We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Santa Monica on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Union City, California, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staying in Santa Monica on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my two sister-in-laws for a quick weekend getaway. We stayed for one night. The facility is clean, and the room was average. We had two queen size beds in our room. I would call this a no frills hotel. There isn't even a pool or hot tub.

When you arrive, you will see the IHOP sign on the side of the building is more visible than the Best Western sign.

Parking is included with your stay at the underground parking garage beneath the hotel and IHOP. We were driving a 4-door sedan, so the low clearance wasn't an issue for us.

One strange thing to note - the room numbers are in no particular order. It took us a few minutes to locate our room.

Staff was friendly and accommodating when we asked for more towels to be sent up - they brought far more than we needed.

I would only stay at this hotel if I had a car, because there is nothing within walking distance of this location (with the exception of the IHOP downstairs). It isn't too far from the 3rd Street Promenade, but far enough that I wouldn't want to be on foot.

We stayed here because my sister-in-laws wanted to stay in Santa Monica and this was the best deal we were able to find.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a decent view, so it doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel, and taking time to share your experience. Thank you also for complimenting our staff. They always strive to provide our guests with the best possible service, and appreciate whenever their efforts are acknowledged.

To clear up the confusion about room numbers, they are divided between even and odd numbers to designate location. All even numbered rooms face the center breezeway, and all rooms with odd numbers face one of the outside streets. Hope this helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    264
    136
    36
    9
See reviews for
160
192
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The property is not in the heart of the hustle bustle but within walking distance in sensible shoes and an easy taxi trip to the downtown main street of Santa Monica which is very vibrant on weekend evenings. The IHOP next door doing room service was very convenient and fast for breakfast. The rooms were a fair size and the cleaning staff efficient. There is a small sun deck on top of the property which is quite pleasant and protected from the wind. Parking is provided which was an added bonus. The spaces were a bit tight but we were driving a large SUV but manageable. We got a special rate through an annual Water Polo tournament event and that made the rate very good for the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing your comments. We are very glad you enjoyed the sun deck, and the compliment you gave our Housekeeping staff made them very happy!

The Water Polo tournament has been an annual event, and for many years we have enjoyed welcoming guests back to the hotel! If you will be attending the event next year, we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are a family of 7 - 4 adults and 3 kids aged 13,11,9yrs and travelled to USA for a family holiday. We had 3 nights and chose to stay in Santa Monica because LA area is huge and without a car, difficult to get around. Plus Paradise Pier & 3rd St Promenade gave us somewhere to go after dark with kids. We chose BW Plus Gateway for it's value for money. It is 20 blocks from the beach but has a free shuttle service which needs to be booked with reception and has a limited schedule. Otherwise you can pay alot more and stay closer to the beach. In our case the weather was cold and not swimming weather when we stayed so would have been a waste of money. A better and cheaper option is to stay BW Plus Gateway and use the Big Blue Bus. The bus stop is outside the hotel and at US$4 day pass was good value. We found most taxis in LA can only cater for 6 pax. The IHOP next door was excellent value for money with huge servings. Aussies will find them massive compared to what we get at home, so would suggest you share. Overall the hotel is nice with friendly staff and if you don't mind being a distance from the Pier, is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
What a wonderful experience being able to vacation with your family! Your comments about the hotel were very kind, and our staff especially appreciated your compliment. Also, I’m sure readers will find the transportation information you provided very helpful!

From all of our hotel “family,” thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are very glad you had an enjoyable visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the BW+ Santa Monica because it was central to many museums that we wanted to see including the Getty Villa, Getty Center, Petersen Auto Museum and all the way to Simi Valley to the Reagan Library. We spent an evening at the SM Pier because it was so close. There is a free hourly shuttle to the shopping area (with TONS of restaurants); and the pier is just beyond that.
BUT, our room was on the main floor and it was noisy. Next time, we would stay higher up. Free parking was nice, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your museum trip. I hope your visits to the museums were enjoyable!

I apologize for the disturbing noise that was near your room. We always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, and regret that we were not able to exceed yours. If you will be visiting the area again in the future, I hope you will choose to stay with us. And, when you make your reservation, please mention that you would like a room on an upper floor.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blount County, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel during Spring Break when we visited the Los Angeles area. If you're looking for luxury and frills, this is not your place. But if you just need a place to sleep when you get back from exploring L.A., this is an affordable hotel in a good location. Our first evening in L.A., we drove from the hotel down to the beach and spent a half hour or so, and then made our way to Sunset Blvd. and took a very interesting drive through the famous communities of Bel Air, Beverly Hills, and Hollywood on our way to the Griffith Park Observatory. We had time to do all of those things (on a Saturday) even with a late start. I'm a runner and enjoyed being only 20 blocks from the beach and easily able to run down to Venice Beach and along the Santa Monica Pier. There's an IHOP in the hotel, which is convenient for a quick breakfast before heading out. The place looks a little lost in the 70's, though, so if fancy decor is high on your priority list, you may not be happy here! Parking is expensive, but I'm sure that's typical of any hotel in a major city in California.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and for your comments about the convenience of visiting area attractions. However, I did not understand your reference to hotel parking being “expensive,” because parking at our hotel is free for one car per room.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very comfortable. The desk help was great..They also new alot about the computer in the lobby and were very helpful and pleasant at all times. The arrangement with IHOP was enjoyable and certasinly offered more than any other motel-hotel we've stayed in.. thanks for the shuttle service and free , safe parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel, and we are very glad you enjoyed your visit! The comments we read help us to continually monitor the quality of our product and service. Thank you also for complimenting our Front Desk Staff. They really appreciated it!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good location: 20 walk-able blocks to shopping promenade, few more to the beach. Public transportation is steps away. Convenient parking garage. Short drive to Getty Center. The front desk staff was wonderful! Very personable and caring. Next door to iHop which also provides room service. I felt safe and comfortable.
The room was well appointed and nicely decorated. No traffic noise.
The only drawback was I was constantly bounced off of wifi and had to keep signing back in -- very annoying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.