We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Additional 10% OFF!
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Acton Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Value in Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

For location this place can't be beaten at the price, this is Santa Monica and accomodation doesnt come cheap but the Bayside is a delightful place with great location - shops beach pier and the 3rd street precinct (be there on a Sunday) all within 10 minutes walk. The hotel itself has a light and airy feel and offers bikes etc for hire as well as providing beach towels etc which was a very nice touch. There is a n amenity shop at reception for all those thjings you run out of while travelling and the staff were cheerful welcominga nd friendly. The room itself was sptlessly clean and tidy with a comfortable bed and ceiling fan plus in room safe. The only negative was a slightly dilapidated but clean kitchenette but that's about the only negative aspect of the place, other than that it was a delightful place to stay and one I'd have no hesitation in staying at again..

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room offered a very relaxed atmosphere of a late evening with the lights they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    146
    76
    45
    25
See reviews for
50
117
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked this hotel after doing a lot of research as we wanted it to be right at the right price for one of our honeymoon hotels. We had a great stay and the staff could not have been more helpful they looked after all of our luggage when we arrived before check in time and again when we stayed way past the check out time. The hotel is in a great location only a five minute walk from the pier. We would most def return to bayside !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the bay front a few weeks ago. Room was fine they have obviously tried to refurbish in recent years and spent some time in ikea, both the bathroom and small kitchen were dated and could do with refurbishment, but the place was spotless.
The hotel is set back a block from the beach behind a parking area (so its not a great view but a sea view nine the less) the hotel is about a 15 mins walk from the pier along the beach promenade and about a further 10-15 mins from the pier to the main 3rd street commercial area. We walked back late at night and whilst there are a lot of people sleeping rough on the beach we didn't feel uncomfortable or threatened. There are also a few bars and cafes two blocks behind in main street which are worth checking out for breakfast. Only slight negative was we found the reception staff to be a little on the grumpy side , they were no way rude or unhelpful it just wasn't what you'd call a warm sunny ca welcome, crack a smile guys it won't kill ya

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Santa Monica is a very expensive area to stay in. I've previously stayed at the Shangri La, which is a nice hotel with a perfect poolarea, but that doesn't match it's pricetag. This time I thought it'd be better to find a cheaper place that had the right location. And, Bayside is perfectly situated right off the beach and very close to both Mainstreet and 3rd street promande. The location is quiet, but we didn't see any homeless people or such around the premises. The beds are super comfortable.

It is outdated when it comes to decor. There's a bit of wear and tear and some painting would need to be done.. The bathrooms look old, but are kept clean. The parking in the back is perfect and the service is great.

All in all. Looking for a great location at a decent price? This is it. Look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klopstokia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Shopped around, found Bayside best value. Quiet, comfortable, safe neighborhood, helpful staff. Renovated 60's motel with 'beachy' feel. Beach basket with towels is a nice touch. Bikes & boogie boards for rent onsite, SM pier nearby. 1 block off beach & surf. Venice Beach, muscle beach, court sports, beach cafes & shops a 5 minute bike ride - 10 minute walk. Downtown SM a 10 minute walk. Will return in a flash.

Room Tip: Small but quiet courtyard, front units have semi-private patio & small kitchenette. Great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Bayside is a fabulous place to stay if you want to be close to everything in Santa Monica . It is just across the road from the beach, and a 5-10 Min walk to the Pier and about 20 minutes to 3rd street. The rooms are simple and comfortable. I love the little touches that the hotel offers things like beach towels in a beach bag and a docking station.
We had a sea view room on the 1st floor, with a large comfortable bed, a little kitchen and bathroom with bath and shower.the room we had was supplied with table and chairs on the balcony/corridor with excellent views of the beach - which we sat at in the evening and had a few drinks watching the sun go down and people watching, fabulous!. Would definitely recommend staying here, it's still expensive for what it is but it's probably the best value in Santa Monica, you'd be paying a lot more at worse places!
Overall this is a small, clean and friendly hotel in a great location. If you are looking for a big, flashy hotel where everything is immaculate then this probably isn't the place for you. However, if you are after somewhere centrally located on the beach with a friendly feel to it then I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and and another couple in mid September and absolutely loved it. We had a sea view room which was clean and spacious. There was an air conditioning unit which cooled the room down really quickly and the bathroom had both a bath and shower in it. A bonus for us was the fridge stocked with reasonably priced drinks and a basket of snacks (chocolate, biscuits, nuts). I loved the decor in the room and the bed was lovely and comfy.

Our room was on the first floor with a fantastic view of the beach and there was a table and chairs on the balcony/walkway outside the room which we sat at each evening with a few drinks and watched the world go by. I honestly don't think the photos on here do this hotel justice...they are a fair representation but they don't capture the cosy and comfortable atmosphere and the friendliness of the place.

The beach is literally across the road and the hotel provide towels for you to use which is another nice touch. The pier is a ten minute walk away and the main shopping areas are slightly further. We found a lovely place for breakfast called M Street Kitchen a few streets behind the hotel and also a great liquor store (on Main Street) where we stocked up on drinks to have on the balcony each evening.

The hotel is small but cosy and the manager was friendly and helpful. They sold all the basic things you might need at reception like toothpaste, deodorant, razors and the rooms themselves have an iron and ironing board and hair-dryer. The manager will also go out of his way to help and advise you should you need anything during your stay.

To summarise this is a small, clean and friendly hotel in a great location. If you are looking for a big, flashy hotel where everything is immaculate then this probably isn't the place for you. However, if you are after somewhere centrally located on the beach with a friendly feel to it then I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room on the first floor so that you can enjoy the view and don't have any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Address: 2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.