We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room was great, the staff was fantastic, the food was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Georgian. The location is perfect - so close to the beach and the Third Street Promenade and the Santa Monica Pier. I happened to be there for business, but would absolutely go back for pleasure.

I cannot say enough about the staff - the people at the front desk were so friendly and accommodating. The concierge and valet service was helpful, timely and willing to offer me travel and traffic tips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    597
    196
    64
    32
See reviews for
437
744
68
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We traveled from San Diego to Los Angeles to catch a show at the Pantagenes Theater but wanted to stay by the beach in Santa Monica for the night. We made a great selection at this hotel. It is just minutes from Highway 10 and not far from most theaters and diversions in Los Angeles.

We got a room with an ocean view overlooking the Santa Monica pier and the promenade. It was great despite the afternoon fog. The room did have some noise from the street but it wasn't bad from the 6th floor. If you want a quieter room, book one in the back. My brother, who was with us, did and his room was dead quiet. You are walking distance to some good restaurants, the pier, the beach and shopping at the pedestrian only Promenade. It was great for Christmas shopping with street artists adding to the fun.

The hotel and room ambience was great. It's a throwback to the art deco of the 1930's with period appropriate paintings and photos on the walls. We loved it. No cookie cutter hotels for us. We loved the old tiled bathrooms, the mahogany paneled elevator, and the hotel entry with relaxing chairs.

Try their breakfast outside along the street front. Nice views of the beach and park are there. And their specialties - french toast souffle, benny eggs (benedict) and Santa Monica omelet are excellent. You will not be disappointed. The service is incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ahbutz,

Thank you for sharing your time with us in Santa Monica and your favorable experience and tips for your next visit. It sounds as though our location compensated for the fog that we had no control over. As we continue to update the hotel, we are still dedicated to maintaining the charm and beauty that earned The Georgian Hotel the title of "Santa Monica's First Lady".

"The Lady" will turn 80 in 2013, perhaps you will return to celebrate with us. If so, please do not hesitate to contact me to assist with your reservations.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed during the thanksgiving weekend for two nights with two young children.
The hotel staff were wonderful with children and very helpful during the stay.
We had two queen beds room and they are very comfortable; we sleep like baby!

I definitely suggest that the Bed&Breakfast plan be booked with the room and it comes with the free valet parking (you still need to tip the staff tough). Also, try the hotel's signature breakfast dish, a french toast souffle; we loved it very much.

Room Tip: Choose the Bed&Breakfast plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at the Georgian for the third time, the second time in an ocean view suite. My stay did not disappoint. The accommodations were lovely, the service great, and the location ideal. My only complaints were that there was no decaf in the room (but two coffee shops within two blocks, so I did not even ask for it), and the food on the Veranda was merely fine.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Lynn87504,

Welcome Back! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us again. With everything that you have shared with us, your time and compliments - I apologize for the oversight that resulted in not providing you with decaf coffee. I can assure you the issue has been addressed and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We loved our stay at The Georgian. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The Verandah bar a great place to sit and watch the world go by. This hotel has loads of character with all amenities updated. Brilliant location on Ocean Blvd. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location and service. Boutique style hotel with character and art deco charm. Excellent service, clean and well equipped. We had an ocean view room - it was worth them extra money as the hotel faces onto the beach. Short stroll to the pier, 3rd Street Promenade and excellent restaurants. We have stayed in Santa Monica many times and always in a different hotel. We will return to the Georgian. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra money. A little noisy as it is on Ocean Ave but we loved the view. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundup, MT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Georgian is a great historic hotel, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. I really enjoyed having breakfast on the front porch, watching the foot traffic in palisade park across the street from the hotel, with the sent of white jasmine in the air. The room was good; clean and comfortable with plenty of space, wifi, and a view of the ocean. Easily within walking distance to the 3rd street shopping area, and the pier. Valet parking for the car, just call down and the car is waiting for me. Can't say that I am a big fan of SoCal, but I loved the Georgian.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#10 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.