We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a friend had told me when recommending!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything a friend had told me when recommending!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Location is fantastic and the staff could not have been more gracious with every request! The small hotel is delightful. I only wish I could have stayed longer. I have already recommended to friends coming for a wedding!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Aleen E,
We enjoyed having you stay with us and appreciate that you have recommended us to friends coming for a wedding. Please come back when you can stay longer and do not hesitate to contact me for assistance with your reservation.
Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    558
    181
    64
    30
See reviews for
400
698
68
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Islands, Washington
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel keeps being renovated as the spot is fantastic and it still needs a little more tweaking. Our last visit had a large, great corner room with a wonderful 30s bathroom with windows on all corners looking out at the ocean. Fabulous! Antiquated elevators make it somewhat fun. Public areas very small but clubby as in the 30s-40s. The real winner is the verandah in front. A better breakfast watching the activity on the sidewalk, the street, and the ocean right across the street is just perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this hotel because of its proximity to the Santa Monica Pier, beach, and Third Street Promenade. I figured we'd be doing a lot of driving during the days and would want to walk around afterward. I was right--the location simply cannot be beat! Breakfast on the front porch overlooking Ocean Ave. and the beach was scenic as well as delicious. The staff was attentive and friendly. We had a suite that was surprisingly spacious, although I wish I had sprung for the ocean view (quite a bit more expensive). The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small, with little counter space, and the closet was also small, but neither was unexpected in a historic hotel. Overall, it was a bit less luxurious than I had expected, but a delightful stay nonetheless, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the hotel overlook buildings and garages and don't have much of a view. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in lat Feb, in room 807. The location of this hotel in Santa Monica is fantastic, with a great sea view and the history behind the hotel is impressive. Our room was comfortable and a good size, although the bathroom was on the small side, with little room to spread out toiletries, etc - but that's part and parcel of staying in an old hotel. We had the bed and breakfast package which was great value - the breakfast in particular had lots of options, was well-cooked and had generous proportions. The staff were all great - very friendly and willing to help.

We had a couple of gripes - the bathroom drain was blocked, meaning that by the end of our shower there was about half a foot of water in the bathtub, which I did not like at all. Also, on our final morning, we were woken up by housekeeping at 8am - not happy, especially when we had a 15 hour flight home that day to look forward to. Yes, we should have used the 'privacy please' door handle, but we rarely use this and haven't had a problem before.

In sum, I would probably recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to have breakfast at the hotel - it's in a lovely location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel. Charming, great views from the rooms, great location, nice sized rooms, comfortable beds, fun mini bar, great history, great staff, wonderful veranda where you can have a drink or enjoy wonderful food. It's close to the Santa Monica Pier, so we sat on the veranda to watch the beautiful colors of the Pier and the ferris wheel at night. Mike and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Our stay was exceptional and yes, I will stay at the Georgian again!

Room Tip: Stayed in 805. Fun view of the Santa Monica Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This the second time we stay at This hotel. We highly recommend. It is charming, confortável and well located. We were lucky to have a suite with a beatiful view to the beach. There is a nice veranda were you can sit, relax and have a drink. Very close to Third Street Promenade. It is a good tip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed two days at The Georgian on the recommendation of friends who find it a very good hotel amongst the more (much more) expensive hotels of Santa Monica.
It is perfectly located on Ocean Ave opposite the beach and around the corner from Nordstrom, Bloomingdales and The 3rd Ave pedestrian shops and cafes.
We would definitely stay again but would opt for an oceanview room. Our suite at the back of the hotel was huge, with a separate living area and very big bedroom with king bed. The room was quite dark though. The oceanview rooms would be flooded with light.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra and opt for an oceanview room. Even in bad weather it would be a bonus as the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Beaverlea 10,
Happy to hear that you enjoy our hotel and the spectacular destination of Santa Monica. We look forward to welcoming you back and certain you will not be disappointed with our ocean view suite.
Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.