We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean View Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A very good hotel in a fantastic location. By no means a 5 star hotel but for what you pay it certainly is value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is perfect, directly across the road from the pier and only a block from 3rd ave shopping mall & restaurants.
Front desk staff Jose & Joy were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. They were more than happy to help with any enquiries and assist with any tour bookings.
Would be more than happy to return to this hotel when visiting Santa Monica next time.

Sydney Freddy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear SydneyFreddy,
I am honored you choose the Ocean View Hotel from your journeys from Australia. I am very proud you have pointed out our incredible location in Santa Monica. Our location is perfectly situated in the heart of Santa Monica within a minute walk from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place Mall and so much more! We are proud to offer our guest a clean affordable room with ocean views that are breathtaking. Our front desk team has a vast knowledge of Santa Monica and surrounding areas and are eager to answer all guest request and needs. I would like to thank you for pointing out Joy and Jose and I will be sure to bring this up to them during our next shift briefing. We look forward serving you in your future travels to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    170
    99
    50
    60
See reviews for
131
148
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had such a great experience at this hotel, we arrived well before check in time and the very friendly lady (can't remember her name) checked us right in and was so helpful, the room was spotless, beds extremely comfortable and the location is the best for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
MsBofA,
I am honored we were able to make your visit with us such a memorable experience. Our front desk team takes pride making sure we accommodate each guest request as well providing the highest levels of customer service as our goal is to make each guest feels like they are home. Our housekeeping and Maintenance teams pride themselves in guest room cleanliness! I must agree with you 100% in all aspects you have written about our hotel. Our location truly is 2nd to none and our nightly room rate charge is only a fraction of the price compared to all other hotels in Santa Monica. We are honored we have achieved another new and loyal customer here at the Ocean View Hotel. I look forward serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It's a good hotel, near to Santa Monica Beach and City. Clean, very friendly service. The rooms are large enough and clean. The prices are ok. It's not a first class hotel, but very ok.

Ein gutes Hotel, nahe am Strand von Santa Monica gelegen, 5 Fussminuten weg von Zentrum und Fussgängerzone. Die Zimmer sind gross und sauber die Preise ok. Kein Erstklasshotel, aber sehr ok.

Bonne hôtel, proche à la plage et à la ville. Propre, trés gentille personnes. Les chambres sont grandes et propre, les prix ok. C'est pas une hôtel premiere classe, mais trés ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear OdGSwitzerland,
Thank you for staying with us here at the Ocean View Hotel from your journeys from Switzerland. Our front desk team has a vast knowledge of all Santa Monica and surrounding areas. We do our very best in making sure that each guest receives not only a personable service, but our goal is to make guest feel like they are home. Our housekeeping department has extremely high standards and they take pride making sure every room in our hotel is clean and comfortable. Our hotels room rates are only a fraction of the price compared to most other hotels located on Ocean Avenue. I hope whenever you decide to return to Santa Monica we at the Ocean View Hotel have the chance to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Location is so perfect it makes it worth the lack of luxury. It is very basic, no amenities really coffee in room is generic, no conditioner, small tv with limited channel selection, flimsy bedsheets covering cheap blankets. It is relatively clean, fairly comfortable, and easy to access. If you are in a budget and motel style is ok then I would consider Ocean View. Parking is $20

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Nedaac,
I would like to thank you for your stay with us here at the Ocean View Hotel. I agree with you 100% in regards to our cleanliness of the hotel. Our housekeeping team takes pride in making sure each guest receives a clean and comfortable room. In addition our front desk team ensures each guest receives the highest levels of customer service one would expect to find at a nearby 4 star hotel! I must inform all Tripadvisor readers that we do not advertise our hotel to be a luxury hotel. But we certainly pride ourselves being the most affordable mid-scale hotel located on Ocean Avenue across the street from the Pier. I would like to Thank you as well for pointing out our very low overnight parking which is only $20.00 per night compared to all other hotels located on Ocean Avenue that charge between $30.00 to $40.00 per night. I hope whenever you decide to return to Santa Monica we have the chance to serve you yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is what I would describe as a minimum amenities hotel but the location more than makes up for it. The room is cleaned every day, you get the usual shampoo & soap in the bathroom, the towels are basic, there is no restaurant but the staff were helpful in recommending places in the area. The king sized bed we had was comfortable and gave us three good night's sleep. We had an ocean view room on the fourth floor, which came with a small fridge and balcony, however we met a couple who had a courtyard room which was small and looked over the 'courtyard' car park.

There are little cafes within a block for breakfast, the 3rd Street Promenade is 2 blocks away and the Santa Monica Pier and beach are 5-10 minutes stroll. Lots of nice restaurants around for dinner.

We loved our stay here and would stay again if ever we came to the States again.

Room Tip: 4th floor looking out over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Michael2810,
Thank you for staying with us from your journeys from Melbourne, Australia. I certainly agree that our location is perfectly situated in the heart of Santa Monica. We do not have a restaurant in our hotel due to the so many restaurants that are from a 20 second walking distance from our hotel. We do our very best to ensure each guest receives a clean affordable room and receives the highest levels of customer service! As our goal at the Ocean View Hotel is to make each guest feel like they are home. We look forward serving you in the future serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here after finding a neighbouring hotel too boxy. The interior is a little outdated but the view of the beach from our room was amazing. The rooms were clean and we found Laura at the front desk particularly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
LauraPixels,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Ocean View Hotel. I do agree with you 100% that our service and cleanliness of our room are truly outstanding! The views from our Ocean View rooms are breathtaking and our room rates are only a fraction of the price compared to other hotels on Ocean Avenue. I do hope in the future whenever you decide to return to Santa Monica we have the chance to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I ended up here after having a bad experience at another place nearby and was really upset. As a result, I was also anxious and desperate to get settled in a hotel for the night that didn't cost $500. Laura could see I was upset and right away made me feel comfortable. She was friendly, professional and very service-oriented. She got me in a room with a view right away and is responsible for turning around my vacation. The room was clean and quiet and perfect for the price. Can't beat the location. Hopefully, you will be served by Laura as well. Will make for a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Heather60614,
I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to write our hotel a review. I am truly honored Laura made you feel comfortable, as well as the our entire front desk team pride themselves in making sure each guest feels like they are home! Our housekeeping department strives and are 100% committed to ensure each guest receives the cleanest rooms a guest would expect to find at a 4 star hotel. We are perfectly situated in the heart of Santa Monica within a minute walking distance from the world famous Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place Mall and so much more! We look forward serving you again in future from your journeys from Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Ocean View
Best Western Ocean View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.