We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This beautiful art deco hotel is in the perfect location overlooking Santa Monica State Beach Park and the ocean and just a short walk to the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place and Main Street.

We stayed here on two separate occasions on this trip and both room types were very clean with comfortable beds and a turndown service provided each night with yummy chocolates. Tea and coffee making facilities were also available. Bathroom supplies included hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, cotton balls and buds.

The Georgian staff are the most welcoming, friendly and hospitable of all hotels we have stayed in around Santa Monica especially the teams in valet parking and the restaurant.

Sitting outside at The Veranda restaurant each morning was a great way to start each day, enjoy breakfast and read the complimentary newspaper left at our room door each morning.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely! The Georgian felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear col_suz,

It is always our pleasure to welcome you back and share all that The Georgian Hotel and the destination of Santa Monica have to offer. Seeing a familiar face is always a day brightener for all involved.

Please come home again soon!

Sincerely,
Laura W
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    570
    189
    63
    31
See reviews for
413
717
68
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On March 2013 my friend and i stayed at this hotel
We had such nice welcomed staff, great bar outside on the balcony over looking the Santa monica pier,the service was excellent, the hotel felt as if we were staying with Humphrey Baugart
Very posh, The rooms were beautiful large and great bathrooms, i will stay here again .
I cant thank enough to Nadim the facility manger on such great hospitality!

Room Tip: ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June 2011 and the only thing which let us down was the weather (June gloom).
The hotel was outstanding, location absolutely perfect, great views over the pier, close to third street promenade!
Rooms were very nice, clean and modern.
Breakfasts were lovely on the terrace looking out to the pacific!!
Would 100% stay here again, we had a fantastic time - what a place!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ronitenos,

Thank you for sharing your time with our staff and enjoying The Georgian Hotel and the Veranda. We hope you will come back again soon.

Sincerely,

Laura W
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

1930s hotel, fully modernized except the charming wood-paneled elevators. Not a fancy environment, but very relaxed. Room good size, bathroom old and small, but spotless. Very quiet hotel despite facing Ocean Ave. and seeming to be pretty busy. Free WiFi was OK (ran about 0.9Mps, same as our home DSL). Valet parking (included in our package rate) was great; cars parked next door, unlimited in-and-out. The entire hotel staff was uniformly professional and friendly. The Georgian's real asset is the veranda or porch on the front of the building where we had several meals - brunch, lunch, and dinner. Sitting on Ocean Ave., just across the street from Santa Monica's bluff, with the beach and ocean below, the veranda was a great pleasure. I would certainly return to The Georgian. It has charm that some of the shiny newer hotels on Ocean Ave. probably lack. We were happy to book a side room with only a sliver of a view of the ocean; next time, maybe we'll splurge for the ocean view.

Room Tip: Beach and ocean views on Ocean Ave. side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful place and very nice and responsive staff. Best breakfast in Santa Monica and great view too. The location cannot be beat - close to all the shopping, SM pier, restaurants and Venice. We loved having breakfast or lunch at the hotel on the veranda, never wanted to go anywhere else. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a throw back hotel big time. If you travel from say....Europe and want to stay in a hotel that doesn't remind you of the hotels that are everyday in your country, do not stay here. Sure, it's on the water but it literally is a model of an old Euro hotel....tiny rooms, turn around bathrooms and everything that would bring back the old country.
This was a one night stay and compared to the usual rates we paid much less and still wonder how you can charge a usual $300 a night room for a 10 x10 nothing of a room? Is it haunted? I have no idea but really, no pool, no....for that matter, anything. Loews right down the street charges about the same but has an entire frills and it's back door puts you on the beach. Go figure

Room Tip: If you are bigger than Danny Devito, don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

... Do much better

Firstly it's lovely old hotel. Yes Art Deco to the top - but still old musty and in need of a real update.

The staff is very friendly and they were by far the best part

The rooms are updated but are maybe at a 3 star level.... Maybe

Last night all I heard was serious snoring through my wall. I called down and they said they would phone him and ask him to stop. Dumbfounded I explained to him that snoring is likely unconscious and you cant ask him not to. They eventually moved me which as you can imagine was a pain to shift my stuff

The real issue is that the walls are thin and the place needs some work

Elevators are close to original - so small and again in need to updating

The beds are comfortable and the wifi good

This would not be my first choice again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.