We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great hotel excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms recently renovated
Contemporary style
Spacious bathrooms
Lots of plug points and USB charging points
Five minute walk to beach and pier
Lots of bars and restaurants in walking distance
Friendly service

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
35
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great service, from the moment I arrived through my departure. The front desk and parking staff were so welcoming and made me feel at ease after a long travel day. The room was comfortable with a nice and cute (though tiny) deck space. I really appreciated how kind the staff was to my family when they asked for an upgrade. The bigger rooms are so awesome! Plus, the hotel's name is appropriate--gotta love the ocean view from their lobby space. I recommend this hotel to visitors to the area. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Brittany D,

We thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor! We're very proud of the beautiful view we have in our lobby, it's a perfect match for our hotel name. It's great to hear your family enjoyed the upgrade and the views from the room! We understand you have options when travelling and would like to thank you for your business. Can't wait to welcome your return.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friends and I stayed at Ocean View Hotel and everything was perfect. The location was great as it is close to restaurants, shopping,beach and the Pier. Staff was always helpful and attentive. The rooms, including the bathrooms are specious and clean. Hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear JTSB 1,

We thank you for your kind words. It's great to hear our attentive staff was a part of you enjoying a perfect stay at our hotel. We can't wait to host you once again.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great views (beach view king room), friendly and helpful desk staff (special thanks to Joy for helping make our last day so much more relaxed) and central to everything Santa Monica. Also the young guy who was the valet was brilliant. We will be back.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Simon W,

We thank you for such a lovely review. Our front desk staff strives to go above and beyond to all our guests making the stay memorable. It's great to hear we've earned your recommendation! Please feel free to contact us directly during your next visit to Santa Monica, we can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Simply put,

It's in a great location right in front of the beautiful beach with not that bad room and services.

The hotel room was relatively clean and modern, but not that good enough to be seen as great at all (smaller room than expected).

I found my stay just ok for a business trip, but potentially too expensive for a personal stay unless you have money to burn (not reasonable for $400 a night at all).

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Min C,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Ocean VIew Hotel. We apologize if you we didn't meet your expectations but would like to thank you for your feedback. All comments are greatly appreciated as this only helps us better as a hotel. We understand you have choices when travelling and would like to thank you for your business.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. Close walk to everything. Staff friendly, very helpful and approachable. Staff very willing to assist with tour advice, eating areas etc. Allowed late checkout due to late flight. Very Clean and well presented. Value for money when you see the prices charged for this area.

Room Tip: lt is worth spending the extra for an ocean view. lt had a full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Brian T,

Thank you for such a lovely review! On behalf of the entire staff we'd like to thank you for your kind words. It's so amazing to hear our staff was helpful and was able to assist with dinning and tour information. We can kindly agree with you on booking the Ocean View rooms, these rooms have that amazing full view of the Santa Monica Beach. Please let us know the next time you're in the area, we can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel, clean and right on beach front. Shame they didn't have a bar in the hotel but plenty a short walk away.

We booked to stay for two nights but had to meet a friend a day early. We spoke to Joy who was extremely helpful and agreed to change the booking to just one night for no extra charge.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Cheyne, B,

Thank you for your latest review on Tripadvisor! It was great to hear Joy was able to assist with modifying your reservation to your liking. Please feel free to contact us directly during your next visit to Santa Monica as we would love to welcome your return!

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Ocean View
Best Western Ocean View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.