We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay, just as good as the first...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cal Mar Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd stay, just as good as the first...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a great 3 night stay in 2012, so when we were passing through again, we arranged for another stay - this time 4 nights. Once again it was a terrific stay.

Our daughter was a toddler this time, but the apartment was still great - and the pool was used with her every day. We were less flexible with going out to meet friends at restaurants for dinner this time (toddlers don't go down for night sleep in the buggy as easily as babies!), so it was great to be able to invite friends to the apartment for dinner. Kitchen pretty well kitted out, but had to buy a couple of utensils - though I didn't ask at reception whether that had any of the things I needed.

The area is great for non-drivers like us, with enjoyable walks up and down the coast with the buggy.

We stayed on the top floor, and I was fine with going up & down the stairs with the buggy, but others might prefer ground floor.

The bad - well the $10 wifi charge still strikes me as cheeky & overpriced - given it's free at many nearby shops, etc. Also, it was a mini heatwave when we arrived, and the apartment got pretty muggy at times. Still, better than being cold!

Anyway, we'll definitely stay here again the next time we're passing through between UK & NZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    55
    24
    20
See reviews for
124
92
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in Santa Monica in early September and enjoyed five nights at the Cal Mar.

Yes, the apartments are older but they are huge and very clean. We were on the second floor with two balconies and the only negative comment I have is that the apartment had a musty smell when left locked up for the day.

The pool and area surrounding it was lovely and the property offered a coin operated washing machine and dryer.

The location is excellent, a couple of blocks from the beach and a short walk to Third Street Promenade.

The staff are friendly without being 'in your face'.

I would definitely recommend the Cal Mar to family and friends and stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upstairs pool view room with two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a great week at the Cal Mar and would commend it to friends and family. Yes, the decor is a it dated but it is a small hotel with all units close to the pool which is great for kids. We found the fold out sofa bed a bit saggy so ended up putting the mattress on the floor. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is so much to do within walking distance. Plenty of shopping on the Third St Promenade and lots of restaurants, bars and cares close by too. Plus it is an easy walk to the beach and pier. Thanks for helping making our holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The suites are very spacious. The staff are lovely. The swimming pool is very nice. Location within minutes from beach or 3rd street.
BUT incredibly noisy street next to the bedroom, couldnt sleep past 4 am on both nights. When I decided to have a nap to catch up at 3 pm, it was impossible due to the noise coming from people walking in the suite upstairs. Bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Found this hidden gem in Santa Monica, close to the beach, Free WiFi and GREAT customer service!! When way above and beyond to help us and to assist in making our stay as easy and good as possible. From advice on trips to a medical situation. Very friendly!!

Room Tip: They are very helpful and will do what they can to accommodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

They are located close to the third street promenade which is the center of Santa Monica life. Outside the building doesn’t give a good impression being a bit old and not very well maintained, but inside it’s a different story, with good and spacious apartments and a pool for the guests. We booked an apartment with kitchen, well equipped with all basic furniture. Parking is available but at an additional rate. Staff has been delicious allowing us to have an early check-in in the morning and helping us for all the need we had. Maybe a bit expensive but the location definitively worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pros- location
Cons- paper thin walls on all sides, small "full" size beds; no toiletries: pillows, blankets, mattresses and towels from the 1950's (not the look of the 50's, but have had since the 50's), and unfriendly, cold receptionist.

After reading the reviews here, I could of swore we were at a different place. But it is all your frame of reference. If you are use to camping outdoors, then this is similiar or better. Frankly, I would rather not hear everything going on at the pool, the discussions at the carport outside, or the exact words of the conversation in the room next to me at 3:00 in the moring. I don't particularly like the smell of gas in my room, or hear the toilet running all night. It was no fun dragging our luggage around cramped lounge chairs around the pool, up the stairs, as this is the only way to get to your room. Not for me.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. All of the rooms surround the pool on the inside and the street on the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments they are very important to us.The Cal Mar Hotel Suites is not a 5 star hotel and if that what you expected.This hotel has a 1960's flair just 2 blocks to the beach. Our pool is heated. Our suites are like a 1 or 2 bedroom apartments with a full kitchens set up for extended stay which is different from other hotels. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Santa Monica
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#14 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose Hotel
The Ambrose Hotel
#18 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal Mar Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.