We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with lots of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lovely hotel with lots of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Probably the best location in Santa Monica, short walk to the pier, beach and 3rd Street Promenade. This was our second stay at this hotel and we would definitely come back again. Our only complaint was that the terrace was being remodelled and was closed during our two night stay. We feel that we should have been told about this before arrival. Rooms comfortable but not very well sound proofed, which is probably understandable given the age of the hotel. Reception and restaurant staff are all very friendly and helpful, as are the valet parking guys. Lobby and restaurant/bar area have lots of character and are very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious ..... shame about the terrace!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    558
    181
    64
    30
See reviews for
400
698
68
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

For us, the best choice in Santa Monica if you are willing to spend a little bit more to have the best location, great and friendly service, and the most charming hotel on the Ocean Avenue. We stayed here 4 days and this hotel left us with fantastic memories, because of the perfect location, right on the Ocean Avenue so close to the Santa Monica funny pier including the luna park and the 3rd street promenade. We didn't need the car to stay in Santa Monica. In addition, we loved the colorful architecture of this hotel, historic, charming and somewhat vintage, as well the fantastic staff: always smiling, friendly and ready to satisfy your needs and requests. Breakfast was included in our room rate and we have been so happy with it, as it was a great a-la carte breakfast, including everything you may want, from a healthy to a typical full American breakfast. Wifi was excellent in the room. The room was spacious and we had a very nice partial view on the ocean. Valvet parking also worked very well. For sure this was the most expensive hotel during our California trip, but we think it was worthy.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel we found to be very comfortable, great location to Santa Monica pier. Staff very helpful. Prices at the bar for drinks on the verandah and for breakfast very reasonable. The room was not large but was very comfortable, clean and certainly had all we needed. The art deco decor was beautiful.
Not a cheap hotel but very nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

For a 2 day stopover between Vancouver and French Polynesia, this was a great place to stay for our family of 4 (children aged 21 and 19). We loved having breakfasts on the terrace and found the staff at The Georgian to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. Santa Monica is a beautiful area and the Hop on Hop Off bus gave us a taste of LA, walking to Venice Beach was a must do experience, but we did enjoy returning to the peace of the hotel each night. We were able to have one room with a late checkout and leave our luggage at the hotel as we had a late flight. Thank you for a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a great view of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My daughter and I have very recently stayed at The Georgian. It was a very happy experience, in spite of the refurbishment taking place we were most comfortable and the staff were very obliging. Loved the great views from the 5th floor of the beach and the Pier. Certainly enhanced our stay in California to share time with my son. Thank you. Julie F and Linda G.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here after a month traveling so it was so nice to have such a comfortable bed and room. The hotel is kept in excellent condition (& so it should be at over $400pn). It is located on the ocean front and a short walk to Santa Monica Pier and the main shopping mall two street back. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We didn't eat dinner here as the menu didn't offer a great variety but we did have breakfast which was lovely. When we booked we asked for specific rooms but when we got there they had been given away as the hotel policy is first come first served - so disappointed as the rooms we ended up with were on different floors as looked directly into the apartment opposite (could see into peoples bathrooms). Also at the price being charged a free bottle of water would have been nice instead of charging $7 each.

Room Tip: You can only guarantee a room near the front by paying for an ocean view room, otherwise you could g...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice any except the usual one with the towels.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Georgian is a great hotel with lots of character. The staff is amazing, always welcoming us to and from the hotel. The rooms were top notch, with a very comfortable bed. Most of all, it was unique and did not feel like a hotel room but rather home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.