We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, clean, just a few little irritants.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Save Saved
You added Cal Mar Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Best value, clean, just a few little irritants.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I visit S. Monica from UK most years ,mostly around this time and for a good few years past we have stayed here at Cal Mar. if you want glitzy splendour, luxury facilities, air conditioning, valet parking, "cool" furnishings....etc. etc. etc. then do not come here. If, however, you want spacious apartments (excluding rather small bathrooms!), comfortably furnished with good beds and well equipped kitchen facilities, kept very clean and staffed by helpful, friendly people including front desk, housekeeping, maintenance staff (several staff have been here for many years, although there has been a change of management this year) - and you'd like it just a couple of blocks from the ocean and one block to walk to Third Street Promenade, look no further, just come here.

Any downsides? Yes, although they don't detract much from our desire to return. Some rooms get noisy, walls are quite thin and recently installed hard floors mean if you aren't on the top floor you'll likely hear them creaking in the apartment above. No rooms can be reached without using steps, although help is always available to shift baggage if you need. The only irritant is that everything from (self) parking to wifi is charged as an extra, rather than being included in the advertised rates; Cal Mar people usually justify this by saying every other hotel nearby does the same, but we think that doesn't usually extend to the Cal Mar practice of posting room rates (for apartments which all have bed space for 2 or 4 people without counting use of the convertible sofa!) for ONE person and adding extra even for the second - this is really a step too far, we think, and time it was changed - adding $10 to the advertised rates would be more transparent, in line with general practice, and would still give the best value in Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Rooms backing onto alley off California get most early morning noise from garbage collection; rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    131
    46
    20
    18
See reviews for
108
77
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here on the 27 & 28th of October 2013 and loved this little gem. Don't be deceived by the initial check in desk, it hides the keys to the largest rooms I have stayed in. The all year round heated pool is actually hot and heated not just solar heated. The staff are friendly and welcoming, if your not one for huge flashy expensive hotels this is the perfect place for all, perfect rooms, perfect location, perfect price tag. Loved our stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hi we have stayed here 4 times now and it is great place to arrive at the start and finish of your USA holiday, the rooms are of good size staff fantastic and pool great. The location to restaurants, beach, bus stop, Venice beach, Santa Monica pier and the 3rd street promenade is fantastic. We have had no problems at all using this hotel each time we come in from Australia or when we are going home from LA , It is not a 5 star hotel but good for the price for thar area and room size.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Good location. That's it. You can hear when your neighbors walking in their room so loud as it was in yours! We woked up in the night from scare what somebody is in our room! But it was just neighbors overhead.
The hotel have own parking place, nobody said that it cost 20 $ per night! it is outrageous and impudently.
No breakfast for such a high price!
I would not stay again for this price. It is overpriced!

Room Tip: Ask about a room in second floor. So maybe you can not hear, when your neighbors are walking in thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a great 3 night stay in 2012, so when we were passing through again, we arranged for another stay - this time 4 nights. Once again it was a terrific stay.

Our daughter was a toddler this time, but the apartment was still great - and the pool was used with her every day. We were less flexible with going out to meet friends at restaurants for dinner this time (toddlers don't go down for night sleep in the buggy as easily as babies!), so it was great to be able to invite friends to the apartment for dinner. Kitchen pretty well kitted out, but had to buy a couple of utensils - though I didn't ask at reception whether that had any of the things I needed.

The area is great for non-drivers like us, with enjoyable walks up and down the coast with the buggy.

We stayed on the top floor, and I was fine with going up & down the stairs with the buggy, but others might prefer ground floor.

The bad - well the $10 wifi charge still strikes me as cheeky & overpriced - given it's free at many nearby shops, etc. Also, it was a mini heatwave when we arrived, and the apartment got pretty muggy at times. Still, better than being cold!

Anyway, we'll definitely stay here again the next time we're passing through between UK & NZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in Santa Monica in early September and enjoyed five nights at the Cal Mar.

Yes, the apartments are older but they are huge and very clean. We were on the second floor with two balconies and the only negative comment I have is that the apartment had a musty smell when left locked up for the day.

The pool and area surrounding it was lovely and the property offered a coin operated washing machine and dryer.

The location is excellent, a couple of blocks from the beach and a short walk to Third Street Promenade.

The staff are friendly without being 'in your face'.

I would definitely recommend the Cal Mar to family and friends and stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upstairs pool view room with two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a great week at the Cal Mar and would commend it to friends and family. Yes, the decor is a it dated but it is a small hotel with all units close to the pool which is great for kids. We found the fold out sofa bed a bit saggy so ended up putting the mattress on the floor. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is so much to do within walking distance. Plenty of shopping on the Third St Promenade and lots of restaurants, bars and cares close by too. Plus it is an easy walk to the beach and pier. Thanks for helping making our holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal Mar Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.