We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money for Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
cctx
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the money for Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

There aren't many options in this area between $150 and $250 if you're staying for a few days in this area. It's really a good option and the free parking is a real savings. The front desk personnel are quite helpful and friendly. We walked everywhere including to the 3rd St. Promenade. It's a 25 minute walk but we felt safe and loved the exercise. There's a Denny's attached which we didn't utilize. It's easy access to the highway, UCLA, and LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    354
    165
    42
    12
See reviews for
224
273
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was older but clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was good. It was out of the way a bit so you had to drive to get to restaurants, beach etc. Breakfast was not provided but an IHOP was right next to the hotel. It had good food and good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before an early surgery at St. John's and I think it's the best option for hospital-related accommodations. It certainly could use some refurbishing and the price seems too high for what it is but I guess it's reasonable for Santa Monica. We could walk a block to the hospital, and many good restaurants are within a half mile radius. There is also a shuttle to the more exciting areas of this fun city. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, there's a coffee pot and hairdryer so I recommend it as a home base if you need to be near the hospital or if you don't want to pay the steep prices of most hotels in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CT, USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Free parking. Spacious room with a fridge. Free shuttle to the Pier etc but only on weekdays (so no good for me). IHop next door was handy for breakfast. It is a long way from the Pier but a 'Number 1' bus takes you down there for $1 when the shuttle not in service....however you can find parking garages around the area if you want to take your car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel's proximity to third street promenade and the ocean is its best feature. Worn out rooms, hallways, and the hotels restaurant is the iHop, not my favorite. Parking is included which is convenient. Nothing to particularly complain about; but there was no joy in staying there. I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Noisy area of town so try for a room in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I will start with the good. The location in Santa Monica is well located for access to the Santa Monica community, and also close to the freeway. The Hotel has plentiful parking (how rare in LA!) and regular shuttle service to the promenade and the beach - which I didn't use. My room was exceptionally clean (I'm very particular about that) and comfortable. I rarely sleep well in hotel rooms, but slept very well at the Best Western Plus. My room was on the street, yet I really couldn't hear the street noise. The worst part of my visit was that when I wanted to buy some bottled water from the vending machines, our floor machine didn't work, the next two floors were out/didn't work. There's no place in walking distance (that I know of) to go to to buy water. So bring your own. The room has a frig, so the water could be kept cold.
Now, the ugly. When we arrived, tired and late, I walked into the lobby...and wanted to leave. The lobby is quite shabby. The halls just a little less so. But these areas were clean, and the rooms had been updated and as I said before, very clean. Would I stay here again? Yes, especially if I were in LA on business, as I was this time, and had a limited amount of time for recreation. I liked that the access to Santa Monica restaurants was very easy. And the hotel felt very safe.

Room Tip: Maid service starts very early. Make sure to use the Do Not Disturb sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Though reception desk staff are not those you shall positively remember, the Hotel location and price / value aspect are OK. I recall having read one of the reviews in which the notion of having an open garage onto the street that had elevator access from the garage all the way to the rooms, seemed odd, without any kind of security screening or filtering by any guard or hotel staff. We lived it and it was admittedly more than odd and not very comfortable, but you forget about it. We where booked in the Hotel for three nights. The room sizes are OK and have the bare basic minimum amenities. In some aspects the room seems as it requires renovation as it is a bit run down. Again on the price / value for money it is OK. We had booked via hotels.com, therefore had prepaid it in advance. Did not consume anything during our stay, therefore the check out was smooth and easy the evening before departures. We left at 4 a.m. to catch an early flight without even passing by the reception going straight into the garage to load the luggage in the car etc.

Room Tip: Book room in a back area, as hotel is centrally locate on the corner of two main roads, so you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.