We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Save Saved
You added Cal Mar Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was built in the 50's and is located in a residential area but very close to 3rd Street Promenade (5 minutes walk), the beach (5 minutes) and the pier (15 minutes). The pool is heated, actually very warm, and our kids were happy with it. The room we had looked recently renovated, was comfortable but still basic. Eg there is no airco but fans in every room. The staff at the hotel was friendly. We noticed, like 4 years ago, that the hotel has a relatively high number of Dutch guests. Normally a good sign of value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments good and bad.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    133
    46
    20
    19
See reviews for
110
78
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Diane and Holly couldn't be more hospitable, kind and helpful. All staff are helpful and pleasant. This is a place where the pressure is off. A boutique period hotel with spacious apartments, clean, comfortable and attractive. The large interior courtyard with pool has a beautiful garden. The area is safe and friendly, mostly residential.
Thank you to all at the Cal Mar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is nice.
It used to be appartments that got converted in hotel suites. Ok, it's from another era (read the 60's), but it's very well maintained and furnished.
Nice swimming pool, even if the ocean is just a couple of blocks away.
We were able to unwind a but.
Only drawback is that you have to pay extra for wifi, come on, we are in 2013, this is now like water or electricity!!!
For sure, when we'll be back in SM, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments good and bad.
This will help us give better service to our customers.We appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Pluses: excellent location next to beech, pier and promenade, nice front desk staff. Negative: everything else. We made reservations unexpectedly for the same night. I saw a number of good reviews and decided to go for it. I saw pictures of old furnishings, but as we only needed to stay 2 days, i decided to go for it. I mean, a 250 $ hotel...how bad can it be. Well it was. I would have been ok with the furnishings, but the place was just not clean and safe. We were given room 202, which is actually 1st floor and faces a noisy street. The first thing we noticed are cob webs on the dirty windows. The 2nd thing we noticed that it was very stuffy and there is no air conditioner!The windows are too low next to the streets and it is just not safe to keep them open! In addition one of the windows had a big gap and could not be fully closed. I was with two teen girls and I just did not feel comfortable staying there. The hotel did offer to come up and try to fix the window, but I could not trust that it be done as it was 6pm. No other rooms were available. It took a few calls but was able to find a room, unfortunately at much more $, elsewhere. I do need to say that the hotel was nice enough to refund us when they saw how upset we were. This place can indeed be a hidden gem, but needs some basic cleanliness and fixing up first.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments they are very important to us.The Cal Mar Hotel Suites is not a 5 star hotel and if that what you expected.This hotel has a 1960's flair just 2 blocks to the beach. Our pool is heated. Our suites are like a 1 or 2 bedroom apartments with a full kitchens set up for extended stay which is different from other hotels. I don't understand if we are is bad as you say I would have drove on down the road and found another hotel instead of waiting till late the next night to check out.
Robert Nicholas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice basic hotel. It was clean, the least expensive in Santa Monica, not a 5 start hotel, but serviceable, Small Bathroom, one person at a time. Pink tile remined me of a 50's diner, but added to the charm. Reminded be of the hotel Ralph Macchio stayed with his Mom in the Karate Kid. Rooms surrounding a pool, pink walls, nice gardens. Old but if you grew up in the 50's was actually kinda cool. Staff very friendly. Place was quiet, except 1 night when a soccer team was up late, but they were taken care of on subsequent nights.
Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Cal Mar was a pleasant hotel experience due to its friendly staff, location, space, and amenities. My 2-year-old and I joined my husband on his business trip, and this was the perfect family place. When we arrived, the reception gentleman was very friendly and explained the basics. I met reception staff members throughout the week and all were kind and helpful. One of the ladies even let me store the stroller near the reception area to avoid having to haul it up and down every day. Also, they were attentive and accommodating. For example, we noticed that the TV reception was poor the first day, and the maintenance man rang the doorbell (yes the suites have doorbells) within 10 minutes. He fixed the TV. Also, the cleaning staff is flexible with the schedule. This is especially convenient for my son's nap schedule. Second, the location was another factor in choosing this hotel, based on the other reviews. It is tucked away in a residential area, yet close to restaurants, shopping, beach, and Santa Monica Pier. The Montana Avenue boutiques and cafes are about a 10 to 15 minute walk. A tip if you have little ones: Take them to Christine Emerson Reed Park a few blocks down (California and 7th). The park is clean and the playground includes a sandbox play area with water. In addition, the hotel is within walking distance of Whole Foods. We were able to stock the kitchen for the week. We stayed in one of the one-bedroom, king size bed suite, which was equivalent to an apartment of approximately 800 sq ft. The suite is equipped with a kitchen that includes a gas stove, fridge, sink, and basic cooking and eating wares. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the bed was. There was ample closet space. The place was very clean too. We enjoyed the heated swimming pool with towels available poolside. We did not take advantage of the tours, but guests can book tours at the front desk. Some of the tours pick up at the hotel. We rented a car, but the hotel has a complimentary airport shuttle. Wi-fi is available for 9.95 per day and it worked fine. Guests can also look for hotspots throughout Santa Monica or go to the library. Google the city's website, which has a hotspot listing. There are laundry facilities at the hotel, but we did not use them. Lastly, the diversity of the guests was appealing. I heard languages spoken throughout the week. I cannot say enough about this hotel. My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. It is a clean, spacious, convenient, and inviting place - overall a great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
ThankYou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cal Mar Suites are well located in Santa Monica close to the beach and 3rd Street. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is abit old and perhaps needs an overhaul however the room was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable and the kitchen facilities were handy for preparing snacks or meals if you wish.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be arranged around the central courtyard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank You very much !The Cal Mar staff appreciate your business.
Robert Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal Mar Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.