We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Georgian met all my expectations and then some. Location is great (right across the street from ocean and a park). Staff is fantastic. Architecture is interesting. Price is reasonable. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    539
    167
    63
    25
See reviews for
380
671
64
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel is very convenient! Beachfront and walking distance to Santa Monica´s main shopping street, the Promenade. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a 50´s touch. The only con was that my bathroom did not offer much space for storing our toiletries. The rest was great! Very attentive staff! Would stay there again, for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

For me, it's a no-brainer as this hotel is on the same block as my California office so it's the ideal place for me to choose.
The rates are great, the location phenomenal (none of the rooms actually look forward towards the beach, but the restaurant is on the veranda, so you get to see it the whole time anyway), the service is second to none, the wifi works a dream (even from across the street while skyping!!!!), the food is great and the rooms are like stepping back in time to the glamorous era of the 30's.
Amazingly comfortable beds, very comfortable rooms, showers and bathrooms are truly art deco yet completely modern, and totally welcoming.
What a wonderful hotel. Having stayed here many times in the past 9 months this is the first review I've written about it.
I'll definitely going back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Georgian is an architecturally beautiful, art deco hotel with an amazing location and reasonably priced parking (for LA). AMAZING views. Also has a great veranda out front to have coffee on and people watch. Loads of charm and a very friendly staff, especially attentive in the restaurant- I sat and was offered coffee, juice and water immediately by 2 different people. Well maintained rooms, cozy lobby and incredibly clean throughout, seems to have been recently remodeled by the look of the . Reminded me a lot of the hotels along Ocean Drive in Miami Beach!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
DFTavera,

I would like to express my appreciation for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the beauty of our hote, its location and the great customer service from our staff. We thank you very much for the opportunity and we look forward to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Juan Viramontes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmk22SD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have stayed on the Georgian Hotel many times and find it charming, well kept for its age, service oriented and an ideal location. Good value for the cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a beautiful art deco hotel with great views of the ocean. The queen suites are beautiful and spacious. I, unfortunately, had a standard queen, which was comfortable but not overly exciting. I had to work on my computer on the bed as there was no desk in the room. The staff was very friendly. One problem - did not know how to set the clock in the room and the wake up call was 10 minutes late. Luckily I can get ready quickly in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have stayed here six times in my life-- five times on Route 66 trips, the other on our honeymoon. It is a first-class experience all the way around.

The breakfast is just as good as the stay! The rooms are super clean, the views are great, the service is top-notch.

Every time I stay in Santa Monica, I stay at the Georgian. There is no second option. There is no better place than sitting on the veranda in the morning after a good night's sleep.

Thank you, Georgian!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Joe C,

Thank you so much for your preference. I know there are a lot of other lodging options here in Santa Monica and we feel honored to be the one of your choice. My staff and I appreciate your loyalty very much and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Juan Viramontes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.