We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayside Hotel -unnexpected stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Bayside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Phoenixville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bayside Hotel -unnexpected stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were on our way home from New Zealand and due to the Sandy Storm in the East coast...we were delayed for 3 days. Bayside Hotel was recommended to us and it was worth the stop! Great location and friendly team.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    153
    75
    45
    24
See reviews for
57
127
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was surprised to find this little hotel so well-appointed (little details like a bottle opener in the closet area) and clean. With the location (proximity to beach) and price, I was expecting less, but this place is very clean. The one thing to note is that the walls are very thin, so bring earplugs. Luckily no noises disturbed my sleep, but I could definitely hear people if they were in the vicinity. Street noise is minimal, though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Bayside in October 2012 and we had the most beautiful, well equipped room. I normally tend to go for more upmarket properties so my husband was surprised when we checked in to the 'motel like reception'. However once in our room he too loved it. The room was quite large, had the most comfortable bed, which was a king size. I just melted into the bedding. All the amenities were there, fully stocked mini bar with a well stocked snacks basket too. A safe and coffee machine too. The bathroom was clean and white and bright with toiletries and hair dryer provided. The hotel is obviously older however the renovations and paint work turned our room into a lovely relazing haven. AND the value for money for the location is unbeatable. Other properties this close to the water would charge double.
Everything is within walking distance, such as the Santa Monica Pier and the shopping precinct. Thoroughly recommended from this ex travel consultant

Room Tip: Rooms out front look like they have kitchen facilities, if this is of interest. Our room was ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

For location this place can't be beaten at the price, this is Santa Monica and accomodation doesnt come cheap but the Bayside is a delightful place with great location - shops beach pier and the 3rd street precinct (be there on a Sunday) all within 10 minutes walk. The hotel itself has a light and airy feel and offers bikes etc for hire as well as providing beach towels etc which was a very nice touch. There is a n amenity shop at reception for all those thjings you run out of while travelling and the staff were cheerful welcominga nd friendly. The room itself was sptlessly clean and tidy with a comfortable bed and ceiling fan plus in room safe. The only negative was a slightly dilapidated but clean kitchenette but that's about the only negative aspect of the place, other than that it was a delightful place to stay and one I'd have no hesitation in staying at again..

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room offered a very relaxed atmosphere of a late evening with the lights they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked this hotel after doing a lot of research as we wanted it to be right at the right price for one of our honeymoon hotels. We had a great stay and the staff could not have been more helpful they looked after all of our luggage when we arrived before check in time and again when we stayed way past the check out time. The hotel is in a great location only a five minute walk from the pier. We would most def return to bayside !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the bay front a few weeks ago. Room was fine they have obviously tried to refurbish in recent years and spent some time in ikea, both the bathroom and small kitchen were dated and could do with refurbishment, but the place was spotless.
The hotel is set back a block from the beach behind a parking area (so its not a great view but a sea view nine the less) the hotel is about a 15 mins walk from the pier along the beach promenade and about a further 10-15 mins from the pier to the main 3rd street commercial area. We walked back late at night and whilst there are a lot of people sleeping rough on the beach we didn't feel uncomfortable or threatened. There are also a few bars and cafes two blocks behind in main street which are worth checking out for breakfast. Only slight negative was we found the reception staff to be a little on the grumpy side , they were no way rude or unhelpful it just wasn't what you'd call a warm sunny ca welcome, crack a smile guys it won't kill ya

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Santa Monica is a very expensive area to stay in. I've previously stayed at the Shangri La, which is a nice hotel with a perfect poolarea, but that doesn't match it's pricetag. This time I thought it'd be better to find a cheaper place that had the right location. And, Bayside is perfectly situated right off the beach and very close to both Mainstreet and 3rd street promande. The location is quiet, but we didn't see any homeless people or such around the premises. The beds are super comfortable.

It is outdated when it comes to decor. There's a bit of wear and tear and some painting would need to be done.. The bathrooms look old, but are kept clean. The parking in the back is perfect and the service is great.

All in all. Looking for a great location at a decent price? This is it. Look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Address: 2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.