We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Bayside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good price in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed in Santa Monica for a few days. I was alone so I was looking for a decent price. Luckily I found the Bayside Hotel. This is not a 5 star hotel but it has nice accomadations for a good price. You can see the beach from the front and you are near premium hotels like Casa Del Mar, Shutters and the Viceroy. You are also walking distance to Main St. The staff is very helpful and parking wasn't too bad, granted it was the winter season. I would recommend staying here if your looking for a good hotel without many frills.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    170
    78
    45
    25
See reviews for
61
140
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The good: This hotel has a great location, close to the beach. Some of the rooms actually have a view of the beach. It is a 10 minute walk to the Santa Monica Pier and a 15 minute walk to Venice Beach. The people at the front desk were always available, helpful, and courteous. Our room (#107) was clean. The beds were very comfy with plenty of pillows and we had a large flat screen TV. Our shower was updated, free of mold, and had plenty of hot water. There is assigned parking on-site.

The bad: Our room was in need of some updating. The walls/floors are a tad thin. It could present an issue if the neighbors get rowdy. A major thoroughfare is a street away. There was some street noise but not terrible. There is a fee for on-site parking ($12/day).

I would have given this hotel 2 stars had it not been for the beds and shower. 3 stars means it met my expectations. (Note: I stay a lot at Comfort Inns so this is my comparison standard). I think it's a bit overpriced value-wise. Advice: swallow hard, pay extra to be on the beach and not have to worry about parking, stay on the top floor, bring earplugs, spend lots of time out and about. Don't eat at the restaurant at the ocean end of SM Pier. Do eat at Cha-Cha Chicken a block away from the hotel. Great Caribbean fare.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Excellent service, accomodating, clean and retro chic! Fantastic location at gorgeous beach close to great restaurants! Staff gave us a great rate and late check out! You won't be disappointed in this 5 star gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBargas, General Manager at Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest : I'm pleased to read that you picked the Bayside for your recent stay in Santa Monica and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the nice comments about the staff. We look forward to having you back soon in the near future.

Thank you,

Robert Bargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL VALLEY CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stay here to visit family in Santa Monica. The rooms are extremely clean and I live the ocean view rooms. You can walk to the pier easily. Within walking distance of both 3rd street and Venice although they also rent bikes. Management is very nice and helpful

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBargas, General Manager at Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Dear Guest - thank you for visiting Santa Monica and staying with us at Bayside. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the ocean view room and the great area around the hotel. We look forward to having you return in the near future, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to assist with arrangements when you are ready to return.
Happy New Year
Robert Bargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I'm been several years ago in tour from San Francisco..with my wife !! we've spend three days here just to go in the beach a couple of days before to fly again in Italy. we've found this place as was end of August, durign the weekend and all the hotels in Sm was full !!
so the last oportunity was this place for 100 usd per night !!! the room was the ground level, in the small calle street in front of the near hotel very high !!! the man show us another room and after give me the key of another one !!! So we've discovered that was dirthy ,we've claim but he have not change us the room !!! So we accept to stay two night here. the problem here was the people of the room in the first floor, drinking and making noise all the night !! young people students... to anything served our complaints to the night front desk man, because sleeping !! i remember that the tissue chair in the room was so dirthy that we've never used !! the beds was not confortable we've just sleep for two nights and go away.. great the private parking on the back of the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I was staying one night in Santa Monica at the start of a week-long business trip so I wanted somewhere very close to the beach, but also within easy reach of the shops and restaurants on 3rd street and not too expensive. A search brought me to The Bayside Hotel - and it worked out extremely well.
It's another of the, seemingly popular, 'boutique motels' but it works well. Service on check-in was great and I was 'upgraded' from a courtyard-view to an ocean-view room. Nice.
The room was very good - spacious, light and clean. I (unexpectedly) had a kitchen/diner as well as the bedroom so it was more like a mini-suite. The bathroom was clean and pleasant too and I had a table on the veranda outside the room.
But the killer about this place is the location - maybe 200m max from the beach. It was fantastic - a quick walk across the road and I was on the beach, right next to a couple of the big, super-expensive hotels (so yes, it's a good bit of beach!). A brilliant, brilliant place to be - and maybe 15 minutes walk from 3rd Street too, so quiet enough but close enough if you want to go out for dinner or shopping.
As with anywhere in this area, there are a few homeless guys around, but it felt safe and the combination of location, price and style make it a winner for me.
A place I'll definitely come back to.

Room Tip: My ocean view room was great - including a kitchen/diner. It basically opens onto the street, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This one looks more like a motel, but it is clean, the rooms are big enough, relatively affordable and extremely well located in beautiful Santa Monica. 200 meters from the beach and a 10 minutes stroll to the pier and the promenade. I really enjoyed the surroundings: the ocean breeze, the people on the beach, the evening walk to the shops, restaurants and cinemas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front, with view on the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Address: 2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.