We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast for two
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Location is perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As many reviewers have stated, you cannot beat the location of this hotel. Walk to restaurants, the pier, the lovely promenade and so much more. I usually do not book non refundable rooms but did so this time to get the best rate and it was worth it. We were only there for one night but felt the location helped us to see a lot and get a true feel for Santa Monica.
The room was a good size and while the hotel is quite old, most of the refurbishing is well done.
There are very few outlets in the room for re charging phones, etc. but other than that, it was a pleasant stay in a hotel of old Hollywood charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    504
    147
    61
    25
See reviews for
336
621
59
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived very early in the morning after a long night flight and were able to check-in right away, which we highly appreciated. The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a few steps to Santa Monica pier and good shopping and restaurants. We only spent one night before we travelled on to Europe, but it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved the experience staying at The Georgian. Its location opposite the Santa Monica pier is perfect. The staff of The Georgian are fantastic and the room was clean, comfortable and felt like home.
The large room had two queen beds and still had plenty of space for our suitcases and the numerous shopping bags that we had acquired during the course of the day. Despite the pricey valet parking, it was good to know that the hire car we had was safe.
This is now our preferred accommodation each time we come to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've stayed in Santa Monica multiple times and finally found the perfect place. The location is excellent, just across the street from the beach and a few blocks from both the Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street Promenade. The art deco building is absolutely charming and the staff was outstanding. The Veranda was a perfect spot to have breakfast or drinks and enjoy the beach view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at The Georgian for two nights. We loved the room. We had an ocean front suite and it was huge. Bed was very comfy. All the staff were very friendly. We never had to wait more than 2 minutes for valet staff to bring up our car. It was in a great location...walking distance to the beach, pier and promenade. Two slight problems...the tub didn't drain very well and we were standing in a bit of water while showering (room 303 fyi if staff want to check it out). Also, we set a wake up call for 4:30 am the morning we had to leave. We never got it. It was fine because we set another alarm but if we hadn't that would have been a problem. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can't beat the location. Everything was clean the pictures look like what it really looks like. Staff was very friendly. The only minus is that the walls seem to be thin and you can hear a lot-a baby crying. Plus we were right by the elevator so we heard that all day/night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel has all the positives and negatives of the butique hotel... Its personal attention all the way, but u have to wait for it... The rooms are great; the location is awesome - stayed one night passing through Santa Monica - it was a good choice, would consider staying there again but not for over 2 nights...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.