We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic hotel in Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely historic hotel in Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were very happy with our small suite at The Georgian. The room was quiet and well appointed. The separate living area was perfect for our son to sleep in. The bathroom was small, but serviceable. The location was great, as was the sense of history. The best part of all was the delicious brunch on the front veranda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    539
    167
    63
    25
See reviews for
380
671
63
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. My husband and I had stayed there 3 years ago and were really thrilled by the hotel: the location, the view, the old-time feel and the room & amenities.
This time we were not so impressed. Yes, the hotel is old and has a lot of character and yes it has been renovated but it also felt a little dated: the carpet, the aisle leading to the rooms, the bathroom sink and bath tub..
The view was again as excellent as it can get but our room was smaller than last time, so it felt a little crowded but was not a big problem for us. The price is also relatively better when compared to other hotels in the seaside in Santa Monica so you get a good value of what you pay. I also love the old-times & historic feel of the hotel as well as the relaxed atmosphere and the fact that it's not a huge impersonal complex.
What I was not very ecstatic about:
The towels did not feel fresh, if that makes any sense. They were not fluffy and felt very used.
The shower curtain had a stain. I didn't examine it very closely to see what exactly it was as that would be gross and preferred to ignore it (it was on the outside of the curtain).
The room felt a little stuffy and humid.
We were on the 2nd floor and there was some noise from the street even in the night but nothing too bad.
Having said that, I would still recomend the hotel as it depends on the room you get and how much money you want to spend. I think it is a good compromise.

Room Tip: Get one with an ocean view and as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Takes allot for me to give an average review.

Pros
Location is spot on
Room clean and well appointed

Cons
Room safe not working. I reported this twice and never fixed. Room 709
Service was poor. Drinks at the veranda a challenge and my Zinfandel was off
Pre authorisation of 100 per night? Crazy.......

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear seanpg,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed our location and your room.

I am sorry to see that the safe was not in working order and that we did not meet your expectations. We hope that next time you are in Santa Monica you give us another chance.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a great one night stay at this hotel. The location is great, right by Santa Monica Pier and all the shopping and dining that the area has to offer. The art deco hotel has been modernized without sacrificing its character. Our room was at the front with a great view of the ocean, and was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We started our honeymoon here, and were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary continental breakfast which was fresh and filling. Not the cheapest hotel but probably good value for the area. Very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear nannon79,

Thank you for sharing your experience with The Georgian Hotel. We are so happy that you chose to start your honeymoon with us.

As a Historic Hotel of America and a Santa Monica Landmark, we take great pride in our Art Deco architecture and are proud to offer modern amenities to our guests as well.

We hope you stay with us again when you return to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Georgian Hotel is a Santa Monica Ocean Front treasure, which has retained its vintage character while burnishing its art deco tradition with modern touches. The veranda features a great view of Palisades Park and the Santa Monica Pier. Mehra M, Walter G, and Christina G are just a few of the delightful servers, along with the others on staff at the restaurant/bar. The front desk service is genuinely personable and efficient. I highly commend Mr. Douglas V for his warmth and attention to detail at the desk. The parking valet attendants are very fine too, among them Alex and Edwin are especially gracious and attentive.

We enjoyed our north-facing suite 610 over a busy (and bustling!) Memorial Day weekend 2013. Despite the heavier-than-usual traffic and tourist activity on Ocean Ave. and Third Street Promenade, it was a fantastic experience staying at The Georgian. We have stayed at the Fairmont Miramar, The J.W. Marriott Le Merigot, and Loew's as well as The Huntley House on previous visits to Santa Monica, and The Georgian stands out as a unique doyenne of Santa Monica in all its seaside glory days, continuing to rival them all as a fantastic contemporary destination.

Best of luck to all on your wonderful staff and we look forward to a return visit very soon.
Henry and Nancy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely property, just not sure if the asking price is worth it. We got it on Priceline for $180 (3.5* hotel in Santa Monica).

It is right on Ocean drive, and with the right room (like mine), you get a GORGEOUS view of the ocean. The rooms, unfortunately, are a bit small. Ours was like 210 sqft. We were a group of 3; fortunately we were able to fit in our blowup mattress.

For a old boutique hotel, outlets were quite easy to find. Surprising.

The shower was very nice, however the bathroom was a bit...tight. The toilet is literally right up next to the shower tub.

Parking is quite reasonable - $24 (pre-tax) overnight with in-and-out privileges. Didn't like that it is valet, but they are very quick to get the car.

Breakfast was a bit expensive. My friend said it was very good, but expensive.

Noise level is a bit much. The hotel is right across from a park where tourists let out, so expect to hear buses come and go, and leave their engines running full blast. So loud.

Room comes with complementary coffee via Keurig K-cups. Nice touch. Don't steal the mugs, though! They are $8/ea.

Turndown service is included, and offered without asking. First hotel I've had that since Disney World Resort hotels.

I would definitely stay here again for the right price. $180 on Priceline was pretty good. $250-$300 asking price is way too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view. Definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in room 807 for four nights in May, 2013. The bed was comfortable (somewhat firm; I wouldn't have minded it if it had been ever so slightly more firm), and the room was spacious given the age of the hotel. The bathroom has a nice, long glass shelf for those with lots of toiletries, extending over the toilet and sink. The shower had a nice spray. There is an in-room Keurig, a great amenity when a hotel doesn't have a Starbucks in the lobby or just down the street (the nearest Starbucks is on the Third Street Promenade, I think).

The elevators are a trip. The one on the left is standard push-buttom (with evidence of a prior time when it required an operator), but the one on the right requires you to open a door on hinges. Both are original, with original wood trim.

The front desk staff was rather indifferent, but the rest of the staff was warm and friendly (including the efficient valets and the morning staff in the restaurant). Even the housekeepers said hello.

The breakfast menu was just perfect for us--lots of variety, and wonderfully prepared; I liked the French Toast Souffle so much I ordered it twice.

Upon check-out, be sure to look at the bill closely. They tried to bill us for a bottle of wine and a Stella Artois, neither of which we had consumed (or even moved from their positions in the minibar). At the same time there was another guest who had been billed for a bottle of Fiji water he hadn't consumed. But this is minor; certainly not a reason to not stay here.

Room Tip: Room 807 is on the south side, which means it faces a very tall building; even though we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.