We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast for two
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Georgian Hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel in an ideal location. It’s opposite the beach (though you have to walk a little further towards the pier, down a few stairs and cross the Pacific Coast Highway 1 via a foot bridge) and within easy walking distance to Third St Promenade with lots of shops and restaurants.

This was the end of our 5 week trip and we stayed in a Signature Suite. The suite had a separate living area and French doors led into the bedroom. After all the shopping we were glad to have a little more room and very much enjoyed our stay.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel very welcome. It was also great that we were able to have a fridge brought to our room so we could store a few drinks, milk for tea and a few snacks. Breakfast on the Veranda was also fantastic. I had the baked French toast and my husband had the eggs Benedict. Both were delicious and service was quick and friendly.

Highly recommend this hotel in Santa Monica. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    741
    504
    147
    61
    25
See reviews for
336
622
59
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location, across the street from the park, overlooking the ocean, and near the Pier and many good restaurants. Excellent service. The room was a little small, but very comfortable with full amenities. I would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Shackelton,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Georgian Hotel and the destination - I too agree we are a great match. Each of us, look forward to your return. Our guest services team is happy to assist in enhancing your stay with us and sharing a few of their favorite restaurants and attractions with you. Do not hesitate to call on us when your plans bring you back to Southern California.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were travelling between Highway 1 and Anaheim and decided to break the journey with a night in Santa Monica. The Georgian Hotel was very nice. Very clean, comfy king sized bed for us, a queen sized sleeper sofa for one child and a chaise lounge for our other child. We had the bed, breakfast and parking package. At about $460 for the night then $30 for the children's breakfasts, it wasn't cheap. But nothing in Santa Monica is economical.

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were lucky enough to have the opportunity to stay at The Georgian twice during our four week stint in the USA, although this wasn’t planned. Our travel plans changed dramatically as a result of unexpected weather conditions we experienced in Yosemite and we had no alternative other than returning to Los Angeles.

The staff members at The Georgian are incredibly friendly and welcoming, it’s a great location and they’re great with children. The rooms are very well appointed, extremely clean and very comfortable. After a series of unfortunate events my family and I experienced in Yosemite, in particular unpleasant dealings with the duty manager at the Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite, arriving back at The Georgian was genuinely like returning home.

I highly recommend this fantastic, historic hotel…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Dave P,

We are sorry to learn of the unexpected weather and unfortunate events that you experienced while traveling in the USA. Happy to know that you have fond memories of your time here with us at The Georgian Hotel. As much as you enjoyed "returning home", we too enjoyed your return. It would be our pleasure to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room was great, the staff was fantastic, the food was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Georgian. The location is perfect - so close to the beach and the Third Street Promenade and the Santa Monica Pier. I happened to be there for business, but would absolutely go back for pleasure.

I cannot say enough about the staff - the people at the front desk were so friendly and accommodating. The concierge and valet service was helpful, timely and willing to offer me travel and traffic tips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We traveled from San Diego to Los Angeles to catch a show at the Pantagenes Theater but wanted to stay by the beach in Santa Monica for the night. We made a great selection at this hotel. It is just minutes from Highway 10 and not far from most theaters and diversions in Los Angeles.

We got a room with an ocean view overlooking the Santa Monica pier and the promenade. It was great despite the afternoon fog. The room did have some noise from the street but it wasn't bad from the 6th floor. If you want a quieter room, book one in the back. My brother, who was with us, did and his room was dead quiet. You are walking distance to some good restaurants, the pier, the beach and shopping at the pedestrian only Promenade. It was great for Christmas shopping with street artists adding to the fun.

The hotel and room ambience was great. It's a throwback to the art deco of the 1930's with period appropriate paintings and photos on the walls. We loved it. No cookie cutter hotels for us. We loved the old tiled bathrooms, the mahogany paneled elevator, and the hotel entry with relaxing chairs.

Try their breakfast outside along the street front. Nice views of the beach and park are there. And their specialties - french toast souffle, benny eggs (benedict) and Santa Monica omelet are excellent. You will not be disappointed. The service is incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ahbutz,

Thank you for sharing your time with us in Santa Monica and your favorable experience and tips for your next visit. It sounds as though our location compensated for the fog that we had no control over. As we continue to update the hotel, we are still dedicated to maintaining the charm and beauty that earned The Georgian Hotel the title of "Santa Monica's First Lady".

"The Lady" will turn 80 in 2013, perhaps you will return to celebrate with us. If so, please do not hesitate to contact me to assist with your reservations.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed during the thanksgiving weekend for two nights with two young children.
The hotel staff were wonderful with children and very helpful during the stay.
We had two queen beds room and they are very comfortable; we sleep like baby!

I definitely suggest that the Bed&Breakfast plan be booked with the room and it comes with the free valet parking (you still need to tip the staff tough). Also, try the hotel's signature breakfast dish, a french toast souffle; we loved it very much.

Room Tip: Choose the Bed&Breakfast plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.