We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Monica Oceanfront for Real People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Additional 10% OFF!
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Santa Monica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Santa Monica Oceanfront for Real People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've been booking and recommending this hotel for visiting family & friends for years, but this is the 1st chance I had to stay here. I'm a little reluctant to share what I consider to be outstanding on the ocean in Santa Monica, It's already hard to get an ocean view room over a weekend.

Casa del Mar is next door. Ocean view in that hotel will run you upwards of $1K a night. Depending on the season, $229/night for a nice (not luxe), clean, cute, comfortable room on the same beach is a deal, in my book.

If you're looking for room service, 5 start restaurants, and valets, go north to any of the big boys along Ocean Ave. If you're a local who'd like to enjoy the beach and Main Street restaurants and shopping for a weekend without taking out a 2nd mortgage, the Bayside won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Go ocean front if it's available. Ask for a kitchenette if you're really looking to save. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    142
    71
    44
    24
See reviews for
56
121
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Is seemed to be one of the cheaper options in Santa Monica but you don't sacrifice location. Right across from the beach and a 5 minute stroll to the pier, it was also only a 5 or so minute bike ride ( which the hotel let us use for free) to Venice beach. The rooms are lovely, great beds and the furnishings are modern and fresh. Had a great cheap mini bar too. Definitely value for money in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We wanted to stay in Santa Monica and this is one of the cheaper options, in a great location. The photographer who did their brochure shots was clearly very good, because the place was nothing like the photographs suggested. It's basically a 2-decker motel around a tiny little lawn. The rooms are basic, tired and not that clean. After walking barefoot on the tile floor for a few minutes my feet were black! The bathroom was also old and not especially clean. Even considering the location it was pretty disappointing for the money. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was close to the ocean, and had modern furnishings. It is within walking distance to the amusement park on the beach, to stores and restaurants. However, it was a bit noisy as people tend to party in the courtyard in the evenings, and so you get to sleep when they leave. In the morning there were beer bottles and cigarette butts everywhere in the courtyard from the party the night before. Wifi didn't connect and our king size bed was way too soft, and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel I could find in Santa Monica at short notice, in a convenient location. I had their last room. My cab fare from LAX was $57 and it took about 30 minutes. For self drive it is very easy to find from Interstate 10. Head south for one block on Ocean Avenue and where the road forks, go right and the hotel is on the left virtually unmarked. You'll just see a sign saying Reception. Drive past and then pull a U turn to get into the area in front of the hotel.

You are literally across a quiet street from the path down to the beach - and it is a fantastic beach. You are also only a couple of hundred yards from the Santa Monica pier and 15 minutes walk from Third Street Promenade and Santa Monica Place shopping area.

It is like a motel in that the room doors open to the outside. Nice when it is sunny. My room was compact, but it was clean and everything worked. There was a flat screen TV, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and aircon. There was also a desk to work at.

The three reception staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. There is loads of information to help tourists and I was given a very helpful map.

Room Tip: If I was on vacation I'd specify a beach view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely location. That being said the pictures in brochure and website make the rooms look much nicer than the reality. Poor quality linens and towels. And GROSS bathroom. Bright, almost neon pink and baby blue tile... the colors would be tolerable , but the dirt, mold and chipped caulking were off putting and grungy. I think for comparable $$ there are other places to stay in Santa Monica. Would forgo the location for a nicer room environment. Also $17 for parking. Street park, there are restrictions, but wake up at 7 and just move your car across the street and you would be fine. Just pay attention to the restricted times.

Room Tip: No recommendations, they paint a picture of amenities that are not what they appear to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had to stay here as we arrived in town late. $300 for on tiny room located on the bottom floor right next to car park. Wifi didn't work, bathroom wasn't too clean, staff were quiet unhelpful.
Th bed was really comfy, but that's about it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Address: 2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.