We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"unfortunately" still the best bang for the buck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“"unfortunately" still the best bang for the buck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've made a point not to go back to this hotel for my annual L.A. trip but if you want to stay in the Santa Monica area this place is still the most convenient to pick. Rate system is quite tricky : if you get online you'll see a stupidly expensive 159/179 USD per night,if you call them they can give you their "manager special " rate of 149USD,still a lot of money but beats the other pricier hotels in Santa Monica. Great comfy beds,unfcomfortably hot and dark rooms,terribly old carpeting in the hallways. Hotel is stucked in the early 00'ies,I hope they'll renovate soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    369
    168
    42
    12
See reviews for
235
280
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week while visiting my son and his family as their guest room wasn't ready, so they treated me. I was there for 7 nights. I have stayed at this same hotel about 8 years ago and I had a really terrible experince so I was a bit anxious. I was very pleasantly surprised by the updates this hotel has made. My rooms- I changed mid week to a larger room so my grand kids could stay over night one night- were clean, up-to-date, with great mattress, bedding, bath amenities, fridge in the room and quiet safe atmosphere. The staff was very accomodating, desk clerks, cleaning and janitorial staff. It is obvious that the current management has trained their employees and takes care of the details that make a hotel stay comfortable.The computer in the lobby was useful and always worked. Kudos to this B.W.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridian, ms
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I feel liike $159 was a little high for a Best Western. But the Santa Monica is just an expensive area. The room was clean. The front desk staff were friendly. Parking and wi-fi were free. There is a safe in the room. I did have a concern with the back balcony. There is a sliding glass door at the back of the room. It is not an individual balcony, it wraps all the way around. It's a nice little area with lounge chairs and a table but anyone can walk through it. Unfortunately we had a room right by the elevators, vending machines and ice. It was so noisy and I had trouble sleeping. The bed was comfortable. Would have been a 5 except for the noise and back door. It is a 1.4 mile walk to the 3rd street promenade or the bus runs right by the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room was very large and comfortable. Underground parking was very convenient. The walls are very thin, I had to listen to people in the next room argue in the evening and in the morning. Lucky for me they were quiet during the night.

Room Tip: Get a room that does NOT have an adjoining room. I could hear everything from the adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night immediately after arriving into LAX. We had been looking for somewhere reasonably priced and convenient to reach from the airport and this hotel ticked all the boxes. It was easy to find and we were able to get parked at the hotel without any difficulty. The room was perfectly comfortable but it felt quite dark and cramped. Furnishings were very basic. The hotel was a lengthy walk from the beach however as we were only staying for one night this didn't really matter to us - if staying for longer I would have liked to be closer to the pier area where the majority of restaurants and hotels seemed to be.
There was nothing special about the hotel however it was adequate, staff were friendly and it was a very good price for Santa Monica.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Didn't think this hotel would be so far from the ocean but walking to it was refreshing. We found out after there is a free shuttle to 3rd st promenade that you can book ahead of time. Hotel itself was good. Very basic hotel. No pool though. I would recommend not getting a room by the lobby since its constant noise. It was nice that ihop is 30 steps away from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed one night. I asked for a quiet room when reserving, and on our room on the 4th floor was absolutelyquiet. The room was small but tastefully decorated. The King size bed was extremely comfortable with foam-top mattress. Excellent Internet connection. Staff were friendly and helpful. Immediate neighborhood is commercial, but IHOP on premises is convenient. Very good base for visiting Santa Monica and/or West LA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.