We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In bed with 1930s” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast for two
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“In bed with 1930s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Choosing the georgian is opting for charm more than modern comfort. The place is 1930s to the core with the most helpful and charming staff. I had a small room on the 8th floor which was quiet and clean with a small bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the only item that was out of sync with the decor was the flatscreen tv. Wifi was the other modern service (worked fine). while the bathroom seemed to have 1930s fixtures, everything worked fine and there was plentiful hot water. Breakfast was in the lobby, simple but fine. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people used to modern luxury hotels - this is luxury but not by 2012 standards. This place is for travelers looking for charm and a place with a soul! It has plenty of that. Finally, location is perfect for both business and vacation. The georgian is a unique place !

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Nick of Paris,

Thank you for your in-depth critique of The Georgian Hotel, our staff and location. We continue to update the hotel while maintaining many of the unique and charming features that helped to make us who we are today - "The First Lady of Santa Monica".

Please come back and see how we are mixing the old with the new. It would be our pleasure to see you again.

Warm regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    741
    504
    147
    61
    25
See reviews for
336
622
59
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Despite being recently re-furbished, the hotel felt tired - the ceiling fan didn't work for example, which is a nightmare when the LA temperatures are hitting 34 degrees in the shade. The service was absolutely abysmal too - we were woken TWICE in the middle of the night by a receptionist who promptly put the phone down on us. However, it's very reasonably priced (since there's no pool) and good proximity to both the beach and 3rd street shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Georgian Hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel in an ideal location. It’s opposite the beach (though you have to walk a little further towards the pier, down a few stairs and cross the Pacific Coast Highway 1 via a foot bridge) and within easy walking distance to Third St Promenade with lots of shops and restaurants.

This was the end of our 5 week trip and we stayed in a Signature Suite. The suite had a separate living area and French doors led into the bedroom. After all the shopping we were glad to have a little more room and very much enjoyed our stay.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel very welcome. It was also great that we were able to have a fridge brought to our room so we could store a few drinks, milk for tea and a few snacks. Breakfast on the Veranda was also fantastic. I had the baked French toast and my husband had the eggs Benedict. Both were delicious and service was quick and friendly.

Highly recommend this hotel in Santa Monica. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location, across the street from the park, overlooking the ocean, and near the Pier and many good restaurants. Excellent service. The room was a little small, but very comfortable with full amenities. I would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Shackelton,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Georgian Hotel and the destination - I too agree we are a great match. Each of us, look forward to your return. Our guest services team is happy to assist in enhancing your stay with us and sharing a few of their favorite restaurants and attractions with you. Do not hesitate to call on us when your plans bring you back to Southern California.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were travelling between Highway 1 and Anaheim and decided to break the journey with a night in Santa Monica. The Georgian Hotel was very nice. Very clean, comfy king sized bed for us, a queen sized sleeper sofa for one child and a chaise lounge for our other child. We had the bed, breakfast and parking package. At about $460 for the night then $30 for the children's breakfasts, it wasn't cheap. But nothing in Santa Monica is economical.

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were lucky enough to have the opportunity to stay at The Georgian twice during our four week stint in the USA, although this wasn’t planned. Our travel plans changed dramatically as a result of unexpected weather conditions we experienced in Yosemite and we had no alternative other than returning to Los Angeles.

The staff members at The Georgian are incredibly friendly and welcoming, it’s a great location and they’re great with children. The rooms are very well appointed, extremely clean and very comfortable. After a series of unfortunate events my family and I experienced in Yosemite, in particular unpleasant dealings with the duty manager at the Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite, arriving back at The Georgian was genuinely like returning home.

I highly recommend this fantastic, historic hotel…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Dave P,

We are sorry to learn of the unexpected weather and unfortunate events that you experienced while traveling in the USA. Happy to know that you have fond memories of your time here with us at The Georgian Hotel. As much as you enjoyed "returning home", we too enjoyed your return. It would be our pleasure to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room was great, the staff was fantastic, the food was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Georgian. The location is perfect - so close to the beach and the Third Street Promenade and the Santa Monica Pier. I happened to be there for business, but would absolutely go back for pleasure.

I cannot say enough about the staff - the people at the front desk were so friendly and accommodating. The concierge and valet service was helpful, timely and willing to offer me travel and traffic tips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.