We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Amazing location, charm, service, I could go on! I was there with my family (2 girls 16 and 19). The hotel met all our needs. Stayed a week and we were all sad to leave. Would definately recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    581
    191
    63
    32
See reviews for
427
723
68
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent the weekend here and it turned out to be practically perfect. Staff people were all pleasant and helpful. Location couldn't be better, overlooking the ocean and SM pier. Enjoyed just sitting on the front porch watching the world go by while enjoying their tasty appetizers. Adam gave us a history lesson covering the prohibition era speakeasy in the basement. Only suggestion is to upgrade the wine list. We've stayed in several boutique hotels in the SM area and this is definitely the best value.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room on an upper floor overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second stay at The Georgian and it was every bit as enjoyable as the first. Our room - a deluxe ocean view suite - was the size of a spacious apartment, perfectly clean and comfortably furnished with a couch, chaise and well-lit work area. There was also a separate coffee bar, large bathroom, and a roomy bath.

As usual service was excellent all around. When I called for ice it arrived within minutes, the same with room service, and whenever we needed our car it was brought around promptly.

The veranda in front of the hotel was a great place for breakfast, lunch and cocktails at sundown.

In short, The Georgian is a glorious place for a Santa Monica weekend; low key, comfortable and with a high level of understated service. A real pleasure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want a cozy, elegant, first rate stay, then this hotel is it! Excellant and friendly service. Rooms and ocean view was so nice! A la carte breakfast was execellant. Not cheap but you get what you pay for! I would go back in a second!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight before our connecting flight home. The room was lovely and clean, including the bathroom. We had a good night's sleep in a big comfy bed. The location is perfect, close to everything you need.
The staff were very helpful in arranging airport taxis for us, late checkout, and held our bags. The atmosphere there is very friendly and I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Santa Monica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

All employees were great but especially Mike, at the front desk provided useful info and was very accommodating in providing a needed late checkout. We found the hotel to be superbly located and charming. Rooms are a bit small but this is an older boutique hotel. The terrace bar/restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Too many other good choices in the area. Room had substantial noise from back alley, outlets did not work, bathroom sink was partially blocked, iron was broken and minibar items on counter in room were missing or dislodged on arrival. Front desk staff, despite a tip, was not pleasant or helpful. Would not stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#8 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.