We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Bayside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Bayside offers average accommodations and a helpful staff. We were comfortable for our 3 nights, but the first room assignment was right next door to a room being renovated and the workers banged and sanded and vacuumed up until 630pm!!. In addition, our room, 112, was right next to where the maids got their supplies so there was lots of in and out of them and talking so we did not feel as private as we wanted.
When we complained the staff immendiately expressed their understanding and moved us to an upstairs room which was comfortable for the next 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    182
    83
    47
    25
See reviews for
65
150
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tucked away in a perfect spot near the beach. Our room features two big comfy beds, a nice bathroom, and a full kitchen. Even comes with extra necessities in the closet. Exceeded my expectations. Be prepared for tricky parking though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryne, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made a reservation for a room with kitchen 50 days prior to our stay at the hotel website. When we arrived 1st July the reception wasn't fantastic but after a lotof waiting and no excuses we were able to check in. When we entered our room we realised we hadn't got the room we had booked. Down in the reception again asking why we didn't get the room we had reserved and no explanation on check in theyblamed it on us and how we had booked the room. After some discussion we were told that we could get the room rthe next day and that they now had reduced our price for the first night (marginally). No excuses and no explanation. It seemed like we were the ones to blame. We left and booked in at a nearby hotel. Much nicer, better service, better location, nicer rooms and marginally more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cheaper motels were better than this hotel.
Parking was tricky no space to manouver.
Reception service could be improved.
Bathroom in need of modernisation.
No breakfast for the price.
Location good for beach.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel has very little parking. The location is good but you are not on the beach. Expensive for what it is. The costumer service is very bad. They were not very helpful at all. When I got home my credit card got charged $6.00 for some drinks I didn't have. I emailed them regarding this matter and they could not care less. I stayed in several other places in Santa Monica which were much better value for money. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sorry I disagree strongly with the "reasonably priced" reviews. Yes it is within walking distance of the beach but it is only a small step above a Super 8 in my opinion. But what really gets me steamed is that there really isn't any parking. If you are one of the first lucky few you may get a very tight spot in the tiny parking lot - at an additional fee. If you arrive later you are told you can park overnight free at one of the meters on the street. Since it is near the beach, the meters are almost always taken and you have to be prepared to move your car at 9am anyway. We are currently parked a good way from the hotel on a street spot we hope will be ok overnight. And we must get up and move it somewhere (where?) by 9am. For this price I expect a parking spot somewhere near the hotel. You are much better off getting a cheaper hotel further out and driving to one of the many daytime only parking lots near the beach. Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is very good for the price, directly across from the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Also close to public transport. I was able to leave my bags when I got in and they made up my room for early check inn. They booked a tour for me, and assisted with getting busses into LA. The two men who I spoke to couldn't have been more helpful. There was a nice little garden outside my room with deck chairs.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#14 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#26 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Address: 2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.