We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful historic hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful historic hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is an older hotel so if you want modern and sleek then it's not for you. This historic hotel has a real charm and is in an excellent location. A short walk to Venice Beach, minutes to the pier, third street promenade, great shopping and a variety of places to eat. Staff are friendly and helpful, and an evening drink on the verandah overlooking the beach is a must. Not the cheapest hotel I have stayed at so keep an eye out for good deals but a very enjoyable 4 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    572
    189
    63
    32
See reviews for
415
717
68
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

After travelling from the UK for over 16 hours we were slightly annoyed with the attitude of the staff when checking in. We had arrived not long before 3pm and our room was not ready fair enough. There was a very offhand comment made by the receptionist about the deal we had been given through Expedia inferring we had got it far too cheaply (?) Perhaps the hotel should not advertise these rates if they do not wish guests to purchase them! Within minutes our room was suddenly available but we were told there was none with a kingsize bed which we had requested. As we had booked this in January I find this hard to believe (was it just a coincidence after the supposed cheap rate we had paid!!!)
The room was fine but I was disappointed that our first night in santa Monica was spent looking over the rear of the building with not even a hint of a sea view.
The rest of the staff I cannot fault, they were polite, friendly and helpful and sitting on the Terrace sipping cocktails was a delight.
A great place to chill, but the reception staff (one in particular)should remember it is the guests that pay their wages and therefor we are doing them a favour not the other way round!!!

Room Tip: book WELL in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

It could have been better if only check in was a breeze, except we got there 3:20pm (check in is at 3) and the front desk said that our room is not yet ready.. So they got our number and said they'll call us back in 30-40mins, i just thought that's kind of long considering we were already few minutes late on arrival. But we thought 'hey its a good day why not walk to the pier' -which is by the way only about 5mins walking distance (location's great, have no complain on that) 40mins past - no call! Before booking this hotel i go thru extensive research, and i read a few reviews on past guest that this happened to them too.. So i was kinda expecting it i guess.. But still, if it was reviewed by many shouldn't they do something about it? Anyways, we just decided to call and asked.. Then we got there the person that was checking us in, was a total snob! I was asking question about our package bed&breakfast he was totally disregarding my question. Also this hotel does not have a ramp for strollers or wheelchairs.. You have to carry it up the stairs of the entrance and to the elevators, would have been helpful if they had one, especially for my family, we have a 10mos old baby.. So we had to carry her stroller in and out..
The room was nice, clean and decent size(we got the standard king) we got a little bit of the ocean view which was nice. Bathroom was clean, loved shampoo & conditioner, minty-scent.
Bed was real comfy, our little girl slept on the bed real good.
When we got up the next day they passed out the itemized bill, i was surprise why they were charging us valet parking, when we booked the package deal. We took it to the front desk and they were able to fix it right away, (just make sure to check the copy of your bill, there might be some mistakes)
We also enjoyed the breakfast that came with our package, it was delish and kudos to the servers, they made sure you got everything you needed.
We also asked for a late check out, (since we checked in late) and they were about to accommodate our request. So my husband, baby and i were about to walk to the beach right after breakfast and back to shower and get ready for check out.. We didn't feel rushed. So that was good.
Overall im having mixed emotion with Georgian Hotel, they have 'ok' service - it could have been better..
But location, price (reasonable-it is well kept) room cleanliness, breakfast and art deco was lovely! Recommend this to a friend, i would.. But this why i am making this review so they know what they can expect! There might be some mistakes/delays during the stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We picked the Georgian Hotel because of its location. And location is what you pay for. Our room was nice, great ocean view. The hotel itself is a historic beauty with a nice atmosphere.

However, staff did not live up to our expectations. There is no effort to sell more than fame and location. We arrived without a reservation, asked for a room and were shown one with ocean view. We agreed with management on room and rate. By the time we got down to the reception again, the room we hat just been shown, had been given away! We were then offered a room on a lower level and free parking to make up for this. We agreed, got our bags out of the car (by the way: we had been asked several times to remove the car, while seeing the room) and checked in and were presented a confirmation with a higher rate on it and parking not included. We pointed this out and had it changed and were given a revised dokument. Yet, the next morning we found the bill under our door - for convenient check out: They charged for parking and for the complimentary coffee. Well, at least the room rate had been stated as agreed. As we got to the reception, the guests before us on the counter also complained about being charged for complimentary coffee. We find this irritating for a rate of 250 $ a night breakfast not included.

We had a nice evening in Santa Monica. We had a good night's rest, but left somwhat disappointed by the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Gracious design, good service. Found a good package including valet parking and a really full breakfast. A misunderstanding with the reservation was promptly resolved. Faces ocean, close to shopping & restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean view faces main street, but room was quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This Boutique hotel has successfully preserved the atmosphere of a grand hotel of the 1920s. The staff service was flawless. The location was excellent, across the road from Santa Monica beach, and close the the 3rd St Mall.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked the Geogerian for 3 nights in January because of its location close to ocean & near the centre Santa Monica, its older world charm and the good reviews on TripAdvisor. During our stay, all these points meet our expectations. Late every afternoon or early evening, we would enjoy a drink served by friendly and helpful staff on the front patio watching the passing parade and views. Our room was comfortable, a tad small, but it had the conveniences we required. There is a good range of restaurants close by and evening walks were a joy. From the hotel, we also walked down to, and past, Venice Beach via the “local section” of Santa Monica away from the tourists. We had a great Italian meal at Cugini (on the next corner south of the hotel).
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.