We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
any
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel although it gets quite warm in the room and the aircon is not that powerful and you can't put the fan in unless you put the main light on too. The staff are friendly and helpful. It's a nice hotel but felt that it was really over priced for what you get, breakfast should at least have been offered in the rate that we paid for the room, in saying that, it was peak season and the hotel was full. I would probably shop around and see if I could find something cheaper first. Good location, easy access to the beach and all the shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    558
    184
    64
    30
See reviews for
401
699
68
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed here twice in one week, just before and just after exploring the PCH 1 and Sequoia. On both occasions we were impressed by the courtesy of the staff and the service from the veranda restaurant. This is a small hotel and does not have much space, but does manage to make the traveller feel like a welcomed guest.. Of special mention is the complementary valet service and the helpful reception staff. Rooms are well appointed, if a little smaller than average, immaculately clean and well furnished.

Room Tip: Ideally a room at the front of the hotel for a view of the Pacific
See more room tips
Green Features: Well thought through and implemented in a sensible manner
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear lesjon,

The Georgian Hotel would like to thank you for enjoying our service throughout the property and recognizing our dedication to the environment, "green" features. Parking can be included within many of our value added packages, your mention of this TIP is appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I think this is the very best place to stay in Santa Monica for the proximity to 3rd street and the beach front location and the price of stay. The staff wonderful -- courteous and helpful. Was able to check in early both times I stayed here. Yes, you pay extra for parking every night, but it's the same at any other hotel in the area. The valets are always ready to bring your car. Can't say enough great things about this place. A gem.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the ocean view and the regular suites. If you can get an ocean view, you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear jusomaga,

Welcome back! Thank you for enjoying Santa Monica,The Georgian Hotel and sharing your insights. Yes, there is a fee for parking. Something to consider for the future ... we have "value" added packages that can enhance your stay and reduce your budget. For more information - just call or e-mail.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

..what a charming hotel. My friend and I splashed out and opted for the sea view suite - it was tremendous! Two massive rooms, a view right out to the beach, and fabulous deco decor. We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food, but the hotel was wonderful. Not cheap; but well, well worth the extravagance..

Room Tip: Splash out on a sea view room - it's really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Kreebeedee,

Wonderful to know that you and your friend "splashed" on sea view suite accommodations and were pleased, this is our objective! Your review is appreciated. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Monica, it will be our pleasure to welcome your return.

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed 5 nights and found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The Ocean view room/suite was great and the location for the beach, pier and Third Street shopping is ideal.
This hotel is a charming, characterful alternative to the corporate "plastic" hotels that take your money and really couldn't care less whether you stay with them or not.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear TonyOxon,

Thank you for enjoying The Georgian Hotel and the destination of Santa Monica. At The Georgian, we have been able to keep up with the times and still maintain the historical charm that we are known for.

Stay tuned .... Room enhancements will be coming within the year. Don't hesitate to return.

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stay at The Georgian and you won't need to rent a car. The location is excellent and Uber can take you anywhere you want to go.
The staff at the Georgian is friendly and ready to make recommendations.

Room Tip: The traffic is fairly noisy in front of the hotel but the view is worth the annoyance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Owner at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Betsy l,

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Georgian Hotel and in Santa Monica. Thank you for taking the time to share your tips. Don't hesitate to share some of your favorite spots too. Let us know when you plan to return, it will be our pleasure to see you again.

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had a great two night stay at the Georgian Hotel travelling as a family of five and would thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is in a fantastic location. The rooms exude old school charm whilst being comfortable and well equipped. Our corner suite was great value for a family of five. The terrace is a lovely place to hang out. The food is excellent. The prices are reasonable. And above all else, and most importantly, the staff are fantastically helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond to help us during our stay and to arrange surfing lessons at short notice for the kids. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Corner suite was perfect for a family of five
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear nobblers,

On behalf of our Team at The Georgian Hotel, I thank you for sharing your time, family and kind words - sincerely, you made our day. Our suites are spacious, providing a substantial amount of "moving around room". When the kids are ready for their next surf lesson, please come back!

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.