We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments in the downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Save Saved
You added Cal Mar Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice apartments in the downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

They are located close to the third street promenade which is the center of Santa Monica life. Outside the building doesn’t give a good impression being a bit old and not very well maintained, but inside it’s a different story, with good and spacious apartments and a pool for the guests. We booked an apartment with kitchen, well equipped with all basic furniture. Parking is available but at an additional rate. Staff has been delicious allowing us to have an early check-in in the morning and helping us for all the need we had. Maybe a bit expensive but the location definitively worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    133
    47
    20
    19
See reviews for
110
79
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pros- location
Cons- paper thin walls on all sides, small "full" size beds; no toiletries: pillows, blankets, mattresses and towels from the 1950's (not the look of the 50's, but have had since the 50's), and unfriendly, cold receptionist.

After reading the reviews here, I could of swore we were at a different place. But it is all your frame of reference. If you are use to camping outdoors, then this is similiar or better. Frankly, I would rather not hear everything going on at the pool, the discussions at the carport outside, or the exact words of the conversation in the room next to me at 3:00 in the moring. I don't particularly like the smell of gas in my room, or hear the toilet running all night. It was no fun dragging our luggage around cramped lounge chairs around the pool, up the stairs, as this is the only way to get to your room. Not for me.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. All of the rooms surround the pool on the inside and the street on the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments they are very important to us.The Cal Mar Hotel Suites is not a 5 star hotel and if that what you expected.This hotel has a 1960's flair just 2 blocks to the beach. Our pool is heated. Our suites are like a 1 or 2 bedroom apartments with a full kitchens set up for extended stay which is different from other hotels. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I love, love this place! We had room 204, which faced the pool. It was a spacious apartment. Dated decor, but I don't care about that, I care about cleanliness and about having room to move about. The staff was incredibly friendly. My brother came up from San Diego for the day and they were kind enough to let him park in one of their garages. The location is very convenient, just a short walk to the beach, the farmer's market, the Promenade, and the Promenade. But I felt like we were living in S.M. b/c it's a residential area. We're talking about returning and booking for a week next time, instead of just a few days. This place is one of Santa Monica's hidden gems.

Only complaint: when you are charging $$$ for a room, why don't you just throw in free Wi Fi? We refuse to pay for Wi Fi on principal, so made a few trips to local coffee houses with free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was built in the 50's and is located in a residential area but very close to 3rd Street Promenade (5 minutes walk), the beach (5 minutes) and the pier (15 minutes). The pool is heated, actually very warm, and our kids were happy with it. The room we had looked recently renovated, was comfortable but still basic. Eg there is no airco but fans in every room. The staff at the hotel was friendly. We noticed, like 4 years ago, that the hotel has a relatively high number of Dutch guests. Normally a good sign of value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments good and bad.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Diane and Holly couldn't be more hospitable, kind and helpful. All staff are helpful and pleasant. This is a place where the pressure is off. A boutique period hotel with spacious apartments, clean, comfortable and attractive. The large interior courtyard with pool has a beautiful garden. The area is safe and friendly, mostly residential.
Thank you to all at the Cal Mar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is nice.
It used to be appartments that got converted in hotel suites. Ok, it's from another era (read the 60's), but it's very well maintained and furnished.
Nice swimming pool, even if the ocean is just a couple of blocks away.
We were able to unwind a but.
Only drawback is that you have to pay extra for wifi, come on, we are in 2013, this is now like water or electricity!!!
For sure, when we'll be back in SM, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments good and bad.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Pluses: excellent location next to beech, pier and promenade, nice front desk staff. Negative: everything else. We made reservations unexpectedly for the same night. I saw a number of good reviews and decided to go for it. I saw pictures of old furnishings, but as we only needed to stay 2 days, i decided to go for it. I mean, a 250 $ hotel...how bad can it be. Well it was. I would have been ok with the furnishings, but the place was just not clean and safe. We were given room 202, which is actually 1st floor and faces a noisy street. The first thing we noticed are cob webs on the dirty windows. The 2nd thing we noticed that it was very stuffy and there is no air conditioner!The windows are too low next to the streets and it is just not safe to keep them open! In addition one of the windows had a big gap and could not be fully closed. I was with two teen girls and I just did not feel comfortable staying there. The hotel did offer to come up and try to fix the window, but I could not trust that it be done as it was 6pm. No other rooms were available. It took a few calls but was able to find a room, unfortunately at much more $, elsewhere. I do need to say that the hotel was nice enough to refund us when they saw how upset we were. This place can indeed be a hidden gem, but needs some basic cleanliness and fixing up first.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments they are very important to us.The Cal Mar Hotel Suites is not a 5 star hotel and if that what you expected.This hotel has a 1960's flair just 2 blocks to the beach. Our pool is heated. Our suites are like a 1 or 2 bedroom apartments with a full kitchens set up for extended stay which is different from other hotels. I don't understand if we are is bad as you say I would have drove on down the road and found another hotel instead of waiting till late the next night to check out.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal Mar Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.