We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name says it all... Ocean view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Name says it all... Ocean view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

lovely boutique hotel opposite Santa Monica pier. Great location for shopping & good restaurants. Very clean & friendly helpful staff. Be prepared for passing traffic noise as its on a busy strip but the views worth it.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have road noise of passing traffic, had to close windows & balcony door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
18
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for aa couple ofnights before returning home. We had a room at the back of the hotel, it was quiet , clean and very new. This is in a great location, close to the beach and close to the shops.
Santa Monica hotels are pricey but I thought Ocean View in comparison was not as expensive but still quite good. Front desk was helpful with giving us information on how to get around, where to eat etc. and helped us book a car to the airport. We didn't leave Santa Monica so I'm not sure how convenient it is for getting around however there was a hop on hop off stop and a few buses on the street that seemed to go/come from downtown LA.
Also had free wifi!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything you could want - close as you could get to the beach and Santa Monica Pier and 3rd St. Promenade shopping and all the restaurants. We paid a bit extra for ocean view - worth it! Great place - definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ocean view - great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very appropriately named hotel for us. We stayed in an Ocean View room on the third floor. Nicely appointed comfortable room, with a small balcony. Great for people watching and fab view to the ocean. It's close to many good restaurants and just a couple of minutes walk to Third Street Promenade.
The only negative for us was the noise, both interior and out. We could hear everything going on in the hall outside of our room. If you want a good night's sleep, close all windows, and put on the air con, otherwise you won't sleep due to the noise on Ocean Ave. Of course, we requested our room, but didn't realise just how loud it was. Don't be put off by this comment, just close up at bedtime!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel if you want a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed at the Ocean View Hotel many times and would recommend it to anyone. You cannot beat the location or the affordability. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The newly remodeled rooms look awesome.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Anita M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were so pleased to have you as our repeat guests. Please let us know about your next visit to Santa Monica as we would love to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting a friend who attends college 20 minutes away from santa monica and planned on staying there, but realizing it was much further and pricier than we imaged we wanted to stay in the heart of santa monica. Jose from Ocean View Hotel helped us out more than any other employee of any other hotel i can think of. He was sweet, helpful, caring, funny, and full of information. If you stay here (which you should) Jose is the guy to help you out!!! And over all the hotel was clean, cute, close and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Brianna M,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We defintely agree with you on the hotel being clean, cute & comfortable. Jose is a great addition to our team and is greatly appreciated. We were happy to host you as our guest. Please let us know when you will be in the area again as we would love for you to come back and enjoy another stay.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful stay for LA Marathon. Close to many great restaurants, and the finish line for the LAM. World famous Pier just a couple of blocks away, the great promenade just across the street, and of course the cliff then huge beach just after that! :)
Hotel parking attendants were terrific, as was Liz at the Front Desk - very service oriented and attentive - thanks all!

Room Tip: We had an inside courtyard facing room, which turned out to be nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N, Team Member at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear YoTraveler,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Ocean View Hotel on TripAdvisor. It was such a pleasure having you! Thank you for the lovely review. Can't wait to welcome you back with open arms. Please reach out to us during your next visit to Santa Monica.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Ocean View
Best Western Ocean View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.