We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Georgian Hotel .Santa Monica. Wonderful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Georgian Hotel .Santa Monica. Wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My friend and I had originally booked into the Georgian hotel for 2 nights . But it turned out we were not able to stay with friends as planned.
The Georgian staff were so helpful and were able to extend our stay with them till the end of the week.
Not only that they gave us a very fair deal for the extra four nights.

From day one of our stay ,the staff and all at the front desk were wonderful . Every time we returned from a trip out,the door staff welcomed us back ,as did the front desk.

We had breakfasts at the hotel and a couple of light lunches.All were presented nicely and very
good fresh food,
The hotel was good enough to also book us a car and driver on request .
Ask for:.Steven Gallardo . Wow Very knowledgeable gentlemen . Good safe driver and very punctual . If any one is staying at this Hotel ask for him .Very good and charming as well.!

Over all I would highly recommend staying at the Georgian it is on the ocean front on Santa Monica.Shops galore on 3rd st just around the corner. Great location.
At the time of our stay ,work was being done on the front porch so we could not have coffee out side but that did not detract from our enjoyment of staying at the hotel.

Give it a try ! We will most defiantly be coming back to stay at the Georgian!
Well done staff and management for giving a 100% to your guests.!
Thank you for a great stay.

Vanessa Mackellar

Room Tip: Twin rooms very good All very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Vanessa M,

Thank you for a 100% rating. Your comments have been shared with our Georgian Hotel team and everyone is very proud to receive your praise.

Your tips and insights are welcomed. Our concierge stand ready and willing to provide the best experiences to all of our guests and thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time with Mr. Gallardo.

You will be happy to know that The Veranda enhancements are complete and we look forward to sharing them with you!

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    558
    182
    64
    30
See reviews for
401
698
68
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My 10 year old daughter and I will never forget this trip due to the beautiful Georgian Hotel. It is worth every cent. Our view was breathtaking. At least 3x a week I go back and look at the pictures. The staff was outstanding. My daughter pointed out a framed poster she liked. The next morning we had a card from the staff welcoming my daughter and a copy of the poster. My daughter got ill and we had to go to urgent care. The hotel sent a towncar service to pick us up. I highly recommend using him (I wish I still had his card!). When we returned from urgent care my daughter threw up in the lobby. The staff was so kind to her and didn't make her feel bad. Every time we walked into the hotel we were greeting with a genuine hello and smile. The location couldn't be better. We will not stay at any other place but the Georgian when we return to Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to stay in a king size ocean view suite on the 7th or 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sara H,

On behalf of the Georgian Hotel team, we are wishing your daughter good health and look forward to another memorable time with the 2 of you. Please do not hesitate to call on me when you are ready to return. We will confirm a town car for an experience that will provide more pictures that you will want to revisit.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very atmospheric, top quality hotel, with marvellous staff. Our ocean view corner suite had everything - great furnishings, separate sitting room, great bed, super views. Room service breakfast was very very good - fruit, oatmeal, good coffee. To find an hotel in the US that queries whether we meant to add an extra tip on top of their inclusive breakfast service charge (which we did) shows real attention to detail. Leave a "Do Not Disturb" on the door - housekeeping are a bit enthusiastic if you don't. One minor point - the air vent in our bathroom seemed to be connected to another room - so you could hear things you don't want to hear. But the door to the bathroom is solid so we did not hear anything unless actually in there and our nights sleep was one of the best in a hotel anywhere..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed in The Georgian hotel in April and arrived after 24 hours of travel at about 1am. The receptionist had us checked in very quickly and the valet was still available to take our car. The room was beautiful, even though we didnt opt for an ocean view. We still had a slight view of the pier! The hotel itself is in a gorgeous art deco style and the rooms reflect this. The location was amazing and within walking distance to everything in Santa Monica. We stayed here as an anniversary treat and while the hotel was expensive, it was worth it! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to avoid the usual chain hotels and stay somewhere different in an amazing location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After a 14 hr flight from Melbourne we were told on arrival that our room would not be ready until 3.00pm,, they knew 3 weeks in advance of our arrival, so we walked the City until 2.00 and then our room was ready.
The toilet was blocked in our room and 2 of the staff at the front desk did not care if we were there or not. They were unhelpful to say the least.
The room was comfortable and the restaurant staff were fast and great

Room Tip: pay top dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this neat boutique hotel. She's a grand old lady that is well cared for and has beautiful views to the ocean. (Request a beach view. They have a limited number) It has a colorful history. Some of the rooms have signs that say Clark Gable stayed here..etc. It was once an apartment house where Rose Kennedy (the First Mother) had an apartment for the summer season and many LA celebrities visited.
WONDERFUL restaurants within easy walking distance as well as the pier and beach sidewalks. If you are coming to the LA or Pasadena Area then I highly recommend this property.
******* The BREAKFASTS on their covered porch are EXCELLENT!!!!!! We even ran into friends who stayed elsewhere but always eat there when in California so they can have their Eggs Benedict. The staff was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We rented an ocean front suite (#503) that had a bedroom and living area separated by french doors. The hotel is in a great location, updated but has kept it older charm with high ceilings, heavy doors, and paneled elevators. The staff was always friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the veranda for breakfast (baked french toast !) and evening cocktails.

Added benefit that the Georgian is next to our favorite restaurant ... Water Grill.

Recommended and when returning to the Santa Monica area this will be our go to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.