We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast for two
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, charm, service, I could go on! I was there with my family (2 girls 16 and 19). The hotel met all our needs. Stayed a week and we were all sad to leave. Would definately recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    504
    147
    61
    25
See reviews for
336
621
59
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent the weekend here and it turned out to be practically perfect. Staff people were all pleasant and helpful. Location couldn't be better, overlooking the ocean and SM pier. Enjoyed just sitting on the front porch watching the world go by while enjoying their tasty appetizers. Adam gave us a history lesson covering the prohibition era speakeasy in the basement. Only suggestion is to upgrade the wine list. We've stayed in several boutique hotels in the SM area and this is definitely the best value.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room on an upper floor overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second stay at The Georgian and it was every bit as enjoyable as the first. Our room - a deluxe ocean view suite - was the size of a spacious apartment, perfectly clean and comfortably furnished with a couch, chaise and well-lit work area. There was also a separate coffee bar, large bathroom, and a roomy bath.

As usual service was excellent all around. When I called for ice it arrived within minutes, the same with room service, and whenever we needed our car it was brought around promptly.

The veranda in front of the hotel was a great place for breakfast, lunch and cocktails at sundown.

In short, The Georgian is a glorious place for a Santa Monica weekend; low key, comfortable and with a high level of understated service. A real pleasure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want a cozy, elegant, first rate stay, then this hotel is it! Excellant and friendly service. Rooms and ocean view was so nice! A la carte breakfast was execellant. Not cheap but you get what you pay for! I would go back in a second!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight before our connecting flight home. The room was lovely and clean, including the bathroom. We had a good night's sleep in a big comfy bed. The location is perfect, close to everything you need.
The staff were very helpful in arranging airport taxis for us, late checkout, and held our bags. The atmosphere there is very friendly and I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Santa Monica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

All employees were great but especially Mike, at the front desk provided useful info and was very accommodating in providing a needed late checkout. We found the hotel to be superbly located and charming. Rooms are a bit small but this is an older boutique hotel. The terrace bar/restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Too many other good choices in the area. Room had substantial noise from back alley, outlets did not work, bathroom sink was partially blocked, iron was broken and minibar items on counter in room were missing or dislodged on arrival. Front desk staff, despite a tip, was not pleasant or helpful. Would not stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.