We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tucked away in a perfect spot near the beach. Our room features two big comfy beds, a nice bathroom, and a full kitchen. Even comes with extra necessities in the closet. Exceeded my expectations. Be prepared for tricky parking though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    145
    76
    45
    25
See reviews for
50
116
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryne, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made a reservation for a room with kitchen 50 days prior to our stay at the hotel website. When we arrived 1st July the reception wasn't fantastic but after a lotof waiting and no excuses we were able to check in. When we entered our room we realised we hadn't got the room we had booked. Down in the reception again asking why we didn't get the room we had reserved and no explanation on check in theyblamed it on us and how we had booked the room. After some discussion we were told that we could get the room rthe next day and that they now had reduced our price for the first night (marginally). No excuses and no explanation. It seemed like we were the ones to blame. We left and booked in at a nearby hotel. Much nicer, better service, better location, nicer rooms and marginally more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cheaper motels were better than this hotel.
Parking was tricky no space to manouver.
Reception service could be improved.
Bathroom in need of modernisation.
No breakfast for the price.
Location good for beach.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel has very little parking. The location is good but you are not on the beach. Expensive for what it is. The costumer service is very bad. They were not very helpful at all. When I got home my credit card got charged $6.00 for some drinks I didn't have. I emailed them regarding this matter and they could not care less. I stayed in several other places in Santa Monica which were much better value for money. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sorry I disagree strongly with the "reasonably priced" reviews. Yes it is within walking distance of the beach but it is only a small step above a Super 8 in my opinion. But what really gets me steamed is that there really isn't any parking. If you are one of the first lucky few you may get a very tight spot in the tiny parking lot - at an additional fee. If you arrive later you are told you can park overnight free at one of the meters on the street. Since it is near the beach, the meters are almost always taken and you have to be prepared to move your car at 9am anyway. We are currently parked a good way from the hotel on a street spot we hope will be ok overnight. And we must get up and move it somewhere (where?) by 9am. For this price I expect a parking spot somewhere near the hotel. You are much better off getting a cheaper hotel further out and driving to one of the many daytime only parking lots near the beach. Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is very good for the price, directly across from the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Also close to public transport. I was able to leave my bags when I got in and they made up my room for early check inn. They booked a tour for me, and assisted with getting busses into LA. The two men who I spoke to couldn't have been more helpful. There was a nice little garden outside my room with deck chairs.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The rooms are large, clean, modern and airy at this motel in Santa Monica. The king beds are firm and the bathroom is large with a great shower. The location is excellent too, although don't be fooled by the title. This is not on the beach. There are three roads, lines of car meters and a car park between the astro-turfed patios and the beach. It is about five minutes walk to Santa Monica's pier and it is a perfect, relaxing place to stay for exploring LA. fifteen minute drive to universal, the same to Beverley Hills and a twenty minute walk to Santa Monica's lovely and lively Main Street. There is limited parking so try to check in early or you will be circling the streets, avoiding road-cleaning periods and paying a fortune for parking at the meters.

Downsides to this hotel are the very thin walls to the extent that I could hear the father next door telling his kids off and the tv into the small hours even with the bathroom door closed. Also the service was poor and unhelpful. The receptionist was surly and clearly couldn't care less about our parking predicament. Another example of a hotel thinking that they don't have to make an effort because they are located in a prime spot. Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Address: 2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of our new model rooms, Bayside will be renovating on a room by room basis until June 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.