rate? Wow, we really scored-- what a great view? I can see the beach while I pee! We finally got the joke when we returned from the wedding at midnight, exhausted from dancing, only to discover that our room was directly under a dance club, which resulted in constant foot clomping right above our heads. I knew the hotel had a bar/lounge, but I was unaware that it was an actual club of some sort. I called the front desk and learned that this would continue until 1:30am. They offered to move us, but obviously by this point I was way too tired and undressed to be roaming the halls. When we checked out, they gave us 50% off the room, which is fine but what I really would have liked was some warning, and perhaps an option to take a non-dance club room.

Also, about an hour after we checked in- so about 4pm-- the maid used her key to let herself into our room. I had heard a tiny scratching noise that did not resemble knocking in any way. I called the front desk about that as well, and got a limp apology.

That said, the decor was nice, the view was great, and we enjoyed the restaurant. Great location, of course. But none of that means anything when the front desk fails to mention that there will be all night foot stomping.

Room Tip: Not the 17th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotel Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Stephanie72,
Thank you for your feedback so that we may improve. We sincerely apologize that you were not informed of noise which can be heard from our very top floor. We are pleased that overall, our service met your expectations. Please contact me personally, so that I can ensure your return visit is a perfect one. Thank you.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to this amazing hotel, the stellar service began. Parking attendants were very nice, check in was easy and fast. My husband and I were so pleased that 3rd street promenade was walking distance! There is so much to do, all within walking distance. Our room was very clean, beds were amazingly comfortable, shower had great water pressure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Marie B,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We have shared your positive feedback regarding our Valet Attendants and your Room Attendants that serviced our room. We thank you for acknowledging our hard working colleagues. We look forward welcoming you back again and deepest appreciation Marie B. for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Address: 1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntley Santa Monica Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.