We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, no breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, no breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice and clean hotel. Long walk from the beach but you can take the bus to the beach from stop outside the hotel, it costs 1$. No breakfast at the hotel. The Ihop is near but it would be too expensive to eat there every morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    270
    140
    36
    9
See reviews for
168
197
23
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had no complaints after our four-night stay at this BW, we had a clean and comfortable twin room on the third floor with no problems of noise and good supportive beds gave us a sound night's sleep. The room had a fridge, a TV with good channel choices, and a safe for valuables, coffee maker, iron, all the amenities in good working order. Our trip was mixed tourism and business in UCLA, and this hotel is just right between the beach and the university, and it's a simple 1 dollar bus ride to reach both. In fact we found the buses were great, easy to use and connect to other lines that take you right around this section of LA. We even used them to get to LAX at the end of our stay - take line 1 down to 4th and Broadway, change to line 3, ride to the LAX interchange and then board the airport shuttle to the terminals. It took about an hour in total, but cost us the grand total of 2 USD. It's really very easy and convenient. The Big Blue Bus website has all the information you need, just make sure you bring the exact amount to pay, as no change is given on board the bus.

Practically inside the hotel is an IHOP which has good service and a reasonable menu and is very busy at weekends. There are plenty of alternatives around, just walk along Santa Monica Boulevard or 20th St and you'll find you are spoilt for choice. The best variety is found an easy 2 block walk along 20th to Wilshire Boulevard where there's a strip of restaurants, shops and bars, including a WholeFoods if you want to stock up your fridge in the room during a longer stay.

One easy lazy day out is to take the #1 bus all the way to Venice beach, stroll there for a while then walk back 1.5 mile along the beachside to Santa Monica pier, then from there explore the 3rd street arcade and catch the #1 bus back up to the hotel. Should kill a few hours no problem.

In summary, the BW Santa Monica was a good base to explore around the area with helpful public transport links in easy reach. Staff were friendly and there was no problems at all during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cph
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Sure there is free parking, but a receptionist that can not give driving directions to Los Angeles LAX Intl Airport brings the rating for this hotel down considerably.
Also the fact that one gets a discount coupon for the adjacent IHOP that is only good for lunch or dinner at a restaurant where many would want breakfast drops rating.
No breakfast offering at hotel for the high price we paid for a King room drops the rating. There is coffee in room. I would imagine a very simple continental breakfast could be arranged by hotel included in price. I did not appreciate standing at desk to check out and hearing 2 people paying about $60 less for a double room than I did, though I don't know exactly what type of room they had.
The receptionist told us the pier was a 20 minute walk, well we walked darned fast but it took 40 minutes. I would say 20 minutes was more like a sprint for many people. Again the lack of knowledge by personnel does not give good ratings.
Finally Santa Monica Blvd. itself is just not a very nice street in any manner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our fifth stop during our coastal drive and it wasn’t as bad as I thought. The room was a very good size with two queen beds, a desk and fridge. The bathroom was decent size with a shower/tub. Shower was also pretty good. I would say hotel décor is dated and the room felt a bit dark, but we hadn’t come to Santa Monica to spend much time in our room so it was fine.
The location is ok given the high prices of other hotels in the area and the free parking and free wifi are added bonuses and big pluses since parking in LA is a nightmare and expensive.

If you have time, I would advise you not to drive to SM pier or Venice beach, especially on the weekend as parking is tough and expensive; we spent more money parking in two days than our entire trip. There is a public bus you can take to the above places, however since we were driving out to Malibu and trying to fit in as much as possible, moving at our own pace, we drove.
Breakfast is not included in the room rate, however there is an IHOP connected to the motel which allows for a convenient breakfast.

The people on the desk couldn’t really provide suggestions for a close by restaurant or details of going to view the Hollywood sign. So not entirely helpful.

If I were to return to Santa Monica and had the same budget, I would return if it was a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel seemed to have gone through a renovation. Quality overall was great and didn't have issues with the room. Their fitness room could use an update on their strength training equipment - it did the job but could hurt someone if they didn't know how to use such machines.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, Southampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in California before embarking on our road trip. It was easy to find, clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was ideally situated for us to drive down to santa monica pier and promenade. There is an Ihop right next door which serves excellent value breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Got to agree with Grammamoms review, that this hotel isn't what you expect from BW.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, but after 2 weeks on Route 66, with nights in a variety of hotels and motels, this hotel offered the tinyest bedroom room we'd come across on our trip.

The bed was very comfortable but we couldn't help falling over our luggage constantly due to lack of floor space and wardrobe space.

Bathroom set up is odd, with bath and shower together and then the sink/ vanity unit as you walk into the room from the corridor.

As this was our chill out location, the biggest disappoint was that the hotel doesn't have a pool.

Ihop diner next to hotel offers a 20% discount for hotel guests, but the menu was a little uninspiring.

Can't fault the hotels location, which is a 5 min bus ride from the Santa Monica pier which is 1$, or a 5$ taxi ride. The hotel does offer a free shuttle bus, but not at weekends.

If you visit this hotel, make sure you walk down to blocks (in direction of pier) to the busiest/ biggest donut shop ever, they're well worth queueing for - awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.